We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great room&food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
239 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location and great room&food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights in the honeymoon suite and had a great time. The bed was comfortable and nice large room and large bathroom on the second floor. Breakfast was really good every day and you can walk to Salamanca place and even the botanic gardens tho that's a bit farther. Highly recommend this beautiful place. Nice salon with free port and fudge for afternoon tea and relaxing. So much nicer than a hotel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside! It's great to read you enjoyed your stay. I couldn't agree more with you - we do have a fantastic location in Battery Point. Our rooms are so large and spacious and have beautiful character features that only a house of this era can offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions with the TripAdvisor community and we do hope to see you at Gattonside again soon.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    43
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
122
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Gattonside was a wonderful place to stay in Hobart. Position was perfect being within walking distance of cafes, restaurants, market and the water. Accommodation was very comfortable with relaxing atmosphere and several personal touches. We were well looked after by the delightful Lili ,always available to give good information and advice.. Breakfasts were cooked each morning by Annie and they were delicious and varied . I would recommend this B&B if you are looking for a quality place with the personal touch

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Joan,

Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside and for your kind words about Lili and Annie. They do take great pride in looking after all our guests and ensuring everyone has a special stay with us. We feel very lucky to be able to share Gattonside and it's charm and tranquillity with our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back to Gattonside again. Until then, happy travels.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I had booked the recent long weekend 7-10 March for a self contained apartment @ Hampden with the Red Awning group. However, a few days before flying to Hobart, we were informed that the apartment we booked was no longer available as the verandah glass had broken - no problem we said as we were offered accommodation @ Gattonside (albeit not self contained) but breakfast was thrown in complimentary, also not a great problem for us. We agreed that would be just fine.
When we arrived at Gattonside, we were shown to our room, which was disappointing in that it was a small room out the back next to the laundry. We were told not to worry as the laundry only operated 9-6pm, not so ... we heard the washer & dryer @ 7.30am!! There was also an exit door just outside our room for guests to enter & exit from the car park. No aircon in the room, no problem we said as there was an open window. That didn't help, as during the night traffic noise from Sandy Bay Rd was a nuisance, not to mention a party going on in the adjacent apartments with loud noise @ 1.30am on the last night of our 3 night stay. We didn't appreciate laundry pick up vans & staff cars coming in & making noise from 7am every morning!!
If we had we managed to stay at our original accommodation, we would have been in a side street away from noise, we would have had aircon and an overall peaceful 3 nights of sleeping
On the positive side, this heritage accommodation is very gracious, front gardens are nicely kept. There is no gardens at the back - only car parking. It's looking a little tired in some rooms, especially our Room No 3 and the public toilets. Needs attention to detail.
If you so happen to book this accommodation place, make sure you have a room facing the back of the property and we DO hope you achieve a good night's sleep. We were never so glad to be back in our own home for a peaceful night's sleep.
Finally, on the positive side, the bed was really comfy, pity we couldn't really enjoy it ... and may we say that breakfast cooked by the vivacious Annie was delicious and that Bernie's cooked breakfast was equally enjoyable!
We would not stay @ Gattonside again as our experience was pretty average to say the least!

Room Tip: We didn't manage to see the other rooms, but DO NOT stay in room 3!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank margieMmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Margie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation with the TripAdvisor community. I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

As advised, our laundry operates between 9am and 6pm. We do have a strict rule that all staff adhere to, that the laundry is not operated prior to 9am so guests are not disturbed. I'm sorry that someone used the facilities outside of the hours.

I was really disappointed to read that you were disturbed by a party in a nearby apartment - usually this area is very quiet indeed. However, we are available 24 hours so if any guests have any issues overnight we are on call and available to assist. In this case we could have certainly assisted with the noise issue.

I am pleased that your enjoyed your breakfasts - our team do a fabulous job and take great pride in looking after all our guests. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Gattonside again. Please do contact us directly should you wish to discuss your recent stay with us further.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at this lovely Bed and Breakfast on our last night in Hobart and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. While there is no staff overnight, this didn't cause us any concerns. We had a very large, beautifully furnished room with a comfortable king bed. The location, near Sandy Beach as well as Battery Point, allowed us time to explore this beautiful area - there are great walks along the coast. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was the best we had on our trip - delicious, with fresh fruit, muesli, stewed berries and yoghurt, followed by poached eggs, bacon, slow baked tomatoes and spinach on sour dough bread - Yum! I would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: We had the king rom on the ground floor. There were people above us but this didn't cause us any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for your really lovely review - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to have your stay with us at Gattonside again soon.

Best regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We couldn't sleep at all over a night. Fire and security alarm went off 3 times from 2:30am to 5:30am. The first alarm went off over 30 minuets, all the guests woke up, some of the guests packed their suits case in case of the emergency. "Non of the staffs stays over a night in the guest house", hence, we didn't know what is going on... It is a big problem when something happen in the guest house after the staff leave at 5pm. That night was a scary and horrible experience for us. Finally after one hour at 3:30am, one of their staff arrived, and it was a false alarm after all... Then, the staffs were trying to fixed the security alarm over the night which made the alarm to go off again at 4am and 5am...
It was supposed to be a relaxing night, however, it turned out to be a horrific night...
What disappointed more was, there was no compensation at all from the Gattonside.
The guest house is in good location walking distance to Salamanca. Also, I loved the beautiful classics interiors. However, I must say, their service was very disappointing and not worse the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ashiato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, Front Office Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Ashiato,

Thank you for your review of Gattonside following your recent stay with us. Ashiato, I'm really disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay, and do sincerely apologise that the alarm overnight disrupted you. I do urge you to please do contact me directly so that we can discuss this further at sales@redawnings.com.au

Kind regards,

Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you have only one night to spend in Hobart before going off to explore the rest of the Tasmanian delights or if you have only one night to spend on a conference or team bonding day. Then you need look no further than The Gattonside Heritage Lodge, you will not be disappointed.
It will be hard to express in just a few sentences how delightful was our stay earlier this month as we used this superb accommodation at both the start of and the end to an all too brief visit to Tasmania.
Arriving later than expected we found our instructions regarding entry both logical and concise and the delights awaiting us in our room both pleasing and acceptable.
The building is beautiful and the attention to detail in decoration and maintenance delightful. That is not to say that you are staying in a museum but a building with both heritage and style. Also with fast and free wifi and fridges in the rooms no modern facilities have been overlooked.
Following a restful nights sleep came breakfast and the attentive staff proved nothing was too much for the kitchen and the breakfast well and truly set us up for the day of exploration to follow.
As you might have gathered we were delighted with our stay here and the following stay a few days later lived up to the previous and indeed exceeded it. Having to depart very early for a flight back to the mainland we were more than a little appreciative of a continental breakfast laid out for us before the arrival of the morning staff. We would sincerely recommend The Gattonside to anyone who appreciates real service and attention, anyone who appreciates real heritage and real comfort and in short ANYONE reading this and considering giving it a try.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are ground floor so no bags to carry up stairs. Walk 10 mins to port for great bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshSod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear PoshSod,

What a lovely review; thank you for sharing your impressions of Gattonside with the Tripdvisor community following your recent stay with us. We absolutely agree with you; Gattonside is a wonderful historic & grand mansion and we feel very privileged to be able to share it with our guests. We understand that for most travellers conveniences such as fast and free WiFi are a must, and we are very happy to provide these. Our guests do occasionally need to leave very early for flights or early tour departures, and we are always very happy to set out a hearty and fresh continental breakfast to help them on their way!

Please be assured I have passed on your kind words to all the team. thank you again, and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Gattonside again soon. Until then, happy travels.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Red Awnings Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This beautiful kept, stylish heritage building, was a joy to return to after a big day out or even just a little walk around the historic streets of Battery Point. The biulding is located in such a lovely spot, just a short walk down to the markets at Salamanca on Saturday morning.
The lounge was a relaxing place to sit and enjoy the complimentary port and fudge, play chess, read a glossy magazine or chat to other guests.
Our room was charming and spacious, with a beautiful marble fire place, big TV, desk, lounge, beautiful curtains adorning huge windows. I was glad to have booked a room with a spa bath - I needed it after our Bay of Fires walk. The spa was lovely. (Note to owners: no bubble bath supplied, so had to use shampoo. Also when I used the conditioner I found the conditioner bottles are shaped to make it almost impossible to get the conditioner out.)
The included continental and hot breakfast was fantastic - got a lovely dose of poached or scrambled eggs each day - with mushrooms, tomato and one morning, smoked salmon. Breakfast room atmosphere was warm, cosy and friendly. The daily paper is available for those who want to catch up on news.
Staff were very friendly and available in the morning and up to about 4.30pm to answer all local questions. We would definitely stay there again if visiting Hobart, because of the fantastic location and the value for money. The equivalent in comfort and quality down on the docks would be outrageously expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Jennifer,

What a lovely review of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, thank you for taking the time to write and share with the TripAdvisor community! It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our special little extras such as complimentary port and fudge welcoming.

Thank you for your note regarding bubble bath - we shall keep some on hand from now on. That's a great bit of feedback!

Thank you again Jennifer for sharing your recent experience at Gattonside, and we do hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#21 of 48 in Hobart
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gattonside Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Property: Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing