We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and funky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Oz
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Compact and funky”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this little hotel on Salamanca Wharf. It was beautifully appointed, complete with laundry, kitchen and deep spa bath. Easy walk to the water, the markets, restaurants and of course Salamanca markets. The beds were lovely and the staff had put the heater on for us.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have views, so any room would be OK. We were on the first floor which meant we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PearlyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    121
    40
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
264
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langwarrin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staff were fantastic, room was really nice and clean.
Location of place was fantastic.

But was advertised as quiet, but alas u could hear people in room above walking around on roof/floor above. Could hear doors from other rooms (entry) being shut/opened by other patrons, and in most rooms could hear the opening and closing of the lift and voices in foyer of floor.

Staff kept saying rooms were quiet but could hear cars driving past even with patio door closed!

If u like to sleep without noise stay elsewhere. And I paid for 1 bedroom not a studio!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea P, General Manager at Salamanca Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Robyn, we are both surprised and sorry to hear that you had a noise disturbed stay with us. The one bedroom premium apartment which you stayed in, has the bedroom away from the street front, and has four levels above it before roof level. As a brand new building, we can't claim to house any historic ghosts, and we have double-glazed windows, fully insulated rooms and a noise-less lift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment which was newly renovated with comfy beds and fantastic block out. The staff were lovely, especially Megan who provided tourist options, babysitting facilities and restaurant recommendations throughout our stay. Thanks for making our first trip to Tassie an enjoyable one!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Hobart for a long weekend & chose the SWH because of the location. The location was perfect for what we wanted . The restaurants & bars of Salamanca Place are just a couple of minutes walk away. This also meant that the Saturday market was also very close.
On our second day we caught the boat to Mona & the departure point was only about 5 minutes away.
The room is clean & modern. The bed was very comfortable. We didn't watch a lot of TV but it was good to have access to FOXTEL channels including Fox Footy. Our room on the first floor faced the street & we didn't notice any street noise.
The package we had booked included breakfast however when we arrived we were told that the cafe onsite had changed it's hours & would not be open over the long weekend. We were offered a reduced room rate or credit towards the mini bar. A bit of a no brainer & we are glad that we got to choose where we would have breakfast each morning.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosebery, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Although I only stayed overnight, I found the premium apartment I booked to be warm, comfortable, well designed and furnished to a high standard including microwave oven, dishwasher and a washer/dryer. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was little street noise due to the double-glazing ensuring an excellent nights sleep. This is something I rarely have in a hotel. The free wi-fi was also a bonus.

From my arrival until I left, I found all the staff to be courteous, friendly and helpful.

The hotel location is great, not only for tourists but business travellers, with only a two-minute walk to Salamanca Square with its restaurants, bars, cruise and tour opportunities, and an easy 10-minute walk to the CBD. While the sights and restaurants of Battery Point are also only a few minutes stroll away.

I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The introductory blurb to the hotel booklet sheet said:

"It’s often the so-called “small details” that have the biggest impact on the quality of your stay."

Indeed. I arrived on a Friday afternoon for a two night stay in a premium apartment, I had a shower and used the heater in the bathroom, then the light wouldn’t turn on. I called for assistance and was told that there was a safety feature in the heat lamp, and I would need to wait 15-20 minutes, before I could turn the light in the bathroom on again. Given that the bathroom was the only place where there was a mirror, I had to dry my hair and do my make-up in the almost dark.

There was no mobile phone reception in the bedroom, which meant that I missed an important work call and the text messages from my partner who was due to join me were not received in a timely manner. The aspect of staying here which most annoyed me was that we were not able to leave our luggage at the hotel after 4pm on Sunday afternoon as the hotel was not attended after that time. Our flight was at 8.30pm that night. This meant cutting short our trip to MONA to arrive back in time to get out bags, and also then lugging our luggage around over 3 hours until our 8.30pm flight. To me, this just doesn’t cut it for an hotel that I’ve paid $300 a night for. The staff weren’t at all apologetic about the inconvenience either.

On the plus side, this is a good location near Salamanca Wharf, the king beds are super comfy, it’s modern, nice MOR body products in the bathroom. However, there’s not much to be said by way of view, even though I requested one. We stayed on the first floor and overlooked the road at the front of the hotel. By comparison, I stayed at the Hotel Grand Chancellor for two nights before at a cheaper rate, while the room décor was a little dated, the harbour room views were amazing. I wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights recently on my own. The accommodation is very modern and it was spotless. Very spacious in the room with a massive bathroom - all the mod cons!!! Location is just a 2 min walk to all the bars and restaurants on Salamanca place. This is good for weekends as it would be too loud to stay right on salamanca place on the weekends with bars and the markets setting up on Saturday morning. That all being said, the place just lacked soul and character. Felt like I stayed at serviced apartments instead of a hotel...; just an unmemorable experience! Perhaps if I was staying with friends I wouldn't have noticed so much but just not a personal experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank RenaeG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamanca Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamanca Wharf Hotel

Property: Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Address: 17A Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#14 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamanca Wharf Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Salamanca Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Wharf Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing