We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a very fine Bed and Breakfast that is well-appointed and ideally located in Hobart. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. We would highly recommend a stay at the Gattonside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear George K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! We absolutely agree with you - the breakfasts are delicious, and I have shared your feedback with our chefs.

Thank you again George, we love hearing from our guests and really value all feedback. We can't wait to welcome you back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Within 30 mins after booking through their official website, I had a call from the property to confirm my booking and the arrival time. We arrived after 2 pm on Saturday which is after office hours but had no problem getting into the properties as they sent email with instruction prior to our arrival. Also, a complimentary fresh brew coffee, chocolate and port in the living room is a nice touch- really helps in the rainy day. The property has only 8 rooms and whichever room number you book is what you get. I think this property is the best deal by far comparing to other properties within that area. The rooms are so expensive and filled up so quickly on the weekends in Hobart. Gattonhouse is within an easy walking distance to Salamanca market and Hobart waterfront. Our room was 303 which I think is the smallest, located on the ground floor. Room is quite good with enough space and a comfy queen bed. The bathroom is big with corner jacuzzi bath tub. The shower pressure and temperature is excellent. The property provides bathroom amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, etc). Breafast is beautiful. You help yourself with coffee/tea/juice/toast/cereal. The hot breafast is also served. We had beautiful poach eggs on top of bruchetta. No bacon/sausage, meatlovers sorry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve_Eveieigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear Eve_Eveieigh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. We love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stays. Our guest lounge is a beautiful room to relax in, and the Tasmanian fudge is delicous!

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really do appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside soon.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Magnificent! Beautiful historic home with attention to every little detail. Easy walking distance to everything in Battery Point, so it's great to leave the car behind. Complimentary port, coffee, fudge and even yummy Easter Eggs!
Thanks Lil. You were wonderful at what you do :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear lizdeacon,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words about Lil and please be assured that they have been passed on. Our team works really hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful and memorable stay and it's lovely to hear such great feedback.

Thank you again Liz, and we can't wait to welcome you back to Gattonside in the future!

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great place, friendly professional staff. Will visit again. Beautiful old building wonderfully restored . Great breakfast and guest lounge. Much better than a standard Hotel.and very good value. An easy walk to Salamanca Place and interesting cages etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annekMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear annekMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us! We are really proud with our team, they work really hard to ensure that every guest's stay is both comfortable and memorable. We absoulutely agree that our breakfasts are second to none, and the convenience of a spacious guest lounge is fantastic.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This property was recommended to us as we had to 'fill' in one night while in Hobart - have to agree with everything that we were told. It is a magnificent building & you can just imagine living there just after it had been built..interesting feature are the architects plans of the house which have been framed & hung on the hallway walls. Our reservation was for the Saturday night - & as Reception is only 'open' during working hours, we had received instructions to access the property, then collect our key along with room details. This all worked to plan. We were allocated what used to be the 'staff quarters' at the top of the stairs at the back of the building. I must say that it was lovely and quiet with the most comfy bed. There are a number of good value restaurants within walking distance along Hampden Rd along with a Hotel pretty much across the road. Breakfast, whilst there was no choice in the cooked part, was very adequate - but the choice of fruits etc more than made up for any possible disappointment. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Should you be a light sleeper, I think that you could get some traffic noise in the front rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay!

We absolutely agree that Gattonside is a beautiful historic home, and we are very lucky to have the hand drawn plans by Henry Hunter framed and on our walls for our guests to see. We offer an independant check in, so guests can arrive at their leisure and let themselves into what is essentially their home for the duration of their stay. If we are not on site at Gattonside we are at one of our other properties and we are always just a phone call away if anyone needs any assistance.

I'm pleased that you had a good night's sleep and found the room very quiet and private. We have a range of rooms to choose from so guests who would prefer a very quiet room are well accommodated for.

Next time you stay with us please do let us know how you would like your eggs - and we will be happy to prepare your breakfast as you like it.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside,

Regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here, great location, easy to get to, good parking, great breakfast. Not sure about other people's comments on the traffic noise, we didn't notice it, you are in the city after all. We had the room at the end, nice view of the old oak tree (room 404), good size, decoration a little dated but then that's kinda the house anyway. We were after some history and character and you certainly got that with modern day comforts

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Suite 4 is a beautiful room, and the bay window is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the garden view. We are lucky to have 5 Trees of Significance on the property, and the grand old oak tree outside Suite 4 and the breakfast room is one of them.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to Gattonside next time you are visitng Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A lovely old house in a great location that is very central. The staff were incredibly friendly and useful - as good as it gets. What dragged this place down was (a) the noise - its on a very busy road and the place doesn't have double glazing and it badly needs it. The plumbing isn't too quiet either, and (b) the beds were oh so hard. I could also feel the ribs on the electric blankets. I can still feel my sore back. Other than that the food was lovely, the atmosphere relaxed, with easy parking. The decor is a little old school but that sort of thing is very much personal taste.

Room Tip: on the top floor but not on the street side...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravellTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. The team here work really hard to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience and I will pass on your compliments to them.

Undoubtably, these beautiful historic Heritage Listed buildings come with their challenges. We are really lucky to be in a fantastic location - right on the fringe of historic Battery Point.

We have some lovely rooms facing the other side of the property and for your next stay please let us know if you would prefer one of these rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you to Gattonside when you are next in Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#21 of 48 in Hobart
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gattonside Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: £84 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing