We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fountainside Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Balmoral Motor Inn(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair on Cavell(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woolmers Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Savoy(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Customs House Waterfront Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Argyle Motor Lodge(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveller rating
1,045
365
93
40
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
365
93
40
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjam factorydeluxe spaixl baroriental suitestudio loftexposed beamsjam packedfree valet parkingharbour viewnespresso machinebeautiful hotelhistoric buildingstandard roomconstitution docklong weekendmona ferrysalamanca markets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,010 - 1,015 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent the weekend at Henry Jones for our wedding anniversary. The people there couldn't have been more helpful and the service is some of the best I've received anywhere in Australia. Great rooms too.

Make sure you go to their bar downstairs and sip on a few cocktails made by Niall Maurici; depending on the night, you might be able to enjoy a great live jazz band. Sensational atmosphere and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cashluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel has so many good points that the items that are wrong make no sense - this feels like the manager/owners are complacent because of the special nature of the hotel- maybe feeling that the normal standards and details are not needed to be attended to?
The building is beautifully converted and really impressive. The location is perfect – right in the centre of town, wonderful view over the harbour. The artworks around the hotel and in the rooms are also really very good (I know it depends upon your taste) making an exploration of the hotel a must.
Staff were great – some really excellent in going that bit further to solve problems.
Valet parking worked really well, room service food very good and Molton Brown toiletries good to see.
BUT –
NOISE – no need for an alarm
Loo noise – from room above - ALL the graphic details from 06.30 in the morning – not how you want to wake up – we moved to top floor after first night.
Showers noisy from adjacent rooms.
Listen to next doors TV in the evening and 6 am alarm call as well.
Bathroom
Loo brush filthy, Sink unit – looks good – impossible to be kept clean
No shaving mirror - bathroom steamed up as fan ineffectual.
Air conditioning was erratic (not just ours as the A/C service vans were there for a few days) and we were supplied with a fan to help (for 4 out of 5 days)
Dirty long term – windows were filthy inside and out on all surfaces in both the rooms we occupied.
ROOM DESIGN
On paper it probably looked really cool.
However - Wardrobes were a joke – tiny - behind the non-supportive bedhead and too dark to see into.
We were given a portable set of drawers and a Dress rail, by the time you add in the 2 stands for suitcases it really negates the initial concept of the room design. Crazy.
Not enough power points/
Room service – nowhere to place the trays (the poor guy delivering was at as much a loss as we were) – not the usual 5 star trolley/table, just a tray with plates and that’s it. Had to request the mustard and ketchup to accompany an excellent fries and club sandwich. Forget any touches like say flowers, or anything that made it look less bare – and there is an $8.00 delivery charge – not thought through.
It is a five star property - in the same league as Four Seasons, Shangri la, MO sadly not.
It would not take a great deal of management time and effort to lift this to a real 5 star hotel. Manager needs to stay at say the Shangri la Sydney (love the toaster for room service breakfast so you are guaranteed fresh toast when you want it)) and then stay at his own hotel for a few days to understand the changes needed.
The staff and guests deserve better.

Room Tip: Harbour View, top floor
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PDW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We looked forward to staying here but were bitterly disappointed. Yes, the decor is pleasing and I must say that the staff were great but surely the most fundamental purpose of any hotel is providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our "king" bed turned out to be two singles (of slightly different heights) that were "united" by only the thinnest of mattress overlays. The room (Deluxe Spa Harbour View 106) was directly over the reception/bar area and the noise from patrons disturbed us late into the night ... followed by an early morning disturbance associated with rubbish removal. Value for money it certainly is not ...also be prepared for a credit card surcharge ... hard to justify!

Room Tip: Don't pay for the Harbour View!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggerr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our plan was to stay in Hobart one night and move on to the coast the next day. The hotel set the stage for a love fest with the town of Hobart and it's offerings. The hotel was super, super, cool. The lobby was decorated in beautiful and interesting modern art. At our arrival they were installing a new piece. The public areas were very interesting. High ceilings, high tech modern furniture mixed with comfort and craftsman pieces. Our rooms were beautiful. A bit loft like with a huge tv/dvd and stunning bathroom. I had a platform bed with my own reading light and place to put my knick knaks. The room was spacious. There was a stocked bar available in the evening and the coffee and breakfast was very good in the morning. The staff was also very attentive.
Within the building is a really great Aboriginal gallery with some great gifts, a coffee shop, and an outdoor clothing shop. All very good and tasteful. Don't leave hobart without staying. I think you will be in for a real treat

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the HJ for a work conference and everything was just perfect.

The staff from reception, bar staff and wait staff made the stay even better. They went out of their way to ensure we were looked after.

Our room was stunning with a great view of the dock and an extravagant bathroom.
I highly recommend this hotel, yes it is pricey, but the awards it has won are thoroughly deserved

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank SthOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews