We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very happy ,good base for Hobart” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 429

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 429
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“very happy ,good base for Hobart”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

A no frills motel but certainly not Shabby just on the outskirts of town so slightly down on the price bracket,but on the main bus route $5.70c Return to city center or Taxi $10 each way both a cheap option .Very friendly reception staff and helpful .The rooms were far in excess of what we expected for the price and FREE WIFI ! (Take note Big hotel chains )
You cant really go wrong if visiting Hobart and stay here ,looks clinical from the outside but loved the 3 nights we stayed there...forget the big hotel chains if in the area as a tourist and stay here you will save a fortune ...and spend the rest on the sights etc!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank probb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    96
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
96
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Pros
- clean, modern interior (deceiving from it's humble external appearance!)
- well stocked
- friendly, helpful staff
- great view as it is situated by the water
- good heating and cooling system

Cons
- weak wifi, troublesome as you have to log on every time you wish to use the internet. Please improve!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hi we stayed there for the first time while doing the toy run , the office staff was friendly we got to our room it was clean cosy . Just over the road from the casino was very handy you meal's and drinks . When we checked out this morning we booked again for the next toy run , if you want some where clean cosy and with friendly staff that has very reasonable room rate's check this place out .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

After a warm welcome from Judy, we were very happy with our clean modern room. We had 2 Queen size beds. The room was well equipped with quality bed and bath linen. There was freshly ground local coffee (or chocolate) with plunger and free wifi, which worked well. Lovely hot showers. The only down side - Sandy Bay Rd is busy with morning peak hour traffic. This was not a problem for us as we were not trying to sleep in. Well priced, staff very informative and room serviced every day. I'll be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OzMuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I was attending a conference at the Wrest Casino & staying close by was great & this place exceeded my expectations. Room was clean & serviced daily & all my requests / questions were answered promptly with a smile & the onsite parking & close proximity to the city made getting around easy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel felt good from the start.
The staff were lovely and very welcoming.

Location is great as it is right across from Casino - but we were driving so it was also good for the ease of parking spaces in hotel driveway/courtyard.
Plus it was just $10 to get to Salamance in a taxi, so well worth the cheaper price compared to hotels in town.

Rooms are very neat, clean and modern.
Very good facilities in the room, best shower - super hot and super high pressure.

Had Austar and a DVD player also - which was great when weather turned awful.
overall excellent place with all that you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaeMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now and I won't be staying anywhere else when in Hobart.
The rooms are all renovated and the beds are very comfortable. I loved over looking the river and being close to the casino means there is no shortage of food options. Supermarket isn't far away either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
1.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 429? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 429

Property: Motel 429
Address: 429 Sandy Bay Rd | Sandy Bay, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel 429 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Motel 429, located 42.9 Degrees South and perfectly positioned on the waterfront in beautiful Sandy Bay.Centrally located amongst some of Tasmania's fine Southern attractions, opposite the entertainment and restaurants of Wrest Point Casino. Offering a variety of deluxe queen rooms and deluxe self contained rooms. Free and ample parking. Overlooking the pictureque River Derwent. Free parking on site. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 429 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
429 Hotel Sandy Bay
Motel 429 Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing