We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Historic centrally located hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a superior room which consisted of a two rooms; one with a lounge and the other with a comfortable king bed. The furniture was older which suited this historic hotel. Both rooms were clean & large. There was a nook off the lounge room with a fridge & jug.

The hotel was well located. There was no onsite parking but parking was available for $15.00 a night in a nearby parking station.

Although the hotel was undergoing renovations while we were there we heard no noise.

Breakfast was included in our package and was very good with a variety of food which was replenished regularly.

Some of the fittings in the bathroom were poorly designed – eg. The toilet roll holder was on the opposite wall (not within reaching distance) of the toilet. There was a shower over the bath with a glass screen mounted so you couldn’t reach the taps to turn them on & get the right temperature before you got under the water.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Silver999,
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, comfortable bed and the variety of food available at breakfast (which was included in your package). Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of your room also; our housekeeping team do take pride in their work and always appreciate positive feedback from our guests.
We are currently under-taking a major restoration project and are working hard to ensure our guests’ comfort during this process. We are very happy that you were not disturbed by any noise from the restoration works. Rest assured, the bathroom maintenance concerns you have raised will be addressed as part of this restoration process and we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
We do hope you will return to Hadleys Hotel the next time you are visiting Hobart.
Kind regards,
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    276
    58
    22
    6
See reviews for
84
326
45
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just spent two nights at Hadleys. Firstly the staff were excellent. From my initial phone calls to during our stay nothing was to much trouble and everything was dealt with in an efficient friendly way. We were upgraded to a suite which was huge and very nice. The hotel has a fascinanting history and the old world charm really makes you feel like you are in Tasmania. The foyer appears to have recently been refurbished and is very nice. The bathrooms are a little dated but still fine and I understand the hotel is currently being refurbished. The position is excellent and an easy walk to market district. Like some other reviews we had some late noise on Sat night from drunken revellers but thats not the hotels fault. In summary very happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sean R,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to post your review. We’re thrilled to hear your positive comments regarding the staff; they will appreciate your feedback and recognition. It sounds as though you took advantage of our inner-city location, just a short stroll from most of Hobart’s attractions and activities.
We are currently working through a significant restoration project, due for completion in October 2014. One aspect of this project includes double glazing the windows at the front of the building. This should cut down the noise levels from Murray Street below quite considerably.
Thank you for recommending Hadleys Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a wonderful afternoon having High Tea with family & friends. The atmosphere and food was great. The only criticism I had was that the tea was not hot enough, in hindsight I should have ordered coffee ( served by the cup instead of a pot).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Clinton849,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful afternoon having High Tea with your family and friends - enjoying the atmosphere and food. We are now offering High Tea daily between 2pm – 6pm (bookings essential).
We do apologise that your tea was not hot enough. Our intention is to offer a traditional High Tea and we strive to present an authentic and quality experience to our guests. Should you return for High Tea at Hadleys Hotel and have any concerns, please notify the staff immediately for assistance.
If you have time, I would like to discuss your experience in more detail and can be contacted on feedback@hadleyshotel.com.au
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This heritage listed hotel has delightful old world charm and is well situated, a short stroll to anything you fancy. It also has a comprehensive and delicious hot buffet breakfast. The stand out for us was the welcoming and helpful nature of all of the staff. The service was simply outstanding! Thanks for making our stay at Hadley's a delight. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a suite with a balcony. We recommend suite 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiaWishbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear NiaWishbones,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to have you stay and great to hear you'll be staying again next time you are in Hobart. We look forward to seeing you then!
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I work in the same street as Hadleys and so had walked past many times and was aware of it's historic associations. Looking for something special for a wedding anniversary, I took my husband for afternoon tea then surprised him with the room I'd booked in advance. Actually , we'd been upgraded to a suite so it was a better surprise than I'd planned.

The hotel is old-fashioned in the nicest way. Graceful and sedate with a lovely atmosphere. Furnishings are solid and modern features like bathrooms, TV etc are excellent. It was warm in the depths of winter and our street-front room quiet. The breakfast was monumental, with everything you could desire.

Special mention of the staff who were efficient, attentive and warm. We got the feeling they liked working at Hadleys.

I should make mention of the location, which wasn't important for us but which is very central.

Thanks for a memorable anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 968Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear 968Marie,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and allowing us to be a part of your wedding anniversary celebrations. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced a memorable anniversary.
Thanks for the special mention about our staff being efficient, attentive and warm. They do enjoy looking after all of our guests and always appreciate positive feedback.
We hope you will drop in and visit us next time you are passing by.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
219 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I chose the hotel based on the Stay 3 pay 2 deal I got direct on their website. Rosie G was very helpful when I hadn't got my email confirmation as was the other Rosie when we checked in :)
The location is fabulous, within walking distance of Salamanca, the main town and all attractions.
The car park is around the corner a bit but you can park just outside (paid) and they give you a card for the car park ($15/day).
There was no one to bring our luggage in from outside but we are not sure if this is standard or the bellhop was busy.
When we arrived, we found we had been upgraded to a 2 room suite. Lovely- the only complaint ( we had the one that looked out towards the water (no water view)- was in bedroom 2 the wall was near something maybe washing machines for the cleaners?) which turned on early in the AM. I am sorry but I cannot remember the room number.
However, an upgrade is an upgrade and the fact we had a lovely bathroom, 2 separate bedrooms, a dining table and a lovely sitting area in front of the tv, we were happy.
There is no kitchen but there is a small fridge and a kettle.
In the bathroom we had a spa bath.
This hotel is just lovely. There is a breakfast room that has good value breakfasts.
Their bar is like the old style speakeasy bars and did great chips and a great Toblerone cocktail for us.
The decor fits with the heritage of the hotel, so please do not expect fine lines and modern decor.
Location as mentioned is exceptional and the airport bus does stop right opposite for you.
Loved it and would recommend to my clients.

Room Tip: The particular suite we were in (number escapes me now sorry) was right at the end of the corridor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildflowerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear wildflowerb,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hadleys Hotel and taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear you loved your stay and would recommend us to your clients. Our central location certainly does appeal to our guests as it is within walking distance to Salamanca, the CBD and most of Hobart’s attractions. Thank you for alerting us to your only complaint and our Maintenance Department were alerted to your feedback immediately and are addressing the situation. Our restoration project is well and truly underway (due for completion in September 2014) with works taking place on our accommodation rooms, corridors and public areas - with a strong focus on the heritage aspect of the property. We hope you will return to experience these exciting new changes at Hadleys Hotel and we thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I wasn't a guest but had quite a few hours wait for an airport shuttle on a rainy hobart day. The staff were kind enough to stow my rather heavy bag and hang out in the bar where I had a lovely early dinner and a relaxing few hours. Great atmosphere and really friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie R, Guest Relations Manager at Hadley's Orient Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Alice W,
Thank you for providing this positive feedback. We are so pleased you had a lovely dinner and had the opportunity to relax in the bar, enjoying the great atmosphere and really friendly staff. We hope you will come back and stay at Hadleys Hotel next time you are in Hobart.
Kind regards
Hadleys Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadley's Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley's Orient Hotel

Property: Hadley's Orient Hotel
Address: 34 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#6 Family Hotel in Hobart
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#11 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hadley's Orient Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart is the one of the oldest boutique hotels in Australia. Originally constructed by convict labour in 1834, this National Trust listed hotel is a unique place to stay in the heart of the city. The property has been fully restored to reflect the Victorian era under the guidance of heritage experts. Hadley's Orient Hotel offers 71 guest rooms and suites, an onsite bar serving light meals, guest lounge, Traditional High Tea(bookings essential), conference and event space, 24 hour reception including concierge services and complimentary WiFi throughout the property. The property is just 20 min from the airport and 5 min walk from the business and government centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock and CBD shopping. Located right in the heart of the city, directly opposite the beautiful St Davids Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hadley's Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Hobart Hadleys Hotel And Apartments
Grand Accor Hadleys Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing