We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, View, and History”
Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lenna of Hobart
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at this beautiful, old hotel (with a new addition) for 6 nights. Cannot beat the location, as it is right around the corner from Salamaca Place. My room (in the new addition) faced east, overlooking the park and bay; I also enjoyed lovely sunrises. Desk service is outstanding, free newspapers are provided, and attentive housekeeping is a blessing. Breakfast is basic food in a lovely atmosphere. Temperature control in my room was a bit difficult, though I loved the fact that the windows opened. Weekend evening noise (loud conversations below my window) took a bit off my enjoyment. Free Internet and a computer with screen and printer in the common area are very welcome assets.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the park/bay face east and get the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Tirebiter8,

Thanks for your review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your many positive comments regarding your experience.

We are very lucky to have the views that we do and the views from the high Park View Rooms really are beautiful. Apologies that you found it to be a little noisy. We do find that the double glazed windows keep out the noise very effectively however our central location means that there can be people around outside, especially on weekends.

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

A comfortable hotel in an excellent location to walk to great restaurants .
A little bit costly for what you get. We enjoyed a very yummy meal in the hotel Restuarant on our first night back from the Maria Island walk.

Room Tip: I preferred the water view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi Judy M,

Thanks for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and made the most of our great location, it’s great to stay in the centre of everything when in Hobart! It is also good to hear you enjoyed your meal in Alexanders Restaurant. Our apologies you found us to be on the costly side. Hobart is very busy at this time of year meaning there aren’t many specials around however we do find that we are very competitively priced.

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

With harbour view from our windows we stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Wel equipped and spacious room in the renovated part of the hotel! We dined in the restaurant: the food was very good but the waitress was bad. She forgot our orders and was very absenr when you needed attention. Better dine out of this place (for example Drunken Admiral).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Levensgenietster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Levensgenietstet,

Thanks very much for your feedback. Our apologies for the service you experienced in Alexander's restaurant this is certainly not our normal standard. Glad to read you enjoyed the food and this is something we have been working very hard on recently. We have moved away from the fine dining concept to more modern Australian, showcasing some of Tassie's great produce.

Glad you enjoyed the stay in your harbour view room. We are certainly very fortunate to have some great views from our rooms.

Look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A great neat well presented hotel within a short distance to the famous Salamanca markets ...which are on every Saturday ..room size was generous and well maintained would recommend Lenna to anyone wanting to stay in Hobart

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank billonbribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Billonbribie,

Thanks for staying with us at Lenna of Hobart and for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Hobart and made the most of our location on the doorstep of the Salamanca markets.

We are also pleased you found our rooms to be of a generous size, we agree compared to many hotels our rooms are certainly quite spacious with lounge areas in most rooms.

Thanks again for your kind words Billonbribe, we really appreciate your recommendation to fellow travellers and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

An old mansion with a more recent addition housing 60 rooms. Five minute walk from the dock area with lots of restaurants and shops. Very friendly and helpful staff. Few "modern" amenities, but a pleasant break from the big names. Bar is cozy place to relax, and attended occasionally. Woukld not recommend during very warm periods as there is no air conditioning -- just a fan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Jim G,

Thanks for staying with us at Lenna of Hobart and for your review.

We are glad you made the most of our prime location so close to Salamanca and Hobart’s delightful waterfront. We are also very pleased you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful, we pride ourselves on our customer service here at the Lenna of Hobart and strive to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay so it is great to get positive feedback regarding our service.

We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our Chandelier lounge bar located in the Lenna mansion, it is great to have a place like this where guests can relax and we try to make it feel as much of a home away from home as possible.

In regards to not having air conditioning, Hobart’s climate is temperate and therefore air-conditioning is rarely required. We find the fans, combined with the opening windows, usually cool the room sufficiently and we have also recently installed double glazing which has certainly helped.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful views. Stayed here for 3 nights while meeting husband's ship. Staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Would definitely stay here on next trip to Hobart. Could walk to excellent pubs, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBMC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi CBMC1234,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of all our excellent location has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, we strive to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay so I am always pleased when staff are commented on in our reviews.

We have to agree that our views truly are beautiful; whether the room is facing the mountain, park or harbour most of our rooms offer expansive views of the Hobart area.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to speaking to you when you have the dates for your next trip!

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We checked into the Lenna of Hobart and found the hotel quite charming and room clean, updated/modern and comfortable. We even had a small table with two chairs on a quiet patio surrounded by vines and flowers. What blew me away was Jackson, the front desk attendant. I'd only booked for one night but we'd decided to extend our stay for two nights... and the Lenna was full. He said that all hotels in town were booked and we might have to drive out of town to find a place... but he would call around and see what else might be available. Sure enough, about 10 minutes after we settled into our room, Jackson phoned to say he'd found a room just a few blocks away at a different hotel. When was the last time you had a front desk employee go that far to provide great service? Thank you Jackson and the Lenna Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cat_harrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear cat_harrell,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to receive such glowing feedback about Jackson, he is a great member of our team and I am glad he made such a lasting impression. Here at Lenna we try set ourselves apart from other hotels with our levels of personalised service. Jackson and the rest of the team are always trying to exceed expectations to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us so I am very happy to hear you describe our level of service as outstanding.

I am also glad you liked our rooms, the Queen rooms on the park side are very peaceful and it is always nice to be able to get some fresh air by stepping out onto the balcony!

Once again thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £97 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing