We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montgomery YHA Hobart”
Review of Hobart Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hobart Central YHA
Ranked #42 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Really nice hostel, helpfull staff. Kitchen a little bit small and the rooms are cold in the wintertime, the rest ist perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aykay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Staff were really friendly and helpful! Room was very clean but bathroom was so cold. Location was convenient. In general it was quiet, simple, clean and friendly. A great place to use as a base when doing day trips around the area.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank PuffinRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Nice clean hostel, dorms can Bd on third floor with no lift but good value for money, friendly staff and fellow guests. A good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snibbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I liked this hostel, I think its the best in Hobart in terms of cleanliness however the kitchen and lounge are very small for the size of the hostel, if you want to socialise and meet lots of people, this probably isn't the place for you, the lack of space just doesn't allow! Rooms are great though and every bed has its own light which is a bonus. Bathrooms are also super clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful. Great stay.

Tip: All the small dorms are on the 3rd floor however I would recommend staying in the larger 12 person dorm on the 1st floor, its spacious and comfortable and you only have to walk one flight of stairs with your luggage as they don't have a lift!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip_so_far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My wife and I stayed in a double ensuite bedroom using the YHA option. We were pleased to find the room clean and comfortable. The room was kinda small, but we weren't complaining given the price we paid. One major drawback was the lack of an elevator - we had to carry our luggage up a couple of floors, as well as climb those stairs each time we needed to get out. It's not an issue if you are fit (which we were), but I can see it as being a hindrance if mobility is an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Styayed here for a week recently in a family room and the whole place is very clean. External bathrooms with individual toilet/shower and vanity were a great idea for privacy, always avaliable and cleaned daily. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The only drawback are the creaky floorboards. People walking around in the adjacent rooms to yours will sound like they are in your own room, the walls are paper thin. Cost us about $45 a night so pretty good value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinarules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Initially booking a room for myself with shared bathroom facilities, I was very pleased to have the gentleman (pictured) upgrade my room to an en suite with TV and coffee/tea making facilities at no extra cost.

Very helpful with local knowledge and also, I wasn't charged to have my bag stored (after check out), as I roamed the city for a day.

Highly recommended as an option for those seeking single room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank riffage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#16 of 47 in Hobart
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
0.5 mi away
The Pickled Frog
The Pickled Frog
#9 of 55 in Hobart
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobart Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart Central YHA

Address: 9 Argyle St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £39 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hobart Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very centrally located YHA hostel will help you enjoy the sights of Hobart. Walk to the harbour and Salamanca. Choice of multi-share and private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hobart Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Central YHA Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing