We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Hobart.”
Review of Salamanca Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salamanca Terraces
Ranked #13 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We have recently stayed at Salamanca Terraces for the second time. The first time was in December 2011 in a penthouse apartment (which had air conditioning), this time we were in a one bedroom apartment (not penthouse). The staff are very accommodating, the apartments are generally very well appointed, very clean, and in an excellent location but they would not be our choice in summer or during hot weather. No air conditioning, but you are provided with two pedestal fans. Great choice of centrally located, clean, comfortable accommodation but in cooler weather (they do have heating), we won't stay in summer again. If you are a light sleeper, the garbage trucks will wake you most mornings at 5.15am (or 7.15am on Sundays). But we were there for the Wooden Boat Festival, so perhaps in quieter times they are not as frequent.

Room Tip: I would think the higher the better (those on ground level could end up right beside the car park).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegGoldCoastQld_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Clean and comfortable accommodation with all the modern amenities provided. For such magnificent location they provided us with great value. The apartment was very roomy and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. We contacted the hotel afterwards as we had left some jewelry. They immediately took action to find it and sent it to us. Great service. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in this lovely apartment of the fourth floor for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Run by Lenna's Hotel, we found reception and housekeeping to be top class. The rather firm mattress we softened by using the quilt under us. The apartment had plenty of space with a full kitchen and well appointed bathroom. With a balcony and four opening windows, we had plenty of ventilation. On Salamanca PLace, we were just around the corner from restaurants, galleries and a small supermarket. A 10 minute walk saw us at the Hobart dock area. The rooms have high speed internet available for a fee, however near reception is a computer and printer with free internet for guests to use. http://www.salamancaterraces.com.au/

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Overall the one bedroom apartment had an average amount of space and was reasonably clean. Housekeeping will make up rooms/change linen each day if required. Location is excellent, very close to Salamanca Place with all its restaurants and shops. The downside of this is the noise from the street - like other reviewers I too heard the bottles at 4am followed by a street sweeper truck which sounded like a Boeing 747 outside the window at 5am. Not the most relaxing start to the day!

I also found the bed to be very hard, probably not much different from sleeping on the floor. I would not recommend Salamanca Terraces to other travellers until the reviews indicate that new, more comfortable beds have been installed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brizvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My apartment was spacious, the carpet had been renewed and the location was great for nightlife and the weekend market. That was he good news.

Bottles were collected at 4:00 am (or maybe that's when restaurants put them out), party noise continued through the night or at least until the street cleaning crew arrived at 5:00am and nearby building works started early.

The apartment furnishings were old and uncomfortable, service staff missed obvious things and there was no desk or working space other than the dining table.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Good location, but found the "studio apartment" was more correctly is a "motel room with a microwave and sink". Very small. No air condtioning, and the blurb says that windows open so that "guests can experience the fresh Tasmanian air" - OK< but we actually experienced street noise, petrol and diesel fumes!

We looked at a one bedroom apartment while the cleaners were there, and it was much nicer, so perhaps don't stay in a studio unless you know what to expect. And a room at Lennna of Hobart is probably a better choice for the same money.

No issues with housekeeping, they were efficient and friendly; except that the window sills were very grubby with dirty fuel residuals.

Room Tip: Studio not reccommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Fantastic spot as so close to Salamanca Market and great restaurants. The 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and had everything a family of 4 needed. The negatives were that external noises and a very hard bed made it hard to sleep and the rooms could have been a bit cleaner - dirty marks on light switches and around door handles.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 47 in Hobart
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Terraces

Address: 93 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £92 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salamanca Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salamanca Terraces offers modern self contained and fully serviced accommodation located right on Salamanca Place in the picturesque and historic Sullivan’s Cove waterfront precinct of Hobart.The stylish contemporary apartments include Studios, 1 Bedroom apartments, 2 Bedroom Townhouses, 2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom apartments and 1 Bedroom Penthouse apartments. The 1 Bedroom, 2 Bedroom and Penthouse Apartments have fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. The Penthouse Apartments and 2 Bedroom Townhouses also have balconies.Rooms are serviced daily and we cater for both overnight and long term stays. Foxtel TV and High speed Broadband Internet is available in all rooms. Salamanca Terraces also offer FREE off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Salamanca Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Terraces Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing