We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun hotel in Hobart”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Henry jones for 3 nights in April and were very happy with this hotel. It's in a converted factory on the harbor which has maintained some of the industrial features which make the rooms unique. Although our room faced the harbor/waterfront, the soundproofing was extremely effective. Although I booked a standard room, I was upgraded to a deluxe spa with a harbor view. Perfect! Given that my husband and I had just completed a 4-day hike! The art and architecture made the hotel interesting and fun but the great front desk staff made our sty even more special. They always managed to get us a table at the knots popular restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was 112 and it was great: spacious, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekker2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    327
    86
    37
    10
See reviews for
104
784
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed over Easter - my first time staying at what is perhaps Hobart's most renowned hotel.
Our room was good - clean bed, generous bathroom, good shower. So all the basics covered, and our view was towards Mt Wellington, with the marina right in front of us.
So really, there was nothing to complain about. But equally, nothing to get excited about. The hotel seems to miss soul. Now, how do you define "soul" in relation to a hotel? And how do you go about creating it?
I'm not exactly sure, but I do know when it is there. And Henry Jones doesn't have it….yet.
There are spaces on the ground level which could be much better utilised to create a warmer guest experience. and Henry's - the restaurant and major hotel weak spot - could be improved oh so easily to take the hotel into the league to which it aspires.
But for now, it's an ok hotel in a superb location. And in a truly great city. Hobert rocks.

Room Tip: Ours faced the marina, and we loved that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFLonergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A great location, in a recycled jam factory/warehouse. Much of the original structure is visible.
Art throughout rooms and corridors - interesting but many not well lit in dark corridors. My room was large, overlooking the waterfront. Modern bathroom, water tended to splash out of shower cubicle because of (unnecessarily) small glass wall. Clothing hanging space eventually found in the bedhead!
Only ate there for breakfast which was good, with attentive staff. Bar service often slow. Reception staff excellent.
Atrium area is easily accessible but beware - the cafes etc are not a part of the hotel.
OK If art is your thing, but don't forget to go to MONA.

Room Tip: I understand that the rooms differ in layout, depending on location. Waterfront can be noisy althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent a great weekend at the Henry Jones. The hotel has been beautifully renovated keeping the former warehouse touch which is fantastic! Great Art is found throughout the hotel and the service of the front desk has been super friendly and efficient. Bar closes a bit early and the restaurant is not very inviting but the rooms are fantastic and the hotel is in a great spot down at the water!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Henry Jones art hotel came well recommended , maybe my hopes were too high.
The concept is excellent , all the art is for sale. It is high class and mostly by Tasmanian artists which is great. I'm not sure what was lacking, the service was friendly, but I never felt really welcome. The bar seemed to be mainly for locals, who didn't really like strangers
And the "awarded " restaurant left much to be desired. Hotels can be such special places, I think it just lacked soul.

Room Tip: It's nice to overlook the harbou.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeywoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHenryJones, General Manager at The Henry Jones Art Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Journeywoman57,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I greatly appreciate the feedback and we will use this in our Team Meetings for reflection, training and to hopefully create a change in moving forward. We do pride ourselves on being much more than just a hotel and it is more the story of Sir Henry Jones, our IXL and Tasmanian heritage and contemporary Tasmanian art, which we hope creates a welcome for our guests and soul for our place.

Thank you once again for your review and please don’t hesitate to contact me directly to further discuss the hotel and our venues.

Rod Black
General Manager
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a great Getaway Weekend Hobart is. Such a lovely historical City. We stayed at the Henry Jones Art Hotel - great location on the wharf so close to everything. Our hotel room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the wharf and had some historical significance which we found really interesting. The food at Henry's Restaurant was soooo delicious. All the staff were very friendly and the front desk were extremely helpful with suggestions on local restaurants, things to do and see and how to get there which was great as we wanted to make the most of our 3 days there. And we did. We would definitely love to return.
Very Impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely one stay here. We got a free upgrade to a harbour view sia suit.

The location is prefect for walking to most places.

Staff very friendly.

No many food choices for breakfast if you are vegan and want something hot. you are much better off going to Momo bubble tea house in the city for a bite to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFijiLomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHenryJones, General Manager at The Henry Jones Art Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear EmilyFijiLomani,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I really appreciate your comment regarding the choices for vegan dietary requirements for breakfast service, as this is something specific we can discuss and improve immediately. We absolutely wish to provide variety and flexibility with all of our menus and our Executive Chef has already approached me with some possible options moving forward.

Once again, thank you for your review and feedback and if there is anything myself or the team can do to assist you further , please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Yours Sincerely,

Rod Black
General Manager
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Property: The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing