We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean budget accommodation”
Review of Hobart Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hobart Central YHA
Ranked #39 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed in a double room for two nights. Clean room. Fresh towels each day. Excellent shower / bathroom facilities (great shower pressure & lots of hot water). Well equipped kitchen. Helpful & friendly staff. Downside - above a bar, so very loud music audible from below if staying on a Friday or Saturday night. Overall decent budget accommodation - I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Hobart Central YHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

I'm not much of a backpacker, but stayed here and thought it was fantastic! The only downfall was the rude girl at the front desk. I stayed in a 6 bed room and there was space for everyone and their bags - the bathrooms were close an lots of them, never having to wait for a shower. A bigger kitchen would be nice as 2 people cooking at once was enough let alone more - overall lovely place

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Spacious dorms, lovely clean bathrooms, and most of the staff seemed nice and friendly. Really good location, 2 minutes to the waterfront, 2 minutes to the supermarket. Unfortunately there was only one small lounge area, and the kitchen was TINY for the number of people trying to use it.

Room Tip: Some rooms are over the bar, which can get noisy with the karaoke at weekends!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightyearsfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Close to the waterfront,10 min walk to Salamanca. Woollies and shopping centre 5 mins away. Stayed in a private ensuite room was very big and comfortable. Would stay again great area and restaurants are very close

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Montgomery's is well located, it is clean and has friendly and capable staff, it has large 'single person' bathrooms which are more like a hotel than a hostel and yet it still falls short. The kitchen is amongst the smallest have seen, I was actually slightly shocked at just how small. It has no lift, only a narrow and steep staircase, which as previously pointed out, I feel to be potentially dangerous carrying a large backpack. Though the bathrooms are great, there aren't enough of them, and in the morning it can be a struggle to find a free one.

Despite looking great, for me there are far too many practical things that let down this hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcgregor7419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We had a double ensuite (# 21) with the bedroom being small but functional and the bathroom quite new. There was a fridge in our room but we used the common kitchen downstairs. It was well equipped but far too small for the crowds of people and it had no recycling at all - sad for a YHA hostel with their usual focus on sustainability.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

First off the staff at this hostel were all excellent, very friendly and helpful.

The were just two significant drawbacks however:
The kitchen was far too small for the number of people the hostel could accommodate and very poorly laid out.
It is on a main street and was therefore quite noisy till late and again early in the morning.

Also we were three adults in a family room with no ensuite and, while there was good storage there was only just about enough space to move about.

Overall it was a bit pricey for the facilites available, especially as we were informed that the prices were going up over the holiday period.

Room Tip: Ask for one off the main drag.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#17 of 48 in Hobart
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpackers Imperial Hotel
0.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argyle Accommodation
Argyle Accommodation
#15 of 54 in Hobart
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nook Backpackers
The Nook Backpackers
#7 of 54 in Hobart
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pickled Frog
The Pickled Frog
#12 of 54 in Hobart
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobart Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart Central YHA

Address: 9 Argyle St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £55 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hobart Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very centrally located YHA hostel will help you enjoy the sights of Hobart. Walk to the harbour and Salamanca. Choice of multi-share and private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hobart Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Central YHA Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing