We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodation with great views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Davey Place Holiday Town Houses
Ranked #38 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation with great views”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We have stayed at Davey Place many times over the past 9-10 years. The units are spacious, comfortable and bright with all appliances - toaster, coffee percolator, microwave etc. The location just off Davey Street is a 20 minute walk from Hobart and is well located for supermarkets, coffee shops and specialty shops such as the Salad Bowl. There are wonderful views of the river and the Eastern Shore. The owners Gus and Antonia will always go out of their way to help with any problems that occur and we have become friends over the years. The units are good value, particularly for those who are interested in a longer stay.

Room Tip: There are 4 units and all have great views, particularly from the upstairs bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAS2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We just got back from spending 3 nights here, and I highly recommend it.

Downstairs has 2 lounges, fully equipped kitchen and dining room, and nice size tv all in a spacious setting. In the upstairs was a spacious main bedroom with fantastic views down to Sandy Bay and Wrest Point casino, and a tv with dvd player. The second bedroom had two twin beds and were very comfortable. Bathroom had shower, toilet, basin and lovely spa bath.

All rooms were well heated, it was very clean and tidy and conveniently located in a quiet neighbourhood. You will need a car, but it is only a 5min drive to downtown Hobart, and a few minutes to Coles, Woolies, take away etc. Its also on the way to Mount Wellington.

We were greeted by one of the staff and they went out of their way to make it a pleasant stay.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

good location away from the main roads nice and quite area shops nearby but a car is needed for easy transport but its still only 5 min into heart of hobart and a lot cheaper then right in town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joejoeaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We spent 3 very comfortable nights at Davey Place; Quiet location; good views; clean, spacious and comfortable; As we were unsure of parking in the city centre we walked into town on the first night - took about 30 minutes and a pleasant down hill stroll - otherwise only about a 5 minute drive (or an $8 taxi fare back up the hill); Excellent value and definitely where we will stay on our next visit. Thanks Gus!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Langkawifans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Ideally situated within minutes to the city centre in a peaceful neighbourhood. All the units offer pretty views as far as Sandy Bay. They were very spacious for family living with good appliances in the kitchen and laundry. The heater maintained a very comfortable temperature. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom was very clean. The bedrooms offered a good nights rest. The garden around the units were well maintained too. We stayed for seventeen nights visiting from Brisbane in Australia and we settled in and made ourselves very comfortable. Highly recommended to any families that are searching for a private heaven in a convenient location in pretty Hobart. Special thanks to owners Gus and his wife for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Lovely quiet , spacious apartment, clean & modern with all you need including washer and dryer . Convenient to city (2klm) and on bus ruote. The Manager Gus is extremely thoughtful, heater on for our late arrivial from Qld. No noise from adjoining units, great views to river.Probably one of the best available in Hobart for the price. Thanks Gus.!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed at the Davey Place holiday appartments for 10 days with a young child and infant. The townhouse was modern with all the essential items needed for a self contained appartment. The townhouse was clean as was all of the cooking equipment and it was all in good working order. From the time we made our booking Gus bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable. It is in great location just a couple of minutes from the Hobart CBD. The townhouses have great outlook with waterviews to the front and Mt Wellington to the rear. They are located in a quite location and the townhouses themselves are made of brick so we couldnt hear any of the other people who were staying in the ajoining flats (they to had children). It was a pleasure to stay at the davey place townhouses.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pit_s2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Apartments on Star
Apartments on Star
#7 of 52 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Court Apartments
1.5 mi away
Sullivans Cove Apartments
1.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davey Place Holiday Town Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davey Place Holiday Town Houses

Property: Davey Place Holiday Town Houses
Address: 1 Davey St | Units 31, 32, 33, & 34 Davey Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Davey Place Holiday Townhouses offer 4 Star accommodation for holiday makers, business guests and long-stay clients who appreciate contemporary comfort , tranquil surroundings with spectacular views of the Derwent River, whilst in close proximity to Hobart 's attractions. Enjoy the comforts of spacious self contained townhouses centrally located ,with views across the Derwent River and towards Mt Wellington, all within walking distance of Hobart's tourist attractions. Hobart CBD, Salamanca, Constitution Dock and the Hobart city centre are less than 1.5km away. 4 Star contemporary accommodation:- Each Townhouse is of spacious proportions and can accommodate up to six people. The units are fully self-contained and serviced with 2 full sized bedrooms, a complete bathroom with separate shower and bath,(some with spa baths), a fully equipped modern kitchen with private laundry facilities, free internet broadband, home office area, heating and air conditioning, a private garden courtyard and an allocated parking bay. Convenient & well appointed. Location:- Davey Place Townhouses are a 25 minute drive from the Airport and a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the Hobart City Centre. Public transport is available 20m from our doorstep. We are located in a quiet cul de sac off Davey Street, in the inner city suburb of South Hobart. The activity of the Hobart CBD, Salamanca Place, Battery Point and the Wharf area are within walking distance, and the South Hobart Village along Macquarie Street, is only a few hundred metres away. RATES- SPRING/SUMMER 2015 **Sept 1st- 30th Nov 2015- $200 per night (4 persons) with Min Stay of 7 Nights **Dec 1st - 22nd Dec 2015- $220 per night (4 persons) with Min Stay of 7 Nights **Dec 22nd 2015 - 31st Jan 2016 - $320 per night (4 persons) with Min Stay of 7 Nights Long Term rates are available on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Davey Place Holiday Town Houses Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing