We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for a weekend at Gattonside House with another 2 couples and had a great time. Our room was upstairs and beautifully decorated. The ensuite was the size of a small bedroom. The guest lounge is comfortable with coffee, port and chocolates available which is a nice touch. The house is within easy walking distance of Salamanca and some great restaurants. We live in the country so did notice the road noise although not so much on the second night. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting Hobart.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear ashryn,

Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside following your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our suites here are very spacious and the bathrooms are very large! I'm glad you enjoyed our guest lounge; it's a wonderful spot to relax at the end of a busy day exploring Hobart.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions with the Trip Advisor community and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    43
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
120
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart Tasmania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at gattonside on a Friday night recently. The house is just beautiful set in lovely grounds and back from the road enough not to hear the road noise. Our room was at the top of the stairs with a lovely bay window that caught the morning light. The guest lounge downstairs has a coffee machine and complimentary port and chocolates. There is a large balcony out the front wihich has couches and beautiful views of the gardens - a fantastic place to sit and have a drink if its not too cold.
The rooms are generous - ours was large enough for a large bed and a couch with a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The ensuite was huge with a spa bath with shower over - the water pressure was amazing in the shower - best shower I've had in a long time.
Breakfast is served in a sunny bright breakfast room and it was fantastic. There is a continental spread plus the chef makes a different hot breakfast option each day. On our stay it was a poached egg on sourdough with homemade baked beans in a spicy tomato and smoked ham sauce with greens. I dont like smoked food generally but this was just awesome.
the staff are friendly and chatty without being too much. They are knowledgable about the area and happy to give you tips and hints and help you plan your day.
The hotel has free parking and free wifi which was a real bonus.
Its really nice sometimes to be out of the city itself and this had the good parts of a hotel and the good parts of a B&B wrapped up together.

Room Tip: the rooms on the city side get the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilysholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Lilysholiday,

What a lovely review - thank you. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. I was thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Our breakfast chef is incredibly talented and her hot breakfasts are delicious. Our guests are always very well fed whilst staying with us!

Thank you again for your review, and we do hope to welcome you to Gattonside in the future.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the beautiful Gattonside Heritage Hotel and absolutely loved it. We took a shuttle bus from the airport which I highly recommend as we got a great sightseeing tour as well on the way to our accommodation. (Note: If you in a hurry take a taxi instead).

The hotel itself is beautiful, well maintained and located just a short stroll to Battery Point, the harbour and the CBD (about 5min). The complimentary port wine and chocolates as well as the board games are a nice touch.

We had one of the smaller rooms at the back with a spa bath and loved it. I am a very light sleeper but didn't notice any noise at all as some other reviewers mentioned. We booked via wotif.com.au and got a very good deal.... its definitely worth while booking via wotif. The breakfast was absolutely delicious every day... please see photos.

Overall a fantastic place to stay in Hobart.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Supachops,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside with the Trip Advisor community following your recent stay with us. What a lovely review - thank you. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our team works very hard to ensure all our guests have the best possible experience and I'm thrilled that we have made your stay enjoyable.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kew
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Beautiful house, large and stylishly appointed bedrooms and bathrooms, plus a sitting room that seemed to be free whenever we needed it (with free port and chocolates, and games), superb fully-cooked breakfasts in a stunning dining room. Lovely gardens and heritage-protected trees. Quiet rooms with thick, thick walls. Beds oh so comfy and bathrooms with 'massage' bathtub. All within walking distance of Salamanca (cancelled, alas, for our visit for the first time in 41 years), and the waterfront area with trips to Mona, etc. Not to mention the fabulous service from Lill and Kat and the other fantastic staff at Gattonside.

Hate to give promotion to such a great place in case it becomes too popular, but TripAdvisor has been my reliable travel guide and feel it only fair to share. Go enjoy.

A friend and I had a room each (rooms 7 and 8 on the mezzanine and at the back on top floor) and we are happy to speak very highly of our stay there. It's true that it is only 'manned' until 4 pm or so each day but you receive a code for the front door plus a key. You can also leave your bags there after check-out and continue to enjoy the living room until your flight or departure.

Only downsides are having to walk 0.5 km or so to eat out, if you are feeling tired.

Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Mezzanine floor room great choice and any room not on Sandy Bay Road. Walls so thick that rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabellaKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Isabella,

What a lovely review; thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside following your recent stay with us. We love hearing that our guests have had a wonderful and memorable stay.

We absolutely agree that Gattonside is a beautiful home, and we love sharing this special place with our guests. As you mention, whilst we are here on site until the late afternoon we are only a phone call away and always happy to assist. We find that our guests enjoy having the privacy of the house to themselves and really feel at home.

Thank you again for your kind words and we can't wait to welcome you back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

A lovely heritage listed house, walking distance to CBD and Salamanca.
Our room was very large and comfortable. The 4 poster bed very comfortable. Gattonside is not someones home, like other b&bs we've stayed in it's unmanned after 5pm, which is ok, but not as personal as being in a b&b home. Our room was serviced even after just one night. The breakfast was great ! and ever changing staff were very helpful. We stayed 2 nights , exploring Hobart town, cascade brewery and mount Wellington. Richmond is well worth a visit if you have time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Whitsundayjunk,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside; we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to be in such a fabulous location, right on the fringe of historic Battery Point. As you mention, whilst this grand old home is not manned 24 hours we are just a phone call away and there is always a member of our team happy to help. We do find that our guests enjoy the privacy of having the house to themselves.

Thank you again for your feedback, we really do appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside again!

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a very fine Bed and Breakfast that is well-appointed and ideally located in Hobart. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. We would highly recommend a stay at the Gattonside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear George K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! We absolutely agree with you - the breakfasts are delicious, and I have shared your feedback with our chefs.

Thank you again George, we love hearing from our guests and really value all feedback. We can't wait to welcome you back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Within 30 mins after booking through their official website, I had a call from the property to confirm my booking and the arrival time. We arrived after 2 pm on Saturday which is after office hours but had no problem getting into the properties as they sent email with instruction prior to our arrival. Also, a complimentary fresh brew coffee, chocolate and port in the living room is a nice touch- really helps in the rainy day. The property has only 8 rooms and whichever room number you book is what you get. I think this property is the best deal by far comparing to other properties within that area. The rooms are so expensive and filled up so quickly on the weekends in Hobart. Gattonhouse is within an easy walking distance to Salamanca market and Hobart waterfront. Our room was 303 which I think is the smallest, located on the ground floor. Room is quite good with enough space and a comfy queen bed. The bathroom is big with corner jacuzzi bath tub. The shower pressure and temperature is excellent. The property provides bathroom amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, etc). Breafast is beautiful. You help yourself with coffee/tea/juice/toast/cereal. The hot breafast is also served. We had beautiful poach eggs on top of bruchetta. No bacon/sausage, meatlovers sorry.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve_Eveieigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Eve_Eveieigh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us at Gattonside. We love hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stays. Our guest lounge is a beautiful room to relax in, and the Tasmanian fudge is delicous!

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really do appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside soon.

Kind regards,

Kat Little and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gattonside Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Property: Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing