We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

A beautifully restored and maintained heritage property and Ideally located within easy walking distance of Battery point and The hobart waterfront. Impossible not to enjoy the breakfast room and the fare presented with passion by Annie. A great way to start the day. Will be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Michael,

It is so wonderful to read that you had a lovely stay at Gattonside; thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with the TripAdvisor community. I absolutely agree with you - we are in a wonderful location right on the fringe of historic Battery Point and easy walking distance to the CBD and Salamanca Place areas. We are really proud of our team, and please be assured that your kind words have been passed on to Annie our chef.

Thank you again Michael for your review, and we do look foward to welcoming you back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    43
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
120
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My sister and I stayed for one night in May this year and I can't speak highly enough of the service we received. Between booking over the phone with Bridie to arriving early and having the wonderful Lilly look after us, to sitting down and enjoying Annie’s superbly cooked scrambled eggs in the sunny breakfast room the next morning, everyone was warm, friendly and did their best to make our short stay as stress free as possible. The house is a beautiful heritage building with wonderful features, the beds were very comfy and location is perfect. The fudge and port in the splendid drawing room at night, an added bonus. Lilly and the team, thank you for everything. You went above and beyond and all the extra help you gave us like ringing the taxi, providing directions over the phone when we got lost, providing hot coffee when we arrived early was really appreciated. We would definitely stay again and would recommend Gattonside to anyone who wanted to experience genuine hospitality whilst staying in a heritage listed house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ally and Al,

It is so wonderful to read that you had such an excellent stay with us at Gattonside. We really pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests, and I'm thrilled that we were able to do so from the time of your booking right through to when you checked out. I have passed on your kind words to the team - Bridie, Lil and Annie who are always really proud to receive such positive feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experiences at Gattonside, and we all do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a long weekend planned to Hobart in autumn and chose this lovely B&B because it was close to everything we wanted to experience. It was the best place for us in that regard as we opted to be located within easy walking distance and did not want to hire a car. We were not disappointed with its location to Salamanca area and Battery Point etc. The Heritage Gattonside B&B is superb and we loved Suite 1 which is also shown on their promotional site; it was luxury and so comfortable. The staff were simply wonderful esp. Lil who could not do enough to make sure our stay was stress-free and arranging some of our transport needs. Annie in the kitchen made sure we had our bodies fuel-readied for the days activities with a wholesome breakfast. Next time we go to Hobart again, we'll be returning to this lovely place and people to reconnect.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is free and was a little slow but we only needed it infrequently so no real issue for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfaRomeoSpider76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear AlfaRomeoSpider76,

What a lovely review - thank you! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at Gattonside. Thank you for your kind words about Lil and Annie our chef - they really enjoy what they do and take a lot of pride in ensuring our guests have exception stays. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on.

Sorry about the speed of the Wi-Fi - we've since improved the booster and we've found that all areas of the property have really fast access. I do appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Thank you again, and we do hope to see you back at Gattonside next time you visit Hobart.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

No disappointments. Nice neighborhood and the home has an attractive exterior. Warm public spaces and large comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Sherry and chocolates available in the evening. Simply an excellent 2 night stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShermanAbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear ShermanAbe,

Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful that you enjoyed the complimentary port and Tasmanian fudge - isn't it a fantastic way to relax after a busy day of exploring our beautiful city.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions, and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in April 2014 and found Gattonside to be excellent. Not only is it a stately building with large, well appointed rooms and friendly, helpful staff it is also located within easy walking distance of Salamanca Place and Hobart city. Although located on busy Sandy Bay Road it is quiet with no obvious traffic noise. The delicious cooked breakfasts were an added bonus to a very pleasant stay. Well worth considering this type of accommodation rather than a large impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Marilyn,

I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your review. I absolutely agree with you - Gattonside is a perfect location and is very private and quiet. Annie's breakfasts are very special indeed!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Gattonside. Until then, happy travels.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Red Awnings team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lets get the basics said: Really comfy bed, dark room at night, terrific varied breakfasts, beautiful historic house and a great location in Hobart. But you can get this at lots of places. What Gattonside has is the extra mile! Courtesy, which began before we arrived with calls and emails of help, and extended for every day of our 6 days stay. We were in Hobart for Anzac day and my returned serviceman husband was accorded the honour and respect which makes a Vietnam Vet feel rewarded for his service. We laughed and talked with staff who were beyond helpful in pointing us in the right direction. Our sleep-ins were respected and any special need was catered for. We had an amazing stay in Hobart and Gattonside was the heart of this experience. Lily, Annie and Team you deserve 5 stars... You made our stay. We will tell all our friends and certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room which saved carrying bags upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Theresa,

Thank you for taking the time to share you impressions of Gattonside Heritage Accommodation following your recent stay with us. What a lovely review - thank you. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Gattonside. It's the perfect place to relax and enjoy your visit to Hobart. Thank you for your kind words about the team, and please be assured that your praise has been passed on to Annie, Lil and the team.

Thank you again Theresa for sharing your time with us, and we do really look forward to welcoming you and Graeme back to Gattonside again.

Kind regards,

Kat and the Red Awnings team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Our room and bath were unusually large and elegantly decorated. The breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed walking around the historic neighborhood. Staff helped us do laundry and recommended a great restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60plustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, General Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Gattonside following your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a fabulous location right on the fringe of Battery Point with lots of lovely walking around the area.

We do hope to welcome you back to Gattonside again, until then happy travels!

Kind regards,

Kat and the Gattonside Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#19 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gattonside Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gattonside Heritage Accommodation

Property: Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
Address: 51 - 53 Sandy Bay Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gattonside Heritage Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, a Red Awnings Boutique Hotels and Apartments Property. Gattonside (circa 1885) is a magnificent Victorian Mansion, designed by Henry Hunter and is National Trust & Heritage listed. It opened as a B & B back in January 1999 and is the perfect choice to stay for both leisure & business travellers. Gattonside is nestled within an acre of gardens and is a short stroll to historic Battery Point, Salamanca Place and the CBD. It is an ideal place to base yourself while exploring the surrounding areas- the Huon, Derwent Valley and Tasman Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gattonside Heritage Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing