We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and funky!”
Review of The Winston

The Winston
Ranked #81 of 603 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly and funky!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Been here a few times recently, and have eaten there twice. Their menu is very Tex-Mex (I hope they agree) with burgers, wings and some other interesting specials. Everything we've ordered (including hot dogs and nachos) have been very fresh and very tasty. Good choices on the drinks list covering local and international and everything in-between. Seating arrangements are a mixed bag, but only a minor thing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Burgers A1 - good value and great beers”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Winston is my favourite Alehouse in Hobart. Why? The burgers are just fantastic, American style, yummo! All meals are under 20 bucks! The other great thing is that they have so many Beers on tap from around the world, there's always a few American ales. Love the IPAs. Some real beauties are available. The staff are excellent - very welcoming and will offer you advice on beers - they make sure you're happy. Have a game of 8-ball while you wait for your meals. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craighgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Have been quite a few times to The Winston. Love the wings but sometimes they seem a little raw. Sometimes I get great service from the staff but other times it's sheer rudeness. It depends on who you get and how busy it is. I have also noticed the prices creeping up. Very reasonable the first few times then a dollar extra here and there. Will continue to go as the food is quite good and nowhere else offers the same style but I hope they lift their game in consistency. Also, It's not nice to be sneered at by the staff for making a joke or not ordering the 'right' drink. I was also told that a drink i ordered was crap and that I would 'love' the drink they told me to have instead. Well, I didn't 'Love' it. it was ok.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite local!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Love love love this place. Benny, one of the bartenders always makes us feel so welcome!!!! Staff are great! Food is to die for! Atmosphere is perfect; whoever you are, whatever age you might be you don't feel out of place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuentes_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This place is fantastic. You can get some great craft beers, both local stuff and beers you can't find anywhere else in Tasmania. We had Sierra Nevada! It was a little bit of home for us Americans. And we loved the food too! Buffalo wings! Plus the owners, Caroline and Kris, were so nice. Make sure you talk with them if you have a chance, they're so friendly and looking out for everyone. This is one of my favorite bars I've been.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwbakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Winston also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to The Winston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing