We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations - truly 5*”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place is fantastic. From the welcome right through to our departure the staff were relaxed and friendly, the rooms were gorgeous and the overall property was incredibly inviting. It was so nice to have so many additional areas to sit and relax, especially in front of some lovely log fires. Brekkie was delicious and the finishing touches (bedtime tea) really made it a lovely experience!

It really is a 5 star experience, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrySpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for such kind words Kerry. I'm pleased you enjoyed the Islington Dream tea as part of our turndown service. It's made for us locally by the Art of Tea and is a favourite purchase with departing guests keen for a good night's sleep at home as well as here at Islington! I hope we see you next time you're in our part of the world. We will keep a spot for you by the fire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beautiful small boutique hotel with wonderful attentive staff. We stayed in a very comfortable and spacious Regency room. Loved all of the little extras such as the yummy biscuits and mini muffins with a cup of tea on returning from a day out around Hobart. Breakfast was fabulous - the conservatory is a great space - love the open fire. Lots of different guest lounges to relax in so you don't have to feel that you can't leave your room. Would defintely stay again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great. The room we stayed in faced the street - no need to worry about street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaH274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you gave the sweet treats a special mention! We love to include these goodies, along with fresh fruit, espresso coffee and T2 tea as part of your rate. Our chefs do like to outdo each other with their baking - the current question in the Conservatory at afternoon teatime is who makes the nicest meringues? I do hope you can come again soon and help us decide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say but this was such a beautiful place to stay, such lovely friendly staff and all so happy to help. I arrived having spent a few days in a van bobbing around the north of Tasmania and I was in desperate need of some creature comforts, and this place privided that in spades. From the big comfy bed and well needed rain shower to the stunning view of the mountains, to a sumptuous meal (thanks Joe) and a knock out bottle of wine (thanks Alex) everything I wanted was right here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words Rob, we were so pleased to be able to provide a luxurious experience for you after you'd been "roughing it" around our beautiful state. Many guests like to come to us after exploring Tassie's wilderness or perhaps taking the Maria Island walk, and having a big deep bath and a glass of award winning Tasmanian wine in your hand by the fire at Islington is just the ticket after all that exertion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A year ago my wife & I stayed five nights in this lovely spot and we are pleased to see all of the great reviews and awards that it greatly deserves. Few places make you yearn to return. This is one! Too bad it is so far away!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

How lovely that you remember your stay with such fondness, DJ. I agree Canada is a little far to just "pop in," but thank you so much from all of us for your kind words and I hope we meet again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Set in lovely gardens, with a pear tree, pond and views to Mount Wellington, The Islington cannot fail to impress. All the pubic rooms and bedrooms are furnished with antiques, huge and very comfortable beds, original artworks and lovely fabrics. The amazing glass - room that has been added to the original stonework has a fireplace and the dining area. An honesty bar and sitting in front of the fire were a great way to start the evening. Dinner was a great showcase of seasonal, local produce, with very good Tasmanian wines to match. Service was friendly and knowledgable. The only downside is that it is a 15-20 minute walk into the city - we walked down the hill to the Salamanca Markets, but made sure we got a taxi back. This is a seriously lovely hotel and I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Regency Room on the ground floor is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for posting such a lovely review Kriselda. Many guests prefer to stroll into town and get a taxi back, especially if laden with purchases from Salamanca market! I'm pleased you liked our garden, do come back and see us in late summer when you'll be able to try Natalie's plum jam made from fruit from our own trees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I have just had 3 nights at this amazing hotel. It is hard to know where to start, as there are so many great things about this place. Staff were excellent, helpful, friendly. Our room was in the top of the old part of the hotel (the original house) and was large, everything you would want in a hotel room. IPad on the desk to use,free WIFI, lounge chairs, fantasic bed, huge bathroom, with separate large tub in the middle and separate shower room and toilet, double basins and heated floor and a free mini bar.
The first night we ate at their restaurant, which was simply superb, a small menu, but chef will do any combination you wish, nothing is a problem. We has local salmon and beef, just beautiful. They have wines and spirits by the glass in the attached bar, which has an honesty system, so pour youself and mark it down. The restaurant is in a large glassed conservatory at the back of the property and also has lounges and a big log fire. Breakfast is also served here and starts with their house made museli, followed by any cooked breakfast you want.
Although it is not right in the city of Hobart, it is easy to drive down to Salamanca for dinner at night and park free, after 6pm. Otherwise a pleasant 20 min walk down the hill. Taxi back to the hotel is only $8.
We have stayed in many excellent hotels around the world, and this is definately the best boutique hotel we have stayed in. Thanks for a great stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a regency room at the top of the old house, faces the street, but is quiet and has the bigges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

There's something to love about each of our three Regency Rooms - and you've certainly hit one one of the most popular features of the Holebrook Room, the bathroom! Thank you for your kind comments about your experience with us and we'll see you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend in early March, travelling from Central Queensland. From the first moment you arrive the experience is amazing, the rooms and view of Mt Wellington delightful, the staff outstanding, the dining experience was wonderful. Make sure you eat at least one dinner in to experience it. The hotel is well positioned and we can recommend the easy walk down the Hobart Rivulet area. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

What a wonderful time of year you chose to visit us from Queensland, with the autumn colours looking so beautiful. The tree lined Rivulet walk must have been a picture! Thank you so much for your kind words about your Islington experience, I'm happy to hear you dined in and that you were well looked after. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
794 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
459 reviews
1.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £212 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing