We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

What a great place for a hotel. Right next to Salamanca market and the shops and restaurants, a five minute walk to the wharves and a short drive into down. Location wins hands down.

We had a two room suite though the main bedroom was also the lounge room which can be annoying if sleeping patterns differ so beware. Rooms were modern and clean, kitchen well stocked with utensils and air conditioning worked well.

On a slightly negative side, you would be better off with a room on level 2 or 3 I suspect as our first floor room had people walking by our windows fairly often. And the pool is small and as indoor, can get stuffy (it was hot in Hobart when we were there).

All in all, recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor eliminates people walking by your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_J_S_MELBOURNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    234
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
153
233
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I did do some research before choosing this place but there are some things research just doesn't tell you. When we arrived we were greeted by an overly enthusiastic desk person. She seemed very friendly but was mute when it came to helping us with our bags. I was speaking to my husband in front of her, how we would get all our luggage up, (as there was small flight of stairs) she didn't seem to interject with "we have trolleys" or "may I suggest parking your car first". We did it in two trips and were disappointed to see big trolleys the next day that could have made it much easier.
The rooms are comfortable enough, but very bland. White walls, white everything. The kitchen was well appointed and we used those facilities a few times. The one major issue we had was the air conditioning. While it worked brilliantly in the lower floor rooms, it worked woefully in the bedroom. It made sleeping very hard as it was very stuffy. We had a fan called a vornado that worked adequately however was noisy. We tried sleeping with the window open but too much light and noise came in. The spa was excellent and HUGE
The other issue we had, but others may not care about, is that many families stay here, due to the multiple room configurations. So we had to deal with kids (and even parents) running up and down the hallways, thinking it was a playground, not a shared space. The pool is horrible, its so chlorinated you need a respirator just to enter the pool area.
The restaurant was excellent. We had the seafood tower, which was outstanding. On another day, we had a dessert platter, which was also very good. I wouldn't stay there again. It doesn't offer anything special or memorable, other than annoyances I would rather not feel. There are better places in Hobart.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aceagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in a deluxe queen room which was a last minute decision as we needed a break from our cramped campervan!
Overall the best thing was the spacious room, welcome after being cramped, but it wasn't really the 'treat' we had been looking forward to. The room lacked any kind of style or atmosphere, everything about it was just so bland. I have a personal dislike of royal blue leather couches, which didn't help I suppose. I read somewhere that it had recently been renovated and had a makeover - just a shame they didn't employ the talents of a decent interior designer.
The breakfast included in our room (but only for one of the days strangely) was a Full English. When we asked if we could have just poached eggs or an omelette we were told no, the free inclusion was JUST for a FULL ENGLISH - none of the other smaller items on the menu... this kind of blew our minds a bit!! So we reluctantly ordered our full english - which was as expected, completely underwhelmingly bland. Only filter coffee on offer, no espresso machine. A little disappointing for a hotel right in the middle of a gourmet foodies haven.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natsplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We only stayed here one night on our way back through Hobart and it was really good. The rooms are cleverly designed with neat storage and are well appointed. We stayed in a self contained suite that suited 4 people. The staff were friendly and having onsite parking was an added bonus. Great location!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Fantastic location, lovely roomy room. Not well serviced though! We were back to our room at 4pm, after a long day out, to find the kitchen and bathroom floors had only just been washed and were very wet and the bench top had not been wiped! Shower was terrible you were limited to how much you could turn on the hot water and so then were restricted as to how much you could turn the cold or you would freeze, so could only be on a dribble!

Reception staff very helpful and pleasant.

Food and service at the Bistro fantastic!! Will definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golffran2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Family of 5 ( 2adults and 3 kids aged 9-12) stayed in a 2 bedroom split level self contained apartment with a small balcony. The apartment is not big, the main bedroom is a good size and is upstairs, kids room is small, has bunk +singe bed, but no window. Kitchen and living rooms were acceptable. There is however only 1 bathroom, which is definitely not enough for 5 people. Our kids enjoyed the highly chlorinated heated pool and spa. Whilst supervising them, I noticed some gross piece of something on the floor... It stayed there for 3 consecutive days and disappeared on the forth day, finally got vacuumed... This is not the hotel you would love to stay in on a rainy day and enjoy the views and the facilities , but great for short term stay if you plan to explore hobart and just come back to your room to sleep. The location is fantastic, free secure undercover parking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here for a single overnight. Its a business oriented hotel , though it was perfectly suitable for a family with a teenager. The location is ideal and the room was spacious and clean. The hotel bistro made one of the best steaks I have ever had. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank technobedlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing