We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lenna of Hobart is well placed to enjoy Hobart”
Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lenna of Hobart
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Lenna of Hobart are in Salamanca which is really where the food scene of Hobart is centred. The markets are also here on the weekend. Lenna provided a comfortable stay for us with fairly current rooms. The minibar etc are fairly limited but this seems to be the norm these days with hotels in food areas and frankly, you are better off getting out and about this area. Check in was standard, but the coordination of getting rooms ready for incoming guests could do with a review in efficiency. We waited 2hrs after we were told our room would be ready, as were some other couples. Can be a problem if you need to be somewhere. But all in all a solid stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aussieWayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Hi aussieWayno,

Thank you for your feedback.

I do apologise that your room was not ready upon your arrival. We strive to ensure all rooms are ready for checkin by 1pm and we do generally achieve this. Unfortunately on the day of your arrival we had an unusually high volume of rooms to be cleaned and some check ins were delayed. I am very sorry for this inconvenience, we would love the opportunity to offer you a better experience next time you visit Hobart.

We do find our mini bar to be fairly extensive in comparison to others however I am sorry that you found it limited. We also offer 24 hour room service and on site dining options including Alexanders Restaurant and the Chandelier Bar.

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of you stay at Lenna and made the most of our excellent location right on the corner of Salamanca Place, there really is so much to see and do in the area!

Thanks again for the review and hopefully we will see you again. We would certainly love the opportunity to offer you a better arrival experience.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Everything worked perfectly. We were upgraded for free upon checking in which was great! nice room, easy parking, good service. Just the way it should be. No complaints.

Oh, the free lollies at reception are pretty good too!!

Quite expensive though!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi Jeremy S,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable your stay with us and yes it is always nice to be upgraded!

I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms to be expensive. The New Year’s period is certainly the peak time of year for accommodation in Hobart with events such as The Taste of Tasmania and the Rolex Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race bringing thousands of people to the waterfront. At other times of the year we often have special discounted rates which can be found on our website.

Thanks for the review and I am happy you liked our lollies!

We hope to welcome you back next time.

Kind regards,

Florence
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Lenna. All staff were very welcoming especially Milly who made sure we had a perfect Xmas Day .
Our room was very comfortable with great city views and we enjoyed the tranquility that the Lenna offered. We would certainly recommend the Lenna again and hope one day to make a return trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bazplast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi Bazplast,

Thank you for your review.

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your Christmas with us, it really is a great time to be in Hobart. Thank you also for your kind words regarding Milly, we have certainly passed on your comments and are happy to hear that she strived to ensure your Christmas Day was perfect. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service so it is great to receive your positive feedback.

Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed at the Lenna for 3 nights, it is in a fantastic central location. Room was big and comfortable with a lovely view of Mt Wellington. Quiet, great bed, big windows that open to let in fresh air. Close to markets, cafes, waterfront and shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpls-melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear cpls-melb,

Thanks so much for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are very proud of our property and we have such a great location!

Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Florence
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

One of the grander hotels in Hobart about $35-40 taxi ride from airport and within a stone's throw of the town centre. Not recommended for the infirm/elderly who intend to walk to sights because hotel's on a hill and there's a steep road to get to it (but cars can drive up to it). Salamanca Market is about 5 minutes walk down the hill at the bottom of the road about 200m. Princes Park is a quiet pretty park with a water view right next to the hotel. Hotel has a lookout on the top floor of the old wing accessible to guests.

Reception: friendly, helpful and efficient.

Room 23: is in the new wing accessible from the main entrance or open carpark. Although this might appear less secure than a fully enclosed hotel, Hobart is very safe. Good size, clean and newish room without smells. Room's heating comes from the heated floor of bathroom (which cannot be controlled from the room) while the rest of the room has a heater and fan, which is kind of weird. Luckily windows can be opened for fresh air if room gets too hot. As hotel's on a hill and Hobart gets quite windy, you'll hear the wind howl through the night. Major bonuses: free broadband and one of the few hotels anywhere that provides a 300ml carton of fresh milk in the fridge - 2 features swayed me to book here.

Alexander's restaurant is on-site but we didn't eat there. Didn't use any of the other facilities either.

Some of the nicest places to eat are:
1. In Battery Point. Turn left as you leave the main entrance, walk around Alfred Circus, at the end of the road, turn right and walk about 500m. There are a few cafes here, but the ones I tried were Jackman and McRoss (a bakery open for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea with delicious baked goods and strong coffee, try the scallop pie a Tassie specialty but not cheap); Environs (across the road from J & M, also open for breakfast and lunch, good option if J & M are full, nice food and ambience)
2. Daci and Daci: across the road from Parliament house, about 10 mins from Salamanca Market, institution in Hobart, delicious beautiful bakery goods; open 7am-6pm, but closed Sunday.
3. Garagistes 103 Murray Street: no bookings, 56 seats, opens at 1700, either 3 or 5 course degustation. If you're a meat and 3 veg person, this might not be your cup of tea, but I found the food intelligent and interesting, and worth it. Service was excellent.
4. Smolt 2 Salamanca Place: open daily which is a bonus on Mondays as most other places are closed. It's conveniently located and there's a good range to suit all tastes.

The Source at Mona: offers 3, 5, 7 or 9 course degustation. 9 courses is really too much and takes over 3 hrs. Food is a bit hit and miss. Some of the more traditional dishes were excellent, but the Asian inspired ones were uninspiring.

Disappointments: Mures Upper Deck, Monty's and One Pier at Wrest Point.

Tours: Bruny Island Safaris was excellent. Boutique wine tours was ho-hum.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear travelerMelbourne

Thanks very much for your review and sounds like you had a great stay in Hobart.

We certainly have a great location and whilst there is a bit of a hill up to the property from Salamanca Place it certainly helps to provide some great views from our rooms.

With regards heating and air-conditioning, all rooms have portable heaters in them which keeps things nice and warm when needed. Our rooms aren’t air-conditioned, however, we find with Hobart’s temperate climate that it is not required. For those days that are a little warmer, all rooms have fans in them and opening windows to let in some of Hobart’s beautiful clean air. We have also just finished double glazing the windows of all rooms which will help to maintain stable room temperatures as well as keeping the rooms nice and quiet and help us be more energy efficient.

Happy to see that you made use of our free wifi in our rooms and enjoyed the fresh milk!

Glad you enjoyed some of Hobart’s great bakeries and restaurants. Daci and Daci is certainly a favorite of ours. Shame you didn’t get to try our restaurant Alexanders. We have just released our new summer menu and aim to feature as much of our amazing Tassie produce as possible.

Thanks again for the review and hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
Florence
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently. The old building is lovely and the staff are very professional, but the annexe were I imagine most rooms are leave a bit to be desired. Although comfortable enough and recently renovated they are a bit drab, beds a bit hard, and a bit noisy. Hobart is not a cheap city to stay and Lenna offers reasonable value in that context, just don't imagine that your room will be in the old historic mansion. I would stay again as the location is very good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear HDONTOUR57,

Thanks very much for your feedback,

Our apologies that you found your room a bit drab. Our rooms have been fully refurbished over the last 3 years and we normally receive very positive feedback about them.

Sorry also that you found the beds a bit hard. I’m sorry you didn’t let us know as we do have mattress toppers available for guests who like a softer bed and we would have been happy to have one of these fitted.

With regards to noise we generally find our location to be very quiet and we have just taken the step of double glazing all our rooms to help eliminate any potential noise and also to provide environmental benefits. I am unsure if you stayed in a room that was double glazed, however, all rooms will be double glazed by the end of this week and we have seen huge benefits from this.

We are glad you found our rooms reasonable value and we certainly aim to remain competitive. All our accommodation is in the accommodation wing, however, guests are most welcome to still enjoy our beautiful, heritage listed c.1874 Lenna mansion which houses reception, the Chandelier Bar, Alexander’s restaurant and our function rooms.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Florence S
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed one night here and don't think it was worth it. The old building is beautiful but the actual building where the rooms are located is made of unpainted besser blocks - very unattractive. The rooms themselves look recently refurbished but the flat pillows and lack of a/c were a negative. The continental buffet breakfast was $20. The hotel appeared to be a bit short staffed. I also stayed at the Old Woolstore during my trip and it was cheaper and better value. Their continental breakfast there was only $14 and there was a bigger range.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrissyGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear BrissyGirl00,

I am sorry you left us feeling dissatisfied. We strive to ensure every guest enjoys their stay and I am sorry to hear that we didn’t create a more memorable experience for you.

All of our rooms certainly are refurbished; apologies if you thought the pillows were flat, we do have a variety of pillows to choose from and could have brought new ones up to the room had we known you were unhappy. Although we do not have air conditioning we do find that the fans, along with our double-glazed, opening windows, keep the rooms at a comfortable temperature on most summer days.

In regards to our buffet breakfast we are currently reviewing the menu and pricing and hope to have a new selection up and running in the near future. Plans are also underway for the accommodation wing to be updated now that we have finished refurbishing all the rooms.

Thank you for your feedback and hopefully we will see you again.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £100 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lenna of Hobart is not just a place to rest your head. It’s an experience. Open the door to this 1874-built sandstone mansion and connect with Hobart Town’s story. This landmark hotel puts you right on the historic doorstep of Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. Salamanca Place, home to Australia’s largest outdoor market and fine eateries are a few hundred metres away and a short walk leads to the CBD, Mona ferry terminal and waterfront precinct. About 100 years after the mansion was built, a new accommodation wing opened. Lenna of Hobart, rooms offer harbour, mountain and park views. Rooms offer complimentary wifi, parking, Foxtel, Nespresso machines, opening double glazed windows and are full air-conditioned/heated. Twin bedding options also available. Lenna of Hobart also features the Chandelier Lounge Bar where guests can relax and enjoy a Tasmanian wine or whiskey or join us for an evening meal. Breakfast is also available and limited room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing