We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, very friendly”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel, we had a disabled king room this time and it was great, big bathroom and shower. Water pressure was dreadful. Great inhouse movies although they did not run to time. Staff were just as friendly and helpful as our last visit and the location is brilliant, just up from the famous Salamanca Markets. Only negative was someone taking our clothes from the dryer in the laundry. Unfortunately it does state leave at your own risk and we lost a load of underwear as no one returned it before we checked out. We did leave our contact details but have not heard anything. Although this is not the hotels fault it was disappointing, so if staying here be careful about using the laundry. Made the stay even more expensive. Still hoping it might get returned to us before we leave Tassie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

It is as good as it looks. Nicely renovated with all the mod-cons. Parking was very handy given you can leave the car and walk to most places from the hotel. The kitchen was unexpected for the price. So many places to eat and browse on the doorstep. Easy to chill out. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186daver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Big Room with massive TV too. $179 inc hot breakfast and parking in Salamanca is good value. Good work desk and full kitchen too. Heated bathroom and tile floors was great. Only faults were no foxtel and bed is on the hard side. Staff are friendly too.

Room Tip: Any room i'd say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We had the most delightful weekend in Hobart.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful. Our room was so comfortable, spacious & super clean.
The restaurant & staff were of the highest quality! Cuisine was incredible; the restaurant was so busy, yet the staff were still so attentive.
We're looking forward to returning before 2013 is over!
We would highly recommend a stay here.... It has it all!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife, young Daughter and I stayed at the Salamanca Inn in Aug 2013. We had never been to Hobart or Tassy before and from the website this hotel looked good.

We were not disappointed, the rooms have been renovated from their previous 1980's decor and are fresh and large. Our room had a kitchen and large combined living and bedroom area that was quite large. There was no view from our room but that was fine.

The staff were very friendly and efficient at check in and with questions we had for them. The restaurant was very good and priced quite well, the food was presented very well and came out in a reasonable amount of time for the amount of people eating at the time. The decor of the restaurant is warm and inviting with a modern touch.

A full hot breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent, eggs coked to order as was the bacon. The staff were always friendly and apart from the young male waiter who insisted on calling me "Matey" I cannot fault the dinning experience.

As for location its literally 50m from Salamanca pl where you have a large choice of pubs and restaurants. See other reviews. The Salamanca markets were excellent with lots of variety, there was lots of wood products including excellent carvings, it is a must see.

My only fault with the Hotel is the "Heated pool", as its advertised, yes it is heated but its not warm, the weather was tops of 16 deg c when we stayed and the pool was warmer than that but when you dip a toe it was still cold, as was the spa. So yes the pool is warmer than the outside ambient but its still cold, FYI.

Overall we will stay at the Salamanca Inn when we visit beautiful Tasy again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TC182TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Upon arrival at the front desk we were impressed. Great service with a happy and efficient receptionist. Arrived Saturday morning early and the room was ready for a few hours, great because we didn't expect it to be ready until 2pm! Walked out the door and the wonderful Salamanca Markets were on. After spending a few hours there buying lots of produce, we went to our room. Surprised, big room, split beds (had to pay extra for that as it was a girls weekend away). There was even a basic kitchenette, good sized fridge. The location is perfect, close to everything. We hired a car, and the car park was next to the hotel at no extra cost. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Had fantastic room, not a great view but still something to look at. Had the king suite and it was huge. Biggest plus was the bathroom floor is heated!! Good car park available and breakfast included was excellent! Only place we'll stay from now on, 30 second walk and you're in the heart of Salamanca!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellacavallo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hobart
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £137 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing