We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woolmers Apartments
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, comfortable”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a queen studio. The room was clean, comfortable and very important for July - it had a fantastic heater! The location was better than expected as it was possible to walk into the heart of Hobart in a very short time. There was a very nice shopping strip in the other direction with supermarkets, fast food, clothing etc. etc. There was ample free parking outside our room and the free Wifi was much appreciated. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. On the downside, the wooden blinds let a fair amount of light in, there could have been an extra downlight in the main area and the bathroom extractor fan seemed to pick up cooking fumes from next door. The bad points seem pretty lame but I included them just to give a balanced view. would I stay there again? Yes. Would I recommend it? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    131
    31
    6
    0
See reviews for
77
102
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent only one night at this place but it was pleasant. The location is great with several restaurants and a few supermarkets close by. The marina, Salamanca market and other attractions were also within walking distance.
We had a two bedrooms apartment on the 1st floor. It was clean, comfortable and warm.

Room Tip: Top floor closer to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We got a very good price for a queen studio. The full kitchen facilities was excellent and it facilitated the preparation of breakfast and lunch. The place is clean and spacious with ample parking almost right outside the apartments which is a rarity that close to the city centre. The availability of tea and coffee making, cutlery, washing facilities and pots. We had a kettle that was a bit mouldy and thus we used the pot to boil water instead. Initially, the wifi password did not work but when asked for a replacement, they gave a new one immediately and it worked perfectly. Wifi is intermittent and pretty weak at times. During our third night there, the hot water turned icy cold and thus my partner had to leave the shower. The positioning of the TV required us to sit at the dinner table to watch it and not on the bed. The location is great, close to Woolies for ease of supermarket shopping. We walked to Salamanca markets as well. Overall, we enjoyed the stay at Woolmers and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelE06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay in the middle of winter, lovely and warm , heating in both room and bathroom , very clean , walking distance to Battery Point , constitution dock and a great early opening Sandy Bay Bakery for breakfast , if needed .
Would stay again , well done Woolmers !!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Service:
Despite arriving really late in the evening it was still very easy to get the key, and checkout of easy and simple.

Room:
The apartment was clean, spacious, and included free Wi-Fi (great!) and cooking facilities. We only had two people in this apartment but it included a single-bed/day-bed so you could had had 3 people if you'd wanted for (what I'd assume the same price as two).

Other:
It was about a 20 minute drive from the airport and the on-site parking is really convenient. It is an easy walk to restaurants, CBD and Battery point if you don't mind walking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The apartment was well appointed and included free Wi-Fi and cooking facilities. Staff were very friendly providing a ground floor unit to accomodate my elderly mother. Although our apartment was close to the main road we did not experience excessive traffic noise. The location is perfect with supermarkets and restaurants close by and Salamanca an easy 15 minute walk. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for one night. It was about a 20 minute drive from the airport and the on-site parking is really convenient. It is an easy walk to restaurants and a Woolworths. The heaters in the rooms work well. Reception were nice and allowed us to check out a little late as our baby was still napping. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If travelling with young children ask for a downstairs room as we found the stairs to the upstairs a...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BlinkyBillQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.6 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.9 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolmers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolmers Apartments

Property: Woolmers Apartments
Address: 123 - 127 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hobart
#12 Family Hotel in Hobart
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolmers Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolmers offers studio double, studio twin & two bedroom, self contained apartment accommodation in Hobart's habourside suburb of Sandy Bay. Our self contained apartments offer good value accommodation with the flexibility to cater for yourself. Each apartment has: Kitchen facilities FREE off street parking FREE cable TV FREE WI-FI internet LCD televisions Direct dial telephones Continental breakfast packs available from reception for only $3.50 Per person Woolmers is located in Hobart's fashionable suburb of Sandy Bay & is only minutes from the city centre, the lively waterfront, popular Wrest Point Casino, famous Salamanca Place and historic Battery Point. Our Hobart accommodation is close to restaurants, antique shops and craft stores. Woolmers Apartments is only minutes by car to the city, MONA - Hobart's fabulous Museum of Old & New Art, Wrest Point Casino as well as all of Hobart's conference venues & attractions. Woolmers Apartments is 2 km from Hobart's city centre and is in close walking distance to Salamanca Market, Hobart's waterfront precinct, University of Tasmania & the city centre. We offer great value, self contained accommodation which gives you the flexibility to come and go as you wish and will make your visit to Hobart as stress-free and easy as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woolmers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Woolmers Hotel Hobart
Woolmers Hotel Hobart
Woolmers Motel Hobart
Woolmers Apartments Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing