We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base to explore Southern Tasmania”
Review of Motel 429

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 429
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great base to explore Southern Tasmania”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We keep coming back to this motel. Love the fact that we can park the car outside and just get up and go in the mornings. We stayed in one of upgraded self-contained family rooms this time. Motel is always clean and very comfortable. Loved the little kitchen, after several days of eating out three meals a day it was great to be able to prepare some simple meals in the room and relax in comfort.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandanus118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    98
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
98
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

we stayed there for two nights and had a pleasant experience :) good shower on the bath but you need to do large step as the bath is quite high and comfy bed though.
staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

Well, if you want to find place to eat , there is some restaurants in wrest point or walk little bit to Chinese restaurant at the same road.

Room Tip: try to find a room which not facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliarachma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A short 5 day trip to Tassie. Found motel online, easy booking, friendly reception....room quirky (bed under the stairs offerred proand basic but clean, and snug and in good repair. Inexpensive continental breakfast...Exercise equipment with a view over the harbour. Walking distance to Wrest Point ...if you need it.

Room Tip: Worthwhile checking where your room is located...a ground floor room suited us with direct access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJulie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed in one of the rooms at ground level facing the car park. It was comfortable and excellent for my needs. And I would ask for the same room again if travelling with my family. The only suggestion I would make to the proprietors would be to consider some way of maintaining better privacy for the big windows facing the car park - perhaps net curtains - because vertical blinds just don't work - they are either fully open (exposed) or fully closed. Some signage in the car park wouldn't go astray either - reminding patrons and guests to minimise noise when departing prior to 4am. Perhaps sometime into the future double glazed windows might be an option..... but at $135 per night, the rooms were a bargain in my opinion.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We were in an older self contained unit without airconditioning. Also had a shower over a bath which required a very big step up (chosen by travel agent). Good laundry facilities. Great location. Lift to all rooms. We were lucky that it wasn't too hot, but at the height of summer this could be a problem. There are also many more airconditioned and renovated rooms which we would have chosen instead if we had known. Across the road from Wrest Point Casino which we walked to for dinner. Cafes close. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jock55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Walked into the room and walked straight out again. They obviously have better rooms given some of the reviews but the one we were shown was terrible, tiny, cramped, dark, with no windows and the door opening directly onto the car park and main road. Really depressing.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I dont have a single bad thing to say about this motel. It is very close to the center of Hobart, the room was spotless with new beds and fittings. The kitchenette was well equipped and the price was right.

I will be staying here again when in Hobart again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Benicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 429? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 429

Property: Motel 429
Address: 429 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 429 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 429, located 42.9 Degrees South and perfectly positioned on the waterfront in beautiful Sandy Bay.Centrally located amongst some of Tasmania's fine Southern attractions, opposite the entertainment and restaurants of Wrest Point Casino. Offering a variety of deluxe queen rooms and deluxe self contained rooms. Free and ample parking. Overlooking the pictureque River Derwent. Free parking on site. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 429 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
429 Hotel Sandy Bay
Motel 429 Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing