We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Selina and the staff were wonderful.”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Selina and the staff were wonderful.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Not too far from the city centre is this absolute gem of a hotel. The grounds are immaculate and the fit out was lovely. Selina and the staff were wonderfully welcoming and the accommodation was top notch. Seriously wonderful service and the dining crew were amazing! Thanks Joe, Ash, Megan and Sara for the lovely dining experiences!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-Schwaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
It was our pleasure to host you - so pleased you enjoyed the service, food and ambience. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back next time you're in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    35
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
318
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Coast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

From the moment you pulled up at the door, Nothing was ever a problem. Tea and breakfast were of a great standard. The decor very homely. Lovely sitting by the fire place with a glas of wine. Management and staff really couldnt do enough for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluewaterCoffsCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased you felt at home with us and hope we have the chance to spoil you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The must be one of the best places we have ever stayed. The service was exemplary, nothing was too much trouble and the staff really seemed to enjoy service us. The room was outstandingly comfortable. We especially enjoyed the stunning architecture of the observatory extension where a superb breakfast was provided each day, cooked to order. The works of art around the place are simply stunning and add to the feeling of a private house. We liked the touch of our own iPad in the room.

Room Tip: Take the signature room if you ca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our small team take enormous pride in the house and we do love to go the extra mile for our guests. I agree the bespoke breakfasts are a highlight and I'm glad you liked the convenience of the iPad in your room, a recent addition (with complimentary Wi-Fi internet of course!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Staying at the Islington - is like stepping back in time into the history of the beautiful Building - and appreciating the wonderful way it has been embellished with the renovations over time and the art work. There is nothing quite like watching the snow on Mt wellington while sitting by a fire and enjoying the casual atmosphere. Its like no other. When yu stay - eat in- and sit near Joe for a great food ,wine and chat experience.

Room Tip: The gardenview rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
How lovely to welcome you back once more this year, and how kind of you to take the time to post a review again. The chef's table is a popular option at dinner and with the Library, Rose Room and of course the main Conservatory space you really are spoiled for choice. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Wow...that's was our reaction when we walked into the Islington, the place is stunning. The decor, art works and rooms are a sight to behold. We were lucky enough to stay in the Signatute Room, which is even more beautiful if possible!

The service by the staff was impressive, very attentive and professional.

If you get a chance to have dinner here please do, it was the best meal we had in Hobart.

What an awesome way to start off our holiday in Tasmania and our Honeymoon, our only regret is that we only stayed 2 nights.

Many thanks to all the staff

Tony & Kehlsa

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kehlsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks Tony and Kehlsa for your kind words. I'm so pleased you had a great start to your honeymoon and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your Tassie visit. See you in a year for your anniversary?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondiAustralia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a fabulous time here, the staff were awesome and if you do have the pleasure to stay here have dinner here as well, Joe made us a fabulous dinner and was way better than the degustation at Ethos, that was amateur in comparison.
If I had one quibble, I thought the attic room was a bit small but very cosy all the same.

Room Tip: Attic rooms a tad small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTonsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed our brand new spring a la carte menu, Jonathan has crafted some wonderful dishes for our guests showcasing the best Tasmania has to offer in the spring. We hope you will be back soon to try our summer menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife tells me I should write "perfect in every way". Hard to argue with her, really.

This stunning boutique hotel makes you feel like you're staying at the country manor of some generous friend (a friend who has premium taste and is well-resourced). Not in a weird way - the service is attentive but very discrete so you will be left alone if that is what you want.

We highly recommend staying in for dinner.

It is located a slightly out of the centre of town (it took us about 25 minutes to walk - all downhill - to Salamanca Place from the hotel). However, if you like walking or if you have a car or are happy to get cabs, then the location is not a problem. Really, why would you want to leave anyway?

Room Tip: The Wellington Room, appropriately, has a wonderful view of Mount Wellington - we awoke to a stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enivedblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It's so lovely when our guests feel at home, this is exactly the type of experience we strive to create here at Islington. All the serenity of a luxurious country home, and yet only a five minute taxi ride into town - if you can drag yourself away that is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Property: Islington Hotel
Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing