We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, very clean.”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very clean.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very happy with our stay here. Good service on arrival – fast check in and free car parking. We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment which was well equipped and very clean. The location is brilliant, being only two minutes’ walk to the Salamanca restaurant strip and Salamanca Markets, and only five minutes from the boat to MONA and the incredible Daci & Daci bakers, and 10 minutes to Lark Distillery. Our room didn’t have a view, but given the location, we didn’t spend much time there and the lack of view wasn’t an issue. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    236
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
155
239
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our two bedroom apartment was perfect for ourselves and our adult son. Very well equipped. Everything in immaculate condition, A two minute walk to Salamanca markets, five minutes to the MONA ferry,huge choice of dining options nearby. The grill and seafood restaurant downstairs was excellent. Huge serves of top quality seafood served by friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andiamo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Pleasantly surprised from the moment we arrived. You could park the car without additional charge. Very helpfull staff. The room was large and comfortable. It met all our needs. The location is central for all waterfront activities with a small walk to go into the city or to Sandy bay, to a couple of well known restuarants. I get won over by the smallest things, like free movies or the right sort of chocolate bar in the fridge. As a creature of habit I would certainly go back to this hotel in the furture.

Room Tip: like any hotel the further up you go the quieter it gets. We were on the 2nd floor on the road side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a few days with kids. Downside for us was no free wifi but that's common in Tas I guess. But galley kitchen,close to everything in the market, comfy beds, very central, free parking, they let us check in a few hrs early. I'd go back no problem. The restaurant downstairs - originally I snubbed it because I thought it was pricey but went on our last night and the food was brilliant although I think the chef likes to crumb fish a bit too much rather than grill it. 15 for a kids meal.... But hotel wise a great place. Tip if you're going make sure you drive out to Richmond. It's about 30 mins away and vineyards old buildings and a gaol. We went there last and that was a mistake. And salamanca markets on a Saturday so leave on a Sunday so you don't miss them

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Broncos2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Salamanca Inn over the Dark Mofo festival weekend. Five of us stayed in a 4-bed room with an extra trundle bed. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The location of this hotel is fantastic, just metres away from Salamanca Place and the wharf. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a wonderful weekend and would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokers Siding, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is hubby and my first visit in Hobart, and knowing we wanted to visit the famous Salamanca Markets, we chose Salamanca Inn mostly due to its locality. It also happened to have very good reviews, which helped...
Our room (#107) is nothing flash however it is very large and roomy, and extremely clean. Good cooking facilities, and a dishwasher.
The bed is quite comfortable (we have bad backs).
Poorly designed bathroom vanity and shower (nowhere to put your soap on the vanity, and no shampoo etc. shelf in the shower...and the water splashes / runs off your elbow and onto the tiles, so be careful there.)
Most of the tiled floors are heated - very nice...plus there's good storage space.
Breakfast for us was A La Cart and enough to fill us up without over-filling as we would've probably done if it was a buffet.
Gareth booked us in and was very helpful and friendly (as is all other staff).
Very easy walk to Salamanca Place and the waterfront, although the Inn's on a hill, so the walk back is tiring...especially after a long day...but it's not a problem - just be prepared. :)
Under cover (and exposed) car parking (tight spaces for me - we've hired a mid-sized car so I'm probably not used to its size in these sorts of car parks).

Room Tip: If you're after a queen room, Room 107 is good. Views nothing to write home about, but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaznStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our 1st trip to Hobart. This hotel is central but quiet. You can walk to just about everything. Free laundry facilities, close to good cafes and shops and the waterfront. Lovely staff, good room, comfortable bed. Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing