We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty hotel in Battery Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenna of Hobart
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel in Battery Point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

One of the grander hotels in Hobart about $35-40 taxi ride from airport and within a stone's throw of the town centre. Not recommended for the infirm/elderly who intend to walk to sights because hotel's on a hill and there's a steep road to get to it (but cars can drive up to it). Salamanca Market is about 5 minutes walk down the hill at the bottom of the road about 200m. Princes Park is a quiet pretty park with a water view right next to the hotel. Hotel has a lookout on the top floor of the old wing accessible to guests.

Reception: friendly, helpful and efficient.

Room 23: is in the new wing accessible from the main entrance or open carpark. Although this might appear less secure than a fully enclosed hotel, Hobart is very safe. Good size, clean and newish room without smells. Room's heating comes from the heated floor of bathroom (which cannot be controlled from the room) while the rest of the room has a heater and fan, which is kind of weird. Luckily windows can be opened for fresh air if room gets too hot. As hotel's on a hill and Hobart gets quite windy, you'll hear the wind howl through the night. Major bonuses: free broadband and one of the few hotels anywhere that provides a 300ml carton of fresh milk in the fridge - 2 features swayed me to book here.

Alexander's restaurant is on-site but we didn't eat there. Didn't use any of the other facilities either.

Some of the nicest places to eat are:
1. In Battery Point. Turn left as you leave the main entrance, walk around Alfred Circus, at the end of the road, turn right and walk about 500m. There are a few cafes here, but the ones I tried were Jackman and McRoss (a bakery open for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea with delicious baked goods and strong coffee, try the scallop pie a Tassie specialty but not cheap); Environs (across the road from J & M, also open for breakfast and lunch, good option if J & M are full, nice food and ambience)
2. Daci and Daci: across the road from Parliament house, about 10 mins from Salamanca Market, institution in Hobart, delicious beautiful bakery goods; open 7am-6pm, but closed Sunday.
3. Garagistes 103 Murray Street: no bookings, 56 seats, opens at 1700, either 3 or 5 course degustation. If you're a meat and 3 veg person, this might not be your cup of tea, but I found the food intelligent and interesting, and worth it. Service was excellent.
4. Smolt 2 Salamanca Place: open daily which is a bonus on Mondays as most other places are closed. It's conveniently located and there's a good range to suit all tastes.

The Source at Mona: offers 3, 5, 7 or 9 course degustation. 9 courses is really too much and takes over 3 hrs. Food is a bit hit and miss. Some of the more traditional dishes were excellent, but the Asian inspired ones were uninspiring.

Disappointments: Mures Upper Deck, Monty's and One Pier at Wrest Point.

Tours: Bruny Island Safaris was excellent. Boutique wine tours was ho-hum.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear travelerMelbourne

Thanks very much for your review and sounds like you had a great stay in Hobart.

We certainly have a great location and whilst there is a bit of a hill up to the property from Salamanca Place it certainly helps to provide some great views from our rooms.

With regards heating and air-conditioning, all rooms have portable heaters in them which keeps things nice and warm when needed. Our rooms aren’t air-conditioned, however, we find with Hobart’s temperate climate that it is not required. For those days that are a little warmer, all rooms have fans in them and opening windows to let in some of Hobart’s beautiful clean air. We have also just finished double glazing the windows of all rooms which will help to maintain stable room temperatures as well as keeping the rooms nice and quiet and help us be more energy efficient.

Happy to see that you made use of our free wifi in our rooms and enjoyed the fresh milk!

Glad you enjoyed some of Hobart’s great bakeries and restaurants. Daci and Daci is certainly a favorite of ours. Shame you didn’t get to try our restaurant Alexanders. We have just released our new summer menu and aim to feature as much of our amazing Tassie produce as possible.

Thanks again for the review and hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
Florence
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    197
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
84
251
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights recently. The old building is lovely and the staff are very professional, but the annexe were I imagine most rooms are leave a bit to be desired. Although comfortable enough and recently renovated they are a bit drab, beds a bit hard, and a bit noisy. Hobart is not a cheap city to stay and Lenna offers reasonable value in that context, just don't imagine that your room will be in the old historic mansion. I would stay again as the location is very good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear HDONTOUR57,

Thanks very much for your feedback,

Our apologies that you found your room a bit drab. Our rooms have been fully refurbished over the last 3 years and we normally receive very positive feedback about them.

Sorry also that you found the beds a bit hard. I’m sorry you didn’t let us know as we do have mattress toppers available for guests who like a softer bed and we would have been happy to have one of these fitted.

With regards to noise we generally find our location to be very quiet and we have just taken the step of double glazing all our rooms to help eliminate any potential noise and also to provide environmental benefits. I am unsure if you stayed in a room that was double glazed, however, all rooms will be double glazed by the end of this week and we have seen huge benefits from this.

We are glad you found our rooms reasonable value and we certainly aim to remain competitive. All our accommodation is in the accommodation wing, however, guests are most welcome to still enjoy our beautiful, heritage listed c.1874 Lenna mansion which houses reception, the Chandelier Bar, Alexander’s restaurant and our function rooms.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed one night here and don't think it was worth it. The old building is beautiful but the actual building where the rooms are located is made of unpainted besser blocks - very unattractive. The rooms themselves look recently refurbished but the flat pillows and lack of a/c were a negative. The continental buffet breakfast was $20. The hotel appeared to be a bit short staffed. I also stayed at the Old Woolstore during my trip and it was cheaper and better value. Their continental breakfast there was only $14 and there was a bigger range.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissyGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear BrissyGirl00,

I am sorry you left us feeling dissatisfied. We strive to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and I am sorry to hear that we didn’t create a more memorable experience for you.

All of our rooms certainly are refurbished; apologies if you thought the pillows were flat, we do have a variety of pillows to choose from and could have brought new ones up to the room had we known you were unhappy. Although we do not have air conditioning we do find that the fans, along with our double-glazed, opening windows, keep the rooms at a comfortable temperature on most summer days.

In regards to our buffet breakfast we are currently reviewing the menu and pricing and hope to have a new selection up and running in the near future. Plans are also underway for the accommodation wing to be updated now that we have finished refurbishing all the rooms.

Thank you for your feedback and hopefully we will see you again.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business on my first trip to Hobart and Tasmania for that matter! And was amazed by the untouched beauty of the old buildings in Salamanca and the hotel.

The staff were friendly and most helpful! The main building is well maintained with a great atmosphere, however the area where the rooms are leaves something to be desired for. It is seriously out dated and looks like it stepped out of a cheesy old movie from the 80s.

The rooms are spacious with nice big windows and gorgeous views. With no air con (that I could find) the room was quite hot when I arrived due to the low sun blasting through the windows. I ended up opening the door for a while which is not ideal, but it worked.

I ordered room service for a few nights and found the serves to be large and reasonably well priced, not to mention extremely delicious.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ItShouldBClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Hi ItShoudldBClean,

Thanks for the review and for your kind words.

I am glad you enjoyed staying with us here at Lenna. Thank you for your feedback mentioning our staff; we really pride ourselves on our level of customer service so I will be sure to pass your comments on.

The Lenna mansion is certainly a beautiful old building. It was built in 1874 and is where you find reception, Alexanders Restaurant, the Chandelier Bar, our function rooms and McGregor’s lookout. The newer wing, where all the accommodation rooms are located, was built in the 70’s when the residence was converted into a hotel. Now that we have finished refurbishing all the rooms we have plans to start upgrading all other areas of the hotel next year.

Our rooms are certainly large for hotel-style rooms and although we do not have air conditioning, we do have double glazed windows which can be opened to let the fresh air in. We also have fans in all rooms to help with air circulation on the hotter Hobart days.

Thanks for the feedback regarding the high quality and value of your room service meals. This menu is relatively new so it is always good to hear what people think of it.

Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is central to everything and the quality of the hotel is excellent. We'd highly recommend the doublt-decker bus trip that takes in a snapshot of Hobart and it's surrounds - great value for money as the ticket is valid for 3 days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Ann H,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I would have to agree that Lenna’s location is excellent, right next to Salamanca Place and the waterfront area, and the double-decker bus stop is just around the corner!

Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Nice location, nice room. But the hotel was a bit cool - not embracing. I guess a bit too officious for me. The building is quite stately. The location was handy for tours from the harbor as well as walks in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumbydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Gumbydoc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive comments regarding our rooms and location. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

The Lenna mansion was once a private residence, therefore it lacks the large, open spaces of some other hotels and instead has a more homely feel to it. I am sorry that you found the hotel to be cool and officious; we pride ourselves on being a small, boutique hotel with a warm, inviting atmosphere and excellent customer service.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Noise transfer crazy , you can hear next doors tv , bathroom noise , doors shutting very unpleasant such a shame for a such a wonderful outlook and quiet position in Hobart .I tried the restaurant but it was a cold night and the restaurant was cold , asked for fire to be turned on ending not being tunred on properly and a gas smell developed , so it was turned off and sat through dinner in a jumper jacket and scarf .......Oysters were great , fish disappointing over cooked , poor vegetable quality and potatoes with skins and eyes left on , a same has I have noramlly had very good food in Hobart .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear ausj13,

Thanks very much for your feedback and we apologise that you didn’t have an enjoyable stay at Lenna of Hobart.

Our apologies for the noise you experienced from the room next door and for the impact this had on your stay. We generally find the hotel a quiet place and take a proactive response to any noise issues in the hotel to ensure a comfortable stay for all guests. Your comments have been addressed with our maintenance department and we have already taken steps to prevent the noise from doors closing.

We were sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your visit to Alexander’s restaurant. We generally receive very positive feedback about our restaurant and over the last few months we have made a number of changes to our food and beverage department in order to further enhance our operation. We have raised the comments with our Executive Chef and will look at reviewing the items you have mentioned particularly with our summer menu due to start in a few weeks. Unfortunately during your visit we did have an issue with our gas heating and this has since been rectified, we apologise for this inconvenience.

Again, we thank you for you feedback. If you wish to discuss any of these issues further please feel free to contact me directly. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Property: Lenna of Hobart
Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing