We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with no reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A hotel with no reception”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Even the serviced apts I have stayed at have someone on the desk all the time. But here nobody at all after 6pm (4 pm the day we arrived). They might have forewarned us about the road closure for a festival. You're on your own with instructions about keys etc. What if there was an emergency, or the key didn't work, or you just want some help? Scary. Cars are stacked - more extreme complication getting them in and out. No mirror in the bedroom. Tiniest wardrobe ever seen: room only for couple of men's jackets but too short for a dress or trousers. Washing machine but could not find the dryer. That said, it is smartly furnished, wooden floors, free wifi, quality furnishings, lots of space, albeit not well planned for storage, and excellent location, unless road closure day! But I wouldn't stay again as a first time Hobart visitor, because no reception.

Room Tip: Studio is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyReadingOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerri C, Manager at Salamanca Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
As a boutique self contained apartment hotel, we offer facilities for visitors to stay and self cater. Our reception is staffed during the day, and we have a well established after hours check in process. Afterhours contact numbers are provided in each room for any guest issue. As we are located in Salamanca, parking spaces are at a premium, but we are able to cater for all medium sized cars in our secure car stacker. Over the Taste of Tasmania week one of the road accesses to our centrally located hotel is closed - please accept our apologies for not notifying you of this prior to arrival. In case you do change your mind and decide to stay with us again in the future, our washing machines also have a drying cycle.
Kind Regards,
Anthea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    119
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
27
245
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 25th and 26th December.
We were booked in to a "Premium Apartment" but got "upgraded" to one of the "loft penthouse apartment suites" I still can't tell if this was an upgrade as the apartments had a separate living area to the bedroom, whereas the "penthouse suite" is basically a studio room on the top floor.
It is quite nice but still a studio. It consisted of a king size bed and a leather lounge in the room, along with a small kitchenette. Nice furniture and decor. Good big smart tv. Nice kitchen appliances. Smeg microwave/convection oven, capsule coffee maker, milk frother etc. Lots of coffee capsules, replenished daily.
We did have sea views from our balcony. In fact, I think our room (19) would have the best views of the entire hotel. Room 21 behind us would have a sea view too but not as good.(I'm speculating here as I didn't see inside the room).
Overall it is a nice place to stay. It should be classed as "serviced apartments" not a hotel as such. So bear that in mind if you book here. Location is great. Quiet street but only 2 minutes walk to Salamanca Place, and a few minutes more to the docks area.
Free internet. Wifi was a bit slow but there was ethernet as well which was faster.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 19 would have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful new hotel located close to shops and harbour. The rooms were large, clean and beautifully decorated. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They organised drinks and canapés to be delivered for my husbands birthday. Would definitely recommend!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the hotel for a short city at stay. The location was great and the apartment very nice for a couple. The service on the desk was superb. They found out it was our 20th wedding anniversary and when we came back to our room there was a lovely note with a bottle of champagne. Such a great personal touch.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We recently returned from Hobart and stayed at the Salamanca Wharf Hotel for 2 nights/3 days. Firstly, the service received from all staff members (Front of House, Manager and Cleaners) was excellent. They are friendly, happy to answer questions and book shuttle buses/taxes etc.

Reception is not staffed 24hrs a day like other hotels, but there is an emergency number you can contact if you are requiring assistance outside 'reception hours'. We had to call this number once during our stay and we received prompt service.

We couldn't drop off our bags immediately as reception was closed when we arrived but we were able to grab breakfast nearby and return to the hotel once opened. We dropped off our bags and continued with our day. We got a phone call when our room was ready as it was available earlier than the 2pm check in time. When we got to the hotel, our bags were already in the room. Lovely!

The 'premium apartment' was clean and aesthetically pleasing. The hotel is only 12 months old so equipment was in excellent condition. The duvet covers were fantastic, beds were comfortable and kitchen had what we needed for our stay. There was a TV in the living room and one in the bedroom too. We had a walk in shower and spacious bathroom. MOR basic essential products are in the bathroom for use (travel sized soap, shower-gel, body lotion, shampoo etc) but there was no shower cap which is unusual. We had a balcony but it wasn't furnished.

There is no computer in the 'lobby' to 'check in' on your flight or to print off boarding passes - but if you have a smart phone or other electronic devices, wi-fi is complimentary and you can email reception who will print boarding passes for you.

We didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel but felt like we were renting a serviced apartment - we actually liked this 'home away from home' feeling.

Location is excellent - very short stroll to Battery Point, Salamanca Square and Elizabeth St. Pier. We got a taxi to the Cascade Brewery (Sth Hobart) - takes 15 minutes and costs $12.00-$13.00

We would return to Hobart and stay at the Salamanca Wharf Hotel again - it is rather pricey (we paid $560.00 for 2 nights) but the service was personal, it was a quiet hotel and the location and comfort of the place made our stay really enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a room on level 3, in a corner. Refer to photos attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MREL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night in a 'premium apartment'. The room looked chic and the bathroom was roomy and gorgeous, and the location is perfect for seeing the Salamanca Market and walking around Hobart.

However, for AUD $300 a night I was surprised by how 'no frills' the accommodation was. No view, no balcony. Basic tea and coffee were provided but nothing else which I thought was pretty stingy. Despite the name it's a serviced apartment rather than a hotel so apart from in-room stuff, there are no facilities (e.g. no room service etc). Probably more suited for a longer stay or business travellers. The room was well equipped with cooking facilities, minibar etc that we didn't use.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delicious_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

To start with the good things
: super comfortable bed
: great location
Now for our disappointments
: this is not a hotel it is serviced apartments!
:it was overpriced for the accommodation in a "penthouse" I do not expect to crouch over to get to bed. I am an average height female ? I also expect to have reasonable space to store my clothes.
:for this price (nearing $400 per night) we would expect a lot more eg docking station, some biscuits for our coffee, or even breakfast provisions

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Griffin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Wharf Hotel

Property: Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Address: 17A Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamanca Wharf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamanca Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Wharf Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing