We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Olde world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lenna of Hobart
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Olde world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this beautiful old hotel and we were upgraded to a harbour view room on arrival. Friendly staff, large, modern room and a short walk to Salamanca and Hobart's waterfront. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Ann C,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always nice to receive a bonus upgrade and our Harbour View Rooms really are special.

Thanks for your positive comments, I am pleased you found the room to be comfortable and made the most of our great location.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    195
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
84
244
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Lenna in Febuary to attend the Hobart cup. What a great hotel, nice size rooms, excellent locations with views to the harbour. A short walk to the Saturday market which was fantastic with loads of the fresh food and cheese and a bunch of other delights. A number of very good restaruants within few minutes walk made it all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Gandirs,

Thank you for your review.

February is a great time of year to be in Hobart and I am pleased you enjoyed our fantastic location. Salamanca Market is on every Saturday of the year and certainly draws a crowd with its excellent selection of Tasmanian crafts and fresh produce so it is great to have this just around the corner from us.

We are also very happy to hear you found the room to be spacious and enjoyed the views.

Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Lenna in a harbour view room and could not have been happier with our choice. A beautiful historic building with an interesting history that is centrally located - 2 minutes to Salamanca shops and restaurants, 5 minutes to the wharf (and MONA ferry), 5 minutes to Battery Point village and 10 minutes to the CBD. Our room was spacious and comfortable - the internal style is along the Quest style, but with more colour. A minor fault - the hotel handbook was well out of date (safe, internet info both wrong) and also heavily stained. A special mention of Jackson at reception, who was excellent in his manner and helpfulness. A climb up to the turret of the Lenna itself and a walk up the hill from the Lenna to see cottages from the 1840's are both a must.Nearby Tricycle is highly recommended for breakfast and Monty's for dinner.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear galtons,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our Harbour View Rooms.

Thank you for your comments, we take great pride in the hotel as well as the service we offer and I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us. The Lenna mansion has an interesting history and we certainly recommend guests have a read of the information on the building and head up to the turret, where you get lovely views over Battery Point and the Derwent River.

Thank you also for giving special mention to Jackson. We have a great team here and really take pride in our levels of service so it is great to be able to share positive comments such as yours.

In regards to the in-room compendiums, we are actually in the process of rewriting and replacing all the old compendiums. We should have new ones in all rooms in the next couple of days complete with new folders and information.

Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a Family room mountain view. We were really comfortable in our well decorated spacious room. Gorgeous old building but very modern interior. Well positioned , being a short walk to Salamanca markets and wharf area, that have a hugh selection of cafes , restaurants, bars and shopping.
They have free parking and I'm pretty sure the bathroom floors were heated.!
We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did get room service and it was yum

This hotel will be our first choice next time we visit , which will be soon I hope .

Thank you Lenna Of Hobart

Room Tip: Family room with Mountain view was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaM002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi LisaM002014,

Thanks for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Family Suites. They are very spacious two room suites, perfect for a family or two couples travelling, and yes the bathroom floors certainly are heated!

It is great to hear you made the most of our free car parking and excellent location. Maybe next time you visit you will get the chance to dine in Alexanders too.

See you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed recently for 3 nights. We have been coming to Hobart for many years now and our first choice of hotels is Lenna. Apart from a physically beautiful and historic structure in a great location, the hotel front office staff are extremely welcoming. Very efficient staff with nicely refurbished rooms. The harbour view rooms are great. Hard to go past.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtourist21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi worldtourist21,

It is always great to get feedback from guests who stay with us regularly so thanks for taking the time to write us a review.

I am happy to hear that we are still your first choice in Hobart. Thanks for your comments on our front office staff, we certainly try to ensure all guests enjoy their stay with us and feel welcome upon arrival so it great to hear your positive feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night at Lenna of Hobart on business and was pleased with my experience. It looks like an old mansion from exterior but rooms are quite modern and comfy. The continental breakfast only included cereals, breads and fruits but cooked breakfast of eggs, sausages and bacon was available at an additional charge. A generous tea tray was a plus inside the room. Some rooms in the 4th floor have nice views. I would not hesitate recommending Lenna for anyone who is after a comfy stay at a central location in Hobart.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Anan2012,

Thanks for the review.

I happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others. The Lenna mansion is a beautiful heritage listed building built in 1874 so we try to make the rooms fit in with this whilst ensuring they are modern and comfortable.

We have just updated the breakfast menu in Alexanders so that we have a variety of options to suit everyone. We also use as much fresh, local Tasmanian produce as possible to try to showcase all we have to offer here in Hobart.

Again thank your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hobart for business (or pleasure).

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had an astonishingly big room in this well located hotel, handy for wharfs and restaurants with good parking but quiet despite only being a short walk from a picturesque and busy area with lots of action and all the facilities you could wish for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Ivor T,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lenna and that you found our rooms to be nice and spacious.

Being just around the corner from Salamanca Place means our location is generally quiet but we are still in the heart of everything Hobart’s waterfront area has to offer.

Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Property: Lenna of Hobart
Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing