We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gattonside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great place, friendly professional staff. Will visit again. Beautiful old building wonderfully restored . Great breakfast and guest lounge. Much better than a standard Hotel.and very good value. An easy walk to Salamanca Place and interesting cages etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annekMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear annekMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We are really proud with our team, they work really hard to ensure that every guest's stay is both comfortable and memorable. We absoulutely agree that our breakfasts are second to none, and the convenience of a spacious guest lounge is fantastic.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

This property was recommended to us as we had to 'fill' in one night while in Hobart - have to agree with everything that we were told. It is a magnificent building & you can just imagine living there just after it had been built..interesting feature are the architects plans of the house which have been framed & hung on the hallway walls. Our reservation was for the Saturday night - & as Reception is only 'open' during working hours, we had received instructions to access the property, then collect our key along with room details. This all worked to plan. We were allocated what used to be the 'staff quarters' at the top of the stairs at the back of the building. I must say that it was lovely and quiet with the most comfy bed. There are a number of good value restaurants within walking distance along Hampden Rd along with a Hotel pretty much across the road. Breakfast, whilst there was no choice in the cooked part, was very adequate - but the choice of fruits etc more than made up for any possible disappointment. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Should you be a light sleeper, I think that you could get some traffic noise in the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay!

We absolutely agree that Gattonside is a beautiful historic home, and we are very lucky to have the hand drawn plans by Henry Hunter framed and on our walls for our guests to see. We offer an independant check in, so guests can arrive at their leisure and let themselves into what is essentially their home for the duration of their stay. If we are not on site at Gattonside we are at one of our other properties and we are always just a phone call away if anyone needs any assistance.

I'm pleased that you had a good night's sleep and found the room very quiet and private. We have a range of rooms to choose from so guests who would prefer a very quiet room are well accommodated for.

Next time you stay with us please do let us know how you would like your eggs - and we will be happy to prepare your breakfast as you like it.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside,

Regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here, great location, easy to get to, good parking, great breakfast. Not sure about other people's comments on the traffic noise, we didn't notice it, you are in the city after all. We had the room at the end, nice view of the old oak tree (room 404), good size, decoration a little dated but then that's kinda the house anyway. We were after some history and character and you certainly got that with modern day comforts

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Suite 4 is a beautiful room, and the bay window is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the garden view. We are lucky to have 5 Trees of Significance on the property, and the grand old oak tree outside Suite 4 and the breakfast room is one of them.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to Gattonside next time you are visitng Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A lovely old house in a great location that is very central. The staff were incredibly friendly and useful - as good as it gets. What dragged this place down was (a) the noise - its on a very busy road and the place doesn't have double glazing and it badly needs it. The plumbing isn't too quiet either, and (b) the beds were oh so hard. I could also feel the ribs on the electric blankets. I can still feel my sore back. Other than that the food was lovely, the atmosphere relaxed, with easy parking. The decor is a little old school but that sort of thing is very much personal taste.

Room Tip: on the top floor but not on the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravellTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. The team here work really hard to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience and I will pass on your compliments to them.

Undoubtably, these beautiful historic Heritage Listed buildings come with their challenges. We are really lucky to be in a fantastic location - right on the fringe of historic Battery Point.

We have some lovely rooms facing the other side of the property and for your next stay please let us know if you would prefer one of these rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you to Gattonside when you are next in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Gattonside is centrally located, close to downtown and the market.
Rooms are a little small. It is a historic house and that is to be expected
There is no wi-fi.
However, the breakfast is great.
People were really pleasant.
The porch outside was wonderful to sit and relax.
But the location is what makes this place wonderful--
Everyone's reviews above are all correct.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a fabulous location and it's great to be able to walk in to the city, Salamanca and through Battery Point.

Gattonside does offer complimentary Wi Fi to all guests, I'm very sorry that you were not made aware of this during your stay. Undoubtably, we agree that these wonderful historic and Heritage Listed buildings do come with their challenges!

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Gattonside next time you are visitng Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed two nights at this b and b and enjoyed the accommodation. The location was fantastic - we didn't need to use our car the whole weekend - it is within easy walking distance of sandy bay, battery point, salamanca and city. The room was good - clean, with a very comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Did notice some traffic noise, but as the home is back off the road it wasnt too intrusive. Breakfast was delicious, especially enjoyed the fruits while waiting for our cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear KeithJ0,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed weekend! Yes, we are located in a great part of Hobart - it's so easy to walk to the Salamanca Markets and to the city or through Battery Point. It is handy to have a car for longer day trips, and we have plenty of parking available.

Our team works really hard to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us, and I will pass on your compliments.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Gattonside next time you are in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Gracious living but we prefer a location with a view. No lift for luggage but a beautiful house and Kat made light work of carrying a case. Elegant with complementary sherry and chocolate in the guest lounge. Large bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast prepared (whilst we enjoyed the cereal, fruit, bread etc) by the renouned Annie who even in the short space of 2 nights, made herself our friend. Shame we had to leave

Room Tip: Only saw mine but it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Brianw,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our Annie, and please be assured that I will pass on your compliments to her.

Gattonside is a beautiful historic home, and our team works very hard to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay.

Thank you again for your feedback, and hopefully we can welcome you again next time you visit Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#22 of 47 in Hobart
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#11 of 47 in Hobart
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 47 in Hobart
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gattonside Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: £101 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing