We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Good Value”
Review of Lenna of Hobart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lenna of Hobart
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Location Good Value”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The rooms are comfortable, clean and well stocked. I had an entry level Queen bed room which was quite spacious and had a modern, renovated bathroom. The main part of the hotel is in an old building with open fire places and a nice bar. The accommodation seems to be in a slightly newer building. Great lift access to the car park and less than 5 minutes walk to the restaurants of Salamanca or the weekend markets.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a great view so if you want this remember to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GKD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear GKD60,

Thanks for the positive review and wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our queen rooms do represent great value and of course you can't beat our location!

The main building of Lenna is a beautiful maintained mansion built in 1874 with the accommodation wing being built in 1974. Glad you made use of our complimentary parking also.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    204
    51
    14
    6
See reviews for
86
259
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Absolutely loved our stay here. We stayed in the harbour view king room. Huge room with a great view. Hotel is in a great location in Battery Point at the top of Salamanca (best place in Hobart. Less than 5 mins to the harbour too.

Room Tip: Harbour view king rooms are huge!! Well worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Duncan H,

Thanks so much for your review and glad you loved your stay at Lenna of Hobart.

We are very lucky to have such a wonderful hotel in the perfect location in Hobart, right at the top of Salamanca Place and in the waterfront area.

Glad you enjoyed our Harbour View King Suites. These are newly refurbished with plenty of space and some great views.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This motel is in a fantastic position just up from Salamanca Place. The room was very well set up and very comfortable. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the Salamanca shops and restaurants which are great. We would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougAndKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear DougAndKaz,

Thanks for the excellent review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Lenna of Hobart and yes our location really is pretty hard to beat; right on the edge of both Salamanca Place and Battery Point.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When I went to an event at this hotel , I could not believe that there was no lift from the main foyer up the main stairs. I really struggled to get up those stairs, 2 flights to the first floor. At home now , my legs are still in pain.
Naturally I wont be going back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2oldhobartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi 2oldhobartians,

We are sorry to hear you found it difficult to get up to the first floor for your function. We have recently made the hotel more accessible with the addition of hand rails at the steps outside reception however the Lenna mansion is a heritage listed building built in 1874 and therefore doesn’t have a lift. We do have staff onsite 24 hours a day who are more than happy to assist if needed.

We apologise for the inconvenience, if you would like to discuss your comments further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently I stayed at Lenna for 5 days. It was my second time there and some fond memories came flooding back. We had a fine view of Mt Wellington, excellent room, great room service and a 2 minute stroll to Salamanca Place. My only tiny criticism was about the not so helpful advice on working the TV remote! The staff did not seem to appreciate that some of us 'older' folk are not techno savvy. However, it's a minor point and I will definitely stay there next visit to Hobart.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi judyfin,

Firstly I would like to apologise if you felt us to be unhelpful in regards to the remote control for the TV. I am sorry you felt this way and do hope that your problem was resolved quickly and effectively. We are always more than happy to come up to the room and help if a guest is experiencing issues of any kind.

Aside from this I am happy to hear you enjoyed your second stay at Lenna as much as your first. It is great to be able to spend a few nights exploring Salamanca and the Hobart area and we are pleased you enjoyed your room, the food and the location.

Thank you for writing us a review and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Lenna of Hobart has been my choice of overnight venue in Hobart for several years. The friendly and welcoming staff can never do enough for you and the newly refurbished rooms are fantastically well appointed.
Situated within easy walking distance of the Salamanca restaurant district you will be spoiled for choice - or if you prefer, enjoy the Lenna's in house menu.

All in all - a great experience for the business traveller!

Room Tip: The park view rooms are the quietest selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Doug C,

Thanks for your review, it’s always great to hear from our regular guests.

We are very pleased to hear you continue to choose Lenna for your visits to Hobart. Thanks for mentioning our staff friendliness; we have a great team here and always ensure customer service is our number one priority. It is also great to receive feedback on our newly refurbished rooms.

Thanks for the overall reccommendation and great comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here recently for three nights. The location is perfect. So close to all the main areas such as the harbour, restaurants, bars and of course the Salamanca Markets. Car Parking was free. The rooms were a good size, comfortable and contained everything that we needed. Staff were professional and courteous. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence S, Front Office Manager at Lenna of Hobart, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Jeskia,

We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at Lenna.

Thanks for your comments, I am glad you found room to be comfortable and spacious. I am also happy to hear that you utilised our complimentary guest car parking; Hobart is best explored on foot so it is great to be able to leave your car behind and not have to worry about where to park.

Thanks for the review and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenna of Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenna of Hobart

Property: Lenna of Hobart
Address: 20 Runnymede St | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#8 Business Hotel in Hobart
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lenna of Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Hobart's waterfront amidst the colour of Sullivan's Cove and historic Battery Point and just a stones throw away from fashionable Salamanca Place and city centre. The stately National Trust mansion was built in 1874 whilst the accommodation wing, adjacent to the mansion provides a welcoming combination of traditional elegance and modern facilities. The guest accommodation wing comprises fifty spacious en-suite hotel rooms offering well-appointed living and superior comfort facilities including queen size beds with most rooms providing wonderful views of the magnificent harbour, majestic Mount Wellington or surrounding parklands and Hobart city. The Lenna King suites offer elegance and space overlooking the harbour & Constitution Dock. Atop there are two deluxe rooftop penthouse apartments which are the ultimate luxury indulgence with 360 degree views of Hobart. The luxurious and exclusive Lenna Penthouses undeniably represent the ultimate indulgence in apartment living. Situated on Salamanca Place and overlooking Hobart's picturesque waterfront and the many lifestyle attractions, including markets, craft shops, cafes, restaurants, art galleries and the historic precinct of Battery Point. The alluring 360-degree panoramic views of Hobart's harbour and mountains from the rooftop apartments are simply stunning. They feature 2 king bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with the added flexibility of a third bedroom/living area of 35 square metres if required. The two apartments occupy the top floor of Lenna and can be offered together to form a spacious 5 bedroom 4 bathroom residence with an expansive and luxurious indoor and outdoor living space of 430 square metres that is exclusively yours. Lenna Penthouses offer state of the art furnishings, comforts and technology you would expect of a superior five-star plus apartment. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with individual climate control for each room. To find Hobart's best dining experience look no further than Alexanders Restaurant, winner of many food and wine awards. Alexanders provides a modern international menu using the finest Tasmanian produce complemented by an extensive wine list featuring Tasmanian wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenna of Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenna Of Hobart Hotel Hobart
Lenna Hotel Hobart
Hobart Lenna Hotel
Lenna Of Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing