We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great room, opening windows, great bed. Not 24 hour reception but easy after hours access. Highly recommend to all travellers. Room also had laundry facilities.
Good cafe in building for breakfast.
Close to salamanca.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    121
    40
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
264
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

…and did I mention that it is really well oriented for exploring: Salamanca Place and the Saturday markets, the Hobart Harbourside as well as the many restaurants in the area. Also, it’s a short walk to the MONA ferry service dock.

The hotel is reasonably new and exquisitely designed providing what is, essentially a full apartment with quality fittings for cooking and, should you choose, doing your washing. It is exceptionally quiet with very little extraneous noise penetrating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

While not ideally located in Hobart, this hotel offers superior rooms that are clean and offer all the conveniences one would hope for a short or extended stay. I booked a studio, which would have been a great place for more than a night (my length of stay) because of all the amenities in the room. The staff was helpful, but not overly friendly. The location is out of the way, but an easy walk to a variety of restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: Book a room on an upper floor, away from the footpath. Otherwise, passersby enjoy a full view into y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMEMBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn Loring
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

New, very well equipped room. Suites have washer/dryer we were told. Modern furnishings. New HD TV. Great location on the Salamanca Wharf. Plenty of very good eating establishments. Need to do laundry? Very handy machine laundry combined with great breakfast establishment. Very popular. Had to wait for a table. Back to the hotel - we had just come from a five-star in Perth, so this hotel was a little short. No lobby facilities only a front desk which closes during the weekend at 5PM. But is does have its own car stack. We were here over the weekend so we were able to park on the street., But Salamanca isn't striving to be a five-star, just a very nice, very helpful, very new hotel. We were nothing but happy with the Salamanca. And our front desk manager while we were here, Oscar, was nothing but over the top helpful. He answered so many questions, made reservations for us, and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very sleek and modern apartment hotel. Spacious and well appointed with lots of space and high end kitchen. Location perfect for Salamanca exploring and very close to trips and cruises. Staff very friendly and helpful. Be aware that reception closes around 6pm so if arriving late need to make special arrangements. Only negative was lack of space for hanging. Really excellent restaurant [Blue Eye] just up the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a small modern boutique hotel in close proximity to the Salamanca precinct, which is perfect for exploring Battery Point and going to the Salamanca Markets on Saturday. However be aware that there is no guarantee of a view.

We stayed on the first floor in Room 6, a well appointed modern one (1) bedroom apartment with separate sleeping and living areas, cooking facilities, washing machine & a great spa bath. However we were at the back of the hotel and the only view we had from our living room window was a sandstone retaining wall that was extremely close to the window.

No opportunity for a view from any other location either with a public access stairway adjoining the bedroom window.

Having said that, there were far more positives than negatives with this hotel, just make sure you ask for what you want.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedfernExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in this apartment hotel, we appreciated the close proximity to the restaurants in Salamanca Place and the historic area of Battery Point. The kitchen was very well appointed and even had a dishwasher. The only fault we found was the very tiny hanging space for clothes, but this may have been better in some of the larger rooms.

Room Tip: The front rooms have balconies, the back rooms don't/
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heldal464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Wharf Hotel

Property: Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Address: 17A Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamanca Wharf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Salamanca Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Wharf Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing