We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, big room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, big room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The Salamanca Inn is in a great location. A short stroll down the hill to the markets, very close to the MONA ferry, and an easy walk to many good restaurants around the harbour and in Battery Point.
The 2 bedroom apartment was ideal for us, however only having one bathroom which is located upstairs next to the main bedroom could be an issue for some. The kitchen was good, with a large fridge and everything else you would need.
We didn't use the pool area, but had a look and it was sufficient for a hotel in a fairly cool location!
All the staff (reception, housekeeping...) we encountered were really friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mwiddows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    234
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
154
233
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Enjoyed a three night winter stay here in a well appointed double room. We also enjoyed a hot breakfast daily which was included in the overall price. The service by Val was great and the breakfast filling. The room was better than average and serviced daily so overall very impressed. Don't spend a lot of time in Hobart but would stay again if accommodation and breaky deal or similar was available in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent a weekend in Hobart and throughly enjoyed our stay here. Shared an apartment with another couple and found the room very comfortable. Roomy lounge area, great kitchen and lovely balcony with the sun streaming in in the afternoon. Very open and light also. The location was perfect, close to Salamanca Markets and the waterfont. Could walk to anything.

Room Tip: Only three floors but third floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Why choose this hotel over others for the same price?

I come to Hobart alot but have never stayed at this particular place until recently for Dark Mofo.

The basics are all there excellent service, speedy check-in, clean apartments and a central location.

Im also a sucker for Free WIFI.

The real value comes from the small touches in the rooms, we had a king size bed that pointed to a large LCD tv . We did not spend a lot of time in the room but it was nice that on one night we asked for DVD player to watch a film in the morning and the staff wer swift to organise and set it up while we were out for dinner. The shower wasnt the type thats a small drizzle and you feel like you may have been better off with a hose . The room was in the middle of the hotel and we didnt hear one other guest the whole time.

Worth the price for stays less than 4 days. Anything more and id suggest moving around the area into something in the wild more. Tasmania has more to offer !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenjaminJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here a while ago for a work function. My room was great. Good size, clean, modern, I could not ask for more.
I also had a function room booked from a certain time onwards. I was charged a good amount of money and I was disappointed to see the condition of the room. Coffee cups and other rubbish was left behind, they gradually cleaned it but my guests were is the process of arriving. Obviously another company had used the room just before me. But I was told my room would be available from a certain time and my expectation is to have a clean room.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very happy with our stay here. Good service on arrival – fast check in and free car parking. We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment which was well equipped and very clean. The location is brilliant, being only two minutes’ walk to the Salamanca restaurant strip and Salamanca Markets, and only five minutes from the boat to MONA and the incredible Daci & Daci bakers, and 10 minutes to Lark Distillery. Our room didn’t have a view, but given the location, we didn’t spend much time there and the lack of view wasn’t an issue. Would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our two bedroom apartment was perfect for ourselves and our adult son. Very well equipped. Everything in immaculate condition, A two minute walk to Salamanca markets, five minutes to the MONA ferry,huge choice of dining options nearby. The grill and seafood restaurant downstairs was excellent. Huge serves of top quality seafood served by friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andiamo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing