We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Luxury - in a place where one doesn't expect it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True Luxury - in a place where one doesn't expect it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a must-stay place for discerning travellers to Hobart.
While I am not an art aficionado, the suite in which I stayed was lavishly-appointed (Nespresso machine, Molton Brown accessories) and both modern and stylish. Wi-fi was free, service was great.
Plenty of dining options both in and near the hotel.
Will only stay here again when in Hobart.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joydeep_Hor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    323
    84
    37
    10
See reviews for
100
757
47
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a two night business trip to Hobart. Was VERY pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It felt like I was staying in a museum and I really enjoyed reading about the history of this place. Yet the rooms and decor were fresh and modern. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend staying there for couples or business trips and will be staying there again when I go back to Hobart.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The Henry jones is a beautiful hotel, with great art and friendly staff. This is a wonderful example of the old building being renovated into a new use but keeping the historic features. Also on the beautiful Hobart wharf and us close to all the attractions of salamanca and mona ferry. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The concierge was very helpful and booked us at two outstanding restaurants for dinner both nights. Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel with my family. Wow awedome hotel.
1 VERY PLEASANT N HELPFUL FRONT DESK STAFFS.
2. GREAT FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS.
3. CLEAN N NEAT ROOM
4. Good location for all attractions tour company.
5. Free wifi
6. Great break fast
7. Affordable price.

Pl consider this hotel for ur happy stay on hobart.

Thanks n Regards,
Bala

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Soundararajan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the Henry Jones through HotelTravel.com where I believed we've got a better deal than the other agents or via the hotel website itself (though our price did not include breakfast).

The Henry Jones was transformed from the old IXL jam factory (which has been around since 1804) into the present boutique hotel which opened in 2004.

The Henry Jones offer hotel guests the unique experience of staying in a historic site just next to the waterfront and convenient to most places of interests in Hobart. The Salamanca market is just 10 minutes walk away and the MONA ferry terminal is half that distance - about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The famous 'Drunken Admiral' restaurant is just next door and Mures is also a stone's throw away. You will also have an Indian restaurant (Saffron) and a Chinese restaurant (Awu) just beside the Drunken Admiral. Woolworth's tad further away, maybe 15 minutes away on Argyle street. Staying at the Henry Jones is like staying in an art gallery, where guests have access to the three floors of the hotel, where 300 pieces of artwork is meticulously displayed on the walls throughout the hotel. Our room, 203, is a standard room, decent sized and comfortable with a large bathroom, though without a tub. We felt that we were given an attic room because we were that near the roof. Though the website advertised views for standard rooms, we had three small windows that opened up skywards and we didn't have any views (unless you consider the tops of neighboring roofs a view - we definitely can't see the harbor nor the glass atrium). You may want to check out the rooms prior to booking, or request for a specific room that has a view (I'm sure other trip advisors can advise). The service staff were friendly and helpful but pretty standard hotel fare I felt. Short of the location, the experience of staying in an art gallery in a historic building, and the large bathroom, I'd say stay for the experience, but at its premium price and the standard hotel service, I'd probably try another place ti stay the next time we're in Hobart.

Btw, the Chancellor hotel is situated just across the main road near the Henry Jones. It is a much taller hotel and offers real views of the harbor if you're at the higher floors. That is of course if you do not mind staying at a standard business hotel. FYI, we have not stayed at the Chancellor hotel.



Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

An outstanding hotel thathas it all...location, decor and a real genuine warmth and friendliness. The staff go out of their way to assist in any way they can. I would never stay anywhere else in Hobart

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chachi_040206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Quirky well presented hotel. Each room is different. The staff are friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay. Only down side is the gym which for a 5 star hotel is a little spartan.

The hotel itself is positioned on the harbour side and great for getting out for food and drinks. Loved it

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wrightstuffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#8 of 46 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#3 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Property: The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing