We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, great location, awesome service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent one night at the hotel for a short city at stay. The location was great and the apartment very nice for a couple. The service on the desk was superb. They found out it was our 20th wedding anniversary and when we came back to our room there was a lovely note with a bottle of champagne. Such a great personal touch.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Salamanca Wharf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We recently returned from Hobart and stayed at the Salamanca Wharf Hotel for 2 nights/3 days. Firstly, the service received from all staff members (Front of House, Manager and Cleaners) was excellent. They are friendly, happy to answer questions and book shuttle buses/taxes etc.

Reception is not staffed 24hrs a day like other hotels, but there is an emergency number you can contact if you are requiring assistance outside 'reception hours'. We had to call this number once during our stay and we received prompt service.

We couldn't drop off our bags immediately as reception was closed when we arrived but we were able to grab breakfast nearby and return to the hotel once opened. We dropped off our bags and continued with our day. We got a phone call when our room was ready as it was available earlier than the 2pm check in time. When we got to the hotel, our bags were already in the room. Lovely!

The 'premium apartment' was clean and aesthetically pleasing. The hotel is only 12 months old so equipment was in excellent condition. The duvet covers were fantastic, beds were comfortable and kitchen had what we needed for our stay. There was a TV in the living room and one in the bedroom too. We had a walk in shower and spacious bathroom. MOR basic essential products are in the bathroom for use (travel sized soap, shower-gel, body lotion, shampoo etc) but there was no shower cap which is unusual. We had a balcony but it wasn't furnished.

There is no computer in the 'lobby' to 'check in' on your flight or to print off boarding passes - but if you have a smart phone or other electronic devices, wi-fi is complimentary and you can email reception who will print boarding passes for you.

We didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel but felt like we were renting a serviced apartment - we actually liked this 'home away from home' feeling.

Location is excellent - very short stroll to Battery Point, Salamanca Square and Elizabeth St. Pier. We got a taxi to the Cascade Brewery (Sth Hobart) - takes 15 minutes and costs $12.00-$13.00

We would return to Hobart and stay at the Salamanca Wharf Hotel again - it is rather pricey (we paid $560.00 for 2 nights) but the service was personal, it was a quiet hotel and the location and comfort of the place made our stay really enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a room on level 3, in a corner. Refer to photos attached.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MREL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in a 'premium apartment'. The room looked chic and the bathroom was roomy and gorgeous, and the location is perfect for seeing the Salamanca Market and walking around Hobart.

However, for AUD $300 a night I was surprised by how 'no frills' the accommodation was. No view, no balcony. Basic tea and coffee were provided but nothing else which I thought was pretty stingy. Despite the name it's a serviced apartment rather than a hotel so apart from in-room stuff, there are no facilities (e.g. no room service etc). Probably more suited for a longer stay or business travellers. The room was well equipped with cooking facilities, minibar etc that we didn't use.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicious_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

To start with the good things
: super comfortable bed
: great location
Now for our disappointments
: this is not a hotel it is serviced apartments!
:it was overpriced for the accommodation in a "penthouse" I do not expect to crouch over to get to bed. I am an average height female ? I also expect to have reasonable space to store my clothes.
:for this price (nearing $400 per night) we would expect a lot more eg docking station, some biscuits for our coffee, or even breakfast provisions

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Griffin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently and was most impressed. Lovely room, great bed, small kitchen. All smart and modern (beautiful hardwood floors!). Location good, near a supermarket if you want to pick up groceries. Be warned, though: none of the 'usual' services you might expect from a hotel, and very few staff (although they're very friendly). Great if you're independently-minded, can look after yourself, just want a little privacy and a nice room to sleep in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhitleyLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed for four days in this very modern apartment hotel. The location is very convenient, being opposite the waterfront but no apartment has water views. Loved the bathroom, the bed was super comfortable, the washer dryer with washing powder provided was excellent, the kitchen area was very well designed and there are two TVs. The bedroom is not actually separate. I did not like the awful coathangers, nor did I like the long life milk. The colour scheme of red and brown in the curtains and sofa - not really appealing. Luckily we had an apartment with a pleasant view to the nearby park but some apartments would only see a wall. I would have liked one comfortable chair and perhaps an area rug as well as the leather sofa. The car stacking system is amazing and our medium SUV fitted very cosily into its allotted space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid the view of the wall.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magic37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked online to stay a night in this apartment. No problem with that, and all ok with the 1 bed apartment, but the parking arrangements were a problem. It is advertises free onsite parking, which is true, unless...... you have a medium size SUV that won't fit under the roofline. On a Friday afternoon we had to park on the street in limited stay areas and then move the vehicle regularly until after hours when restrictions were lifted. Nothing in the venue information about this and it spoiled our initial enjoyment while we faffed around moving the car for a couple of hours. Be aware!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 48 in Hobart
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Wharf Hotel

Address: 17A Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £121 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamanca Wharf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salamanca Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Wharf Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing