We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fuss”
Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenna of Hobart
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No fuss”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Our Harbour view room was clean, modern and had a great view. Easy walk to Salamanca.

A quickly organized overnight trip was made easy with one call to the Lenna. Jackson on the front desk was helpful and just made it all happen, without a fuss. Thanks!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JusttheNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear JusttheNight,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I am happy to hear you liked your Harbour View Room and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for the feedback regarding Jackson, he is a real asset to our team and it is great to hear that he helped make your stay special. I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Hopefully we will see you next time you are in Hobart!

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    209
    51
    14
    7
See reviews for
90
264
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had our last night here and loved the place. Brilliant standard, cosy, clean, quality abounds and great staff. Fantastic. Would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay that has quality has it's goal. Also a great Indian restaurant around the corner called Annapurna. Not to be missed

Room Tip: Mountain view room cheaper and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whittakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Whittakb,

Thank you for your review and recommendation, we really appreciate your positive feedback.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at Lenna including our excellent staff!

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a very professionally run hotel ideally located for a visit to central Hobart. Salamanca Place is (literally) two or three minutes walk away and Battery Point itself is a lovely area, with beautiful historic houses and good cafes and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a good bathroom, a couch and small table and chairs. The glass doors opened to let the sea breeze in which was very pleasant. The room had extra pillows, an iron and coffee and tea-making equipment. There is plenty of on-site parking. Although my room was on the lowest floor of the newer wing, it still had a (limited) view of the harbour. The old part of the hotel (formerly a mansion) is lovely and there is a very nice dining room. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Lenna is slightly pricey, however the convenience of the location is a real plus, particularly if you are travelling on your own. If you don't have breakfast as part of your package, there are several very nice cafes just up the road in the Battery Point village. All in all, a good option for a stay in Hobart.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city and the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Darlene1953,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Lenna and found everything you needed in our newly refurbished rooms. The sliding doors in our ground floor rooms are great to open up and allow the fresh air in to the room.

I am happy to hear you made the most of our excellent location and found our staff to be pleasant and helpful, we do strive to exceed expectations when it comes to service.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last week for five nights. It would have been a pleasant experience to stay at this hotel if it hadn't been the height of summer. No air conditioning! It reached 90 degrees in our room. The supplied fan didn't help much. It was close to the downtown and the docks. Would have given it a 5 if it had A/C.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear David H,

Thank you for the review.

I am disappointed to hear that you found the room to be too hot.

Hobart experiences a temperate climate and we don’t usually require air-conditioning. This year however, we have experienced a number of days of heat wave conditions. We have recently installed double glazed windows which have cut down a lot of the heat (and noise) and this has made a big difference. We do generally find a cooler sea breeze comes in in the afternoon and guests are able to open their windows to help take advantage of this.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and once again I apologise that you found the room to be warm. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss any of your comments further.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We visited Hobart in January and stayed at this hotel. Booked through their website. First night was $275, second night was $255. We were 3 adults. There was a queen sized bed and a sofa pull out bed. They forgot to make the sofa pull out bed with sheets, but this was immediately corrected when we called up. The place is very comfortable and the staff are friendly. If you're not really staying in the hotel a lot, I would probably not recommend staying here as it is a bit pricey. We decided to stay here as we were travelling with a baby so comfort was priority for us. The hotel is located close to the Salamanca Markets. The only problem we had when trying to get to the hotel (on a Saturday) was the blocked traffic due to the markets. This was frustrating as we were travelling with a fussy infant. Otherwise, the location was good, and walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi ozTravelGirl,

Thanks for the review.

I am happy to hear you found your room to be comfortable and thank you for your comment on our friendly staff.

I am sorry you had trouble getting to us with the markets on. Although Salamanca Place is closed, Castray Esplanade, the road running along the waterfront, remains open and is certainly the easiest way to get to us on a Saturday!

In regards to the rate, we do find ourselves to be priced very competitively with other hotels in the area but I apologise that you found us to be on the expensive side.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We made our first visit to Tasmania this January, and not knowing anything about Hobart, took a chance and based our booking on what sounded like a good location (Battery Point). We were absolutely delighted when we arrived to find that (a) we were placed in a modern wing of the hotel, (b) parking was easy and on-site and (c) we were in the epicenter of activity in Hobart, just around the corner from the harbor, great restaurants, interesting shops/galleries and the lively Saturday Salamanca market. And thanks to the helpful staff, we quickly figured out that we were within easy walking distance of the ferry to MONA, one of our key reasons for coming down to Hobart.

The accommodations were very clean and comfortable. We only wish that we had booked more time to explore Hobart and make several visits to the provocative MONA.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malchus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Malchus W,

It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay in Hobart!

Our location really is excellent so I am glad you made the most of everything that was going on around the waterfront area.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed in a family suite which we needed as we had our teenage son with us. The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable, we had a king and our son had a queen bed all to himself. The location is the best thing about this hotel, being in Battery Point and so close to the harbour which is really the best part of Hobart. Quaint cottages and nice walking around Battery Point. Good to be able to walk down so quickly as well to Salamanca Markets on Saturday. Can't fault the hotel really, it wasn't cheap but was convenient and had everything we needed. Staff were helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as there were so many other restaurants nearby. We had a nice view of the harbour.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi Scottishsmiths,

It is good to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our Harbour View Family Suites, thank you for the review. I am glad you liked the room and found our beds to be comfortable, we often get positive feedback regarding their comfort and even get people who leave wanting to buy one for themselves!

I would have to agree, our location really is excellent. Battery Pont is the oldest part of Hobart and Salamanca Place is where you will find the markets, restaurants, bars and cafes so it is great to have both within easy reach.

Once again thanks for your review and we hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Property: Lenna of Hobart
Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing