We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great location close to Salamanca Place and the waterfront. Staff are friendly and food is good pub fare - the seafood is a highlight. Rooms are fairly basic but adequate. Front rooms have views of the port area and out to the Derwent. Can be noisy when the pub downstairs is busy. Overall good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sajehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

I only stayed one weeknight but was delighted by the spacious room with sandstone fireplace and heritage features. The view is certainly worth asking for and the generous breakfast made a great start to the day. It's in a wonderful location for accessing Salamanca galleries and shops and just around the corner is the Tasmanian Museum & Art Gallery and Maritime Museum.
The other reviews mentioned noise but I stayed on a Tuesday night which made for a peaceful night's sleep. The only gripe would be the shower heads (I like water saving) but it would be good to be able to get a little wet to get clean!
Otherwise a great hotel to get into the vibe of Hobart's rich history.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Challispalace000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for six nights we could not fault anything , the service was fantastic in every respect , the meals were great , the view from our window of the harbour was to die for , did,nt need the car to go to town , restaurants , boat trips or the Salamanka markets , everything was within easy walking distance , when we fly to Hobart again we would not consider staying at any other location , simply the best.
The only down side was we had to leave.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was given a room on the upper floor with a lovely view looking out over the harbour.

The room was clean, inexpensively furnished with old furniture, with an odd shaped bathroom (when you turn the shower on, water sprays outside of the shower area, so you either have to get in and sprayed with cold water while adjusting temperature, or get water everywhere as you can’t adjust the shower nozzle.) You can also stand under the shower and have a huge part of you not get wet!

Don’t expect to sleep even mid week (even with the window closed). The downstairs bar has outside seating with heaters resulting in lots of yelling and screeching until after the bar closes at 2am and the patrons finally move on.

There is a great selection for breakfast (cold and hot meals) which was included in the room rate.

If you are a partying person this place is great, however, if you like to get some sleep to recharge then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very nicely situated right next to the harbour, good warm welcome and promptly allocated our room, room without a view unfortunately
The bar area is good and frequented with friendly locals, the bar staff are nice too
The restaurant was great, good selection of food, and drinks to match, recommended
The room is a little dated, and could do with a going over, but this is not to detract form the helpful staff and great staff

Room Tip: You will need to ask well in advance for a room with a view, the rooms are large enough and all ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I've stayed here on many occasional and have yet to find a fault with it. Ok perhaps the odd door on top of the stairs is a bit awkward, but there is always the lift! All staff are particularly nice, and very well presented; especially the young ladies serving in the bar which I can not help but notice. Anyways, back on track. This time we got the laste available room which was the smallest and noisiest apparently, and the gent booking us in did warn us. As it was the last room to get booked I was pleased to hear they keep their 'worst room' till last. Well, it wasn't bad at all. Despite it being a Friday night the noise was not that bad. It is a music venue and the band plays till 1am. We enjoyed an hour downstairs listening to the band and I retired at midnight. I could hear them from my room - wishing I had enough energy to go back down! The room may have been cozy, but not pokey. It was not too small at all, and the noise really wasn't that bad at all. May I also add that in my experience the clientele at the bar is generally mature and friendly and not rowdy or unruly. And let's not forget the tasty breakfast downstairs is usually included. The provided instant coffee is lousy but the optional-extra proper coffee is always at the ready. Last but not least; location location location!!! Salamanca, Pier 1, Constitution Dock, Franklin Wharf,... Museums,...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank waltervp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First the good stuff - fabulous location, pleasant staff. We stayed three nights with a break for a trip to Mona and the location is great. Short walk to ferry to MONA, Salamanca markets etc.

However, the room was clean but very shabby. elderly carpet, scratched furniture and the nice arrangement of towels in the bathroom hid a delaminating vanity bench top. And the tv reception was so poor we couldn't watch it the one time we wanted to.

The room was advertised with continental breakfast which turned out to be a boxed cereal and two pieces of toasted sliced bread plus a coffee or juice. You could have something else from the breakfast menu instead but then you had to either pay extra for a real coffee or drink instant, which given the room rate I thought was pretty ordinary.

Room Tip: Top floor as you don't get the hotel noise. You need to be ok with a few stairs though as the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianAndDavid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.3 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Customs House Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Customs House Waterfront Hotel

Address: 1 Murray St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £71 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Customs House Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customs House Waterfront Hotel, built in 1846, has been owned by the Jubb family since 1992. The Jubb’s are 5th generation hoteliers with owners Paul and Karen managing the hotel alongside their children Robert and Emily. Located 2 minutes walk from the Salamanca Markets, Brooke St Pier, Constitution Dock, Pennicott’s Tours, the ferry to MONA Museum and Hobart’s shopping precinct, we have the perfect location for your Waterfront getaway in Hobart. Customs House Hotel is an icon in Hobart. Built in 1846 for one of the early settlers, Charles Gaylor, whose name is carved into the front copping stone, it was named after Customs House (now Parliament House) next door. Affectionately called the “Chop House” it was, and still is, known for a good meal and a soothing ale. We offer 30 warm and charming accommodation rooms upstairs. All recently renovated with new bathrooms and furnishings, the rooms offer a touch of modern in a historic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Customs House Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Customs Hotel Waterfront
Customs House Waterfront Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing