We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is superb at the Islington Hotel”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I along with another couple stayed three nights at the Islington Hotel in Hobart, Tasmania the end of February, 2014. The hotel is beautifully appointed with art and quiet sitting rooms. Our room was lovely with bath salts provided. The chef prepared a delicious dinner for our first night there. The rental car was helpful as we drove to Mt. Wellington with its gorgeous views of the ocean and the city. We drive to the Port Arthur Penal Colony and also had a fabulous tour of the Women's Factory with Louisa's Walk. All in all we were so glad we went to Tasmania and stayed at the Islington. The staff went out of their way to be helpful also.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks Emily E, I'm glad you and your friends had such a great stay and our staff looked after you so well. Our collection of original artworks from Tasmania and around the world, lovingly put together over many years by our owners, if one if the hidden surprises of an Islington stay. What with the four gorgeous sitting rooms and your own personal chef preparing your meals, many guests find they don't want to leave the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

If in a garden room the views out across the courtyard to the mountain are excellent. The rooms are large and very comfortable as are the bathrooms. Public areas are beautifully restored and the open kitchen for breakfast talking with the chef was a highlight.About 10 minutes walk down to the waterfront area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If in a garden room the views out across the courtyard to the mountain are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the tranquility and comfort of one of our Garden Rooms. All six of them overlook the rose and rhododendron garden and many have lovely views of Mount Wellington. Thank you for your recommendation and kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you find yourself in Tasmania you must stay here. We traveled for 33 days in Australia and New Zealand and the Islington was by far the most amazing hotel . Lovely inside, lovely folks to welcome you. Food what ever you want. About a mile a mile walk into town. Small and in touch with the surround. Do it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannetteMeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank so much Jeannette! We are extremely flattered to have been the highlight of your Antipodean holiday. I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you back in our part of the world again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I found the Islington Hotel an interesting experience and a special treat. Its not cheap so you have to judge yourselves if its worth the asking price. The location is a way out of the city centre and a steep walk up the hill. I thought the IPad in the room was a nice touch but unfortunately it didn't work. There was mention of a complimentary mini-bar but it only contained water and apple juice so I couldn't see the point in that, having a glass of wine would have been a nice touch. We ate in the hotel, whilst nice it wasn't a fantastic meal, beer and wine was good

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for your feedback Dave. I'm concerned to hear about your iPad - as I didn't receive any reports about iPads not working I can only assume staff weren't notified at the time. The guest computer in the Morning Room is always available to guests, as is the iPad in the main conservatory and I do hope these options were offered to you. The minibars in our Signature and Regency Rooms do contain Tasmanian wine and beer, in the Garden and Attic Rooms the minibar offering is non alcoholic. Of course, the honour bar in the conservatory is only a short stroll away for those seeking a tipple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Islington for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room was beautiful with a great bathroom.The rest of the hotel was incredibly stylish and comfortable. The service was excellent and we felt like we were staying in a friend's house who responded to our every request. In particular, we ate dinner twice at the hotel and the chef made us a dish. not on the menu so we did not have to eat the same food two nights running. Breakfast was also great with a wide choice - anything cooked we liked!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

It's lovely to hear that you felt so at home with us. The feeling of staying in a friend's home is often remarked on as a feature of staying with us at Islington. Terrific to hear also that you were well looked after at breakfast and dinner, it's worth noting that our chefs are always very pleased to prepare special dishes that may not be on the menu. Just let us know the day before and provided it's in season we will be happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We arrived around 10pm and were welcomed as if it was 10am! And it carried on like that for our 4 day stay - nothing appeared to be too much trouble and every detail seemed to have been covered. The place is full of antiques and interesting art, so much so that there is a list of the contents in each room and some of the pieces are stunning. The staff were on the ball, personable and friendly. It is a short way out of town but we enjoyed the walk (I confess downhill, we took taxis going back!) - just the best boutique hotel experience. We both wished our stay was longer and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you both so much for the lovely words about your stay. You've captured all the elements that make an Islington stay so special - warmth, friendliness, attention to detail, art and antiques! We hope to see you back with us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Infact all rooms smelled when the kitchen started cooking at 7.30 sharp in the morning and starting at around 5 when they started to prepare for dinner ... came this reply when I called to enquire about it. The same happened everyday during my 3 days there. The rest of it was great. Be my guest if that's your liking. Btw, the breakfast cook (a lady) and Sarah ~ thumbs up for their services.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

I was concerned to hear from staff that there were cooking smells in your room. We have had our brand new rangehood looked at since your stay and a new flue system has been installed to minimise any odour in guest rooms. Thanks for letting us know about this and I'm pleased you enjoyed the service Natalie and Sarah provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.1 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £195 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing