We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Excellence”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

From the moment you arrive, to the moment that you leave (reluctantly!), the service and the experience at the Islington is absolutely first rate. We arrived first thing in the morning, too early for our room to be ready, but we were able to store our bags, were given a tour and even though we couldn't check in properly, we were allowed the run of the hotel. The coffee in the lounge is excellent and the setting with the view of Mount Wellington is stunning. With the open fires around the hotel, it didn't feel cold at any point, despite the sub-zero temperatures outside.

The room itself was lovely. The quality of the fittings, the bed and how well appointed the room was added to the feeling of luxury. This includes an iPad for your hotel directory and to give information about what is in the surrounding area. It was hard to leave the room to explore the rest of the city!

The staff are on hand to help you out, without being intrusive and at points you feel like the only people in the hotel. Breakfast was really good, with a good selection and dinner was fantastic, with a menu full of local and seasonal produce.

Even if the hotel is a bit outside the city, it just means it's quieter and more relaxed. Plus it's only a 20 minute walk to Salamanca market so you're not too far away from the action. When we come back to Hobart, I don't think we'll look at any other hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowEuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

How nice to hear an overseas visitor is already planning their next trip back to Hobart! International travellers often arrive off morning flights and we do aim to get you into your room as soon as possible, but of course you have the run of the hotel and the four gorgeous sitting rooms to relax and enjoy coffee and muffins while you wait. Guests often comment on how hard it is to drag themselves away, but I'm pleased to hear you made it to Salamanca Market! I hope we see you again very soon, with all the exciting new developments planned for the Hobart waterfront, we're a town worth revisiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Islington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

On our travels around Tasmania, my husband and I ended our trip with 3 nights at the Islington to celebrate our anniversary. What an amazing boutique hotel. This is a private and intimate accommodation experience. We stayed in the Signature room, the hotel's largest suite. It was nothing short of spectacular. Incredibly spacious, huge king sized comfortable bed, gorgeous bathroom with large tub and a rain shower, overall a beautifully appointed room. It was the little touches like pretty bags to store the hair dryer and iron, or the delicious sparkling water in the fridge that was complimentary that made all the difference. The carpet was lush, the underfloor heating decedent.

The rest of the hotel was no less impressive. Some gorgeous sitting rooms full of interesting art and quiet comfortable spaces to sit and read or chat. The kitchen and dining area are amazing, a beautiful sun room with a big open fire and views out to the back garden and Mt Wellington. The food is top rate, although expensive, but it adds to the whole experience. We also loved that the chef makes fresh complimentary treats every day which meant we could help ourselves to delicious biscuits and cakes or muffins whenever we were feeling peckish.

The staff were wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble. The entire place reeks of comfort and sophistication, and we often found it hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to enjoy Hobart. We would highly recommend this venue to any traveller who likes comfort and quality and isn't afraid to pay for it. We fully intend to stay here next time we are in Hobart. Frankly, we can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Happy travels!

Room Tip: The Signature room is definitely a special occasion treat so don't skimp, it's well worth it...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jai and Victori... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your anniversary stay so much and thank you for such a lovely review. We are very fortunate in our beautiful old 1847 house with the elegance its original features, enhanced by the addition of our sun drenched conservatory space. But it is the little touches, as you point out, that make a stay memorable and we love to spoil guests with freshly baked treats, fresh fruit and espresso coffee and T2 teas at morning and afternoon teatime. Thanks again and see you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Islington which was booked out for a wedding and it was an excellent venue, as long as you want a small wedding.
The Islington is very charming with some lovely sitting rooms with open fires which is fantastic in the winter. I had the attic room which has a view over the modern dinning area and a bit of a view of Mount Wellington. It is a small room but well appointed and lovely bathroom. It is fine for a couple if you don't mind squeezing a bit, and from what I saw it was the smallest room in the hotel so there are plenty of other options with more space.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There was a nice breakfast menu but if you wanted something done differently there was no problem. Evening meals were great as well, and if you are still after a drink when the staff have knocked off there is an honesty system where you keep your own tally of what you have consumed and it will be added to your bill in the morning.
There are 2 sitting rooms, each with quite different decor, and there is the library. There are a couple of couches by the large open fire in the main dining area as well so plenty of areas to lounge around in rather than your room. If the weather is fine there is very nice gardens you can spend a bit of time in.
The Islington does not do lunch but they can direct you to a couple of local options. It is a roughly 20 minute walk into the Salamanca Markets, passing 2 pubs on the way, and there are plenty of eating options there. It will take longer to walk back to the Islington as it is all pretty much up hill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrScotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We do love a winter wedding and it was lovely to have your party take over the hotel and enjoy yourselves so much. Having a guest limit of 22 people means we can really focus on looking after you and it sounds as if the staff did just that. Your comments echo the feeling a lot of our guests report to us of being in your own home, only with a team of people to wait on you! I should point out that although there is not a chef at lunchtime, we do offer a snack menu all day of soup, toasted sandwiches, cheese or oysters. I'm pleased to hear you ventured out and enjoyed some of the lively character of Salamanca and surrounds, just a short walk away. Do come back and see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic from start to finish, stunning decor, gorgeous rooms and friendly welcoming staff. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone needing a relaxing getaway. The food for dinner and breakfast was delicious! My only slight (and it is slight) criticism is checkout being at 10am, while I didn't find this was strictly enforced, is a little too early, especially on a Sunday. Overall a great experience!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alexander_S973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

I'm delighted you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the food, decor and ambience. Next time do ask us for a late checkout, it's not a problem in most cases. Guests who have late flight are also very welcome to relax in the public rooms or store their bags and come back later for afternoon tea or an early supper before their flight. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Interesting place with great art but not worth the money- you could stay in much greater luxury for half the price elsewhere in Hobart. I would suggest this is more 4 than 5 star. Too far out of town that is hopeless if you don't have a car especially with Tassie's great winter weather. Save your money and stay in many of the more interesting accommodation options in Hobart around Salamanca Place and the Harbour.

Room Tip: Go for the Attic room as there is not a great deal of difference based on how long you stay in your...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank 32Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find the level of luxury you were expecting at our property, we are the only property in Hobart rated 5 stars by AAA Tourism. It's true that we are a little way out of town (20 minutes walk or 5 minutes in a taxi) which suits many travellers who enjoy the quiet tranquility of the house and gardens. And as you point out we only cater for children aged 15 and over, and I'm glad you enjoyed that aspect. For those wishing to be right in the heart of Hobart, another property may well be more suitable. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the moment House Manager Salena answered our desperate phone call to her warm handshake as we said goodbye we felt completely nurtured and cared for, all in a stunning property with the finest of finishes. A boutique hotel (11 rooms only) the service was personalised, but never familiar. Our waiter that served dinner was an art student who was passionate about explaining the beautiful works of art that adorned every space in both the public and private spaces. Our breakfast, included in the tariff, was delivered to our suite as we really needed a relaxing start to our day. The freshly made muffins, biscuits tea and coffee that are offered 24 hours a day were appreciated. Fresh flowers in our room, the local cheeses served to us in the drawing room after dinner, the house blended tea left on our bed to retire with were just some of the touches that made this a truly memorable stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had one of the Garden rooms on the mid level which gave us sensational views to the sunrise over...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm glad we were able to turn desperation into delight! I love that you enjoyed breakfast in your room and some of our wonderful array of local cheeses in the Morning Room. We're only too pleased to wait on our guests in any of the public spaces, and the Morning Room is proving very popular after dinner, especially now we have our new shagreen backgammon set. See you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Being greeted by the lovely Serina was the first indication that we were about to experience 'special'. The building itself is amazing, full of artworks, gorgeous furnishings and open fires. Our attic room did not disappoint and maintained the high standard of the reception rooms. Gorgeous ensuite with waffle weave robes and quality products. We hadn't planned to dine in-house, but the menu convinced us otherwise. A delightful meal and delightful service. I'm glad we left the 'best to last' in Hobart, and the Islington did not disappoint.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janine2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selina S, House Manager at Islington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

How kind of you to give us such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to look after you and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the Attic Room - it's the warmest room in the house in winter being right by the central fireplace, so cosy! I'm also pleased to hear you stayed in for dinner, a delicious winter's meal by the open fire in the conservatory, with perhaps a glass or two of beautiful Tassie Pinot Noir, is our recipe for the best night's sleep ever. And best of all, bed is only a short walk away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.5 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 48 in Hobart
264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
582 reviews
1.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £181 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing