We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay in Hobart”
Review of Salamanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salamanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
672 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay in Hobart”
Reviewed 7 March 2006

In a very central location just minutes from Salamanca Place and the Harbour. There is a large underground car park.

Front desk staff were excellent, only complaint was that we weren't given the HotelClub welcome pack which we subsequently learnt we should have received.

This is an all suite property and the rooms are large with a bedroom, living room and small but well equipped kitchen. Bathroom is also of a good size. This property represents very good value for Hobart. We had no problems with the PC although the WiFi wasn't that fast.

The property also has a lounge, bar and restaurant with a good and varied menu. In addition there is a small indoor pool and spa and laundry facilities on a number of floors.

When planning your trip try and stay here on a Saturday - the local market is very good.

If you book over the internet you will receive one free breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    236
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
155
238
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights in a one bed hotel room which was more like a small apartment/studio with kitchen and lounge area plus the sleeping area.

Location is good for central Hobart and close by plenty of places to eat and drink. The hotel has facilities as well which we did not need to try.

The major problem when we stayed was the PC access. Each room has a computer and they claim wireless networking for each room but this proved extremely unreliable. When we checked in a previous guests account was still showing on the PC and it took several enquiries with reception to get this cleared and although we were assured we would not incur this persons internet download costs on check out they were included on our bill although quickly removed when we pointed out the error. The internet was a reason for staying here as we needed access but is was not only unrealiable but also extremely expensive which almost defeats the point of providing it.

Technology asides, this was a pleasant enough place although not cheap. In the context of Tasmania and Hobart there probably is'nt a great deal of competition though in this category.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dugongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2005

I first stayed at this property roughly 4 years ago. Having just returned I can report that nothing has changed in that time. Yes its well located in Battery Point which is Hobart's most historic precinct and its walking distance to great restaurants, cafes and shops. However the apartments (we stayed in a 2 bedroom) are in need of an update. The lounge furniture is old and tacky and the beds most uncomfortable to sleep in. For this reason I would not stay there again. And they are charging top dollar too.

There are many apartment alternatives that I will try next time. Namely Somerset on the Pier and also a new development Zero Davey which looks great.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Melbourneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2005

We stayed at the Salamanca Inn for 3 nights from 22 - 25 October 2005. We had stayed there before 3 years ago and had a very enjoyable stay.

Overall I still think this is a good hotel in a great location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in the complex across the road from the main hotel which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and a large open plan kitchen, dining and living area. However, I do have some negative comments:

1. We arrived at about 10.30pm on a Saturday night after travelling most of the day from Perth. The restaurant and bar had already closed and the receptionist could only recommend the Irish Murphys bar in Salamanca Place. In fact, that was a loud disco full of drunken teenagers. The only place to eat was a sandwich shop a couple of blocks away. It was only the next day that we found that we could have ordered room service, despite this not being brought to our attention.

2. Salamanca Place is now extremely noisy on Saturday nights with a young, drunken crowd. When we arrived at the entrance to the hotel at 10.30pm a youth was being arrested and handcuffed on the street by police. The noise outside continued until 5am. The next 2 nights were however quiet and peaceful.

It's still a great hotel but I think it is a bit overpriced, and if you are staying on a Saturday night I'd either make sure you have a room at the back of the complex or look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jet Set Jimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2004

My partner and I have just returned from 3 days in Tasmania. We booked accomodation at a highly acclaimed bed & breakfast in Launceston which was comfortable. On our second night we stayed at Salamanca Inn "WOW". Over the last 12 mths we have stayed in Sydney, Apollo Bay, Gembrook, Daylsford, Wye River, yet Salamanca Inn was the most relaxing accomodation we have had the pleasure of staying in, it had everything that we needed and more and the price was fabulous. Thankyou to the staff and the lovely Tasmanian people.

Helpful?
29 Thank tlb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Inn

Property: Salamanca Inn
Address: 10 Gladstone Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#5 Family Hotel in Hobart
#7 Business Hotel in Hobart
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Salamanca Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Inn is a 4.5 star all suite hotel located on the doorstep of the iconic Salamanca Place on the colourful waterfront of Hobart. Indulge in the historical ambience of this area, lined with plane trees and 1830s sandstone Georgian warehouses converted to Hobart's best restaurants, cafes, bars, galleries & speciality shops. All of Hobart's famous landmarks are within a short stroll of the hotel including, historical Sullivans Cove & Battery Point, Salamanca Market (Saturday only), St David's Park, Parliament House, and the city centre. Salamanca Inn offers the intimacy of a boutique hotel, but with the facilities of a much larger establishment. This includes the licensed bar and restaurant, 24 hour reception, swimming pool & spa, dry cleaning service, undercover & secure parking, laundry, wireless broadband internet, conference rooms and secretarial services. All suites offer a superior level of comfort featuring contemporary spacious open plan living area, Fully Equipped kitchen, luxurious bathroom, beautiful Tasmanian Oak and leather furnishings, Tasmanian Artwork, full size desk and 15 Foxtel Channels. Two bedroom suites offer a mezzanine floor and private balcony. One Bedroom suites contain personal computers with access to wireless broadband and 46 inch LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Hotel Hobart
Salamanca Inn Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing