We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise above the hustle and bustle.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
The deck at night - Huon Pine bath too Huon pine craftsman's table for 10
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
The deck at night - Huon Pine bath too
Huon pine craftsman's table for 10
Custom made king size bed, ensuite bathroom
Hobart at night from Avalon City Retreat
Superbly appointed kitchen
Anyone for a little moon gazing?
Custom made outdoor setting and our luxurious Huon Pine bath under the stars
The perfect spot for an Al Fresco meal
Ensuites complete with Waterford crystal glasses
Walk in shower rooms in ensuites
An amazing place to celebrate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue D
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise above the hustle and bustle.”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in May 2014

if you want to spoil yourself for a few days then this is the place to do it ! From the moment you step through the front door til the moment you leave (sadly), luxury prevails ! The views are spectacular, and it's hard to leave the incredibly comfortable beds. The fridge was stocked with a welcome basket of goodies- fresh fruits, yoghurt , bacon, eggs, chocolates , cheeses etcetera etcetera. The outdoor bath is the perfect place to enjoy a bottle of bubbles watching the sun go. Perfection!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely words about Avalon City Retreat. We are so pleased that you were able to take the time out to truly luxuriate in everything the City Retreat has to offer. And it's SO great to hear that you loved having a bath under the stars -it really is such a unique and indulgent experience! Thank you again and very best wishes to you,
-P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Dear Karli, thank you so much for your your lovely review of Avalon Coastal Retreat. We are so pleased that your whole family of five were able to take time and truly relax in the surroundings. It's such a pleasure hearing about how the Coastal Retreat has a way of lulling usually busy and frenetic families into a peaceful and content state of calm! We are so pleased your whole family truly loved every part of the experience. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peaches-n...
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing & AMAZING”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014

You really couldn't ask for a better spot to stay while in Hobart. The "Pod" was an amazing (I will stop using that word) place to stay - beautifully fitted out with great views and a quick walk to anywhere you wanted to go really.

We would definitely stay there again should we visit Hobart in the future - highly recommended from start to finish and thank you to the lovely staff!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, location and accomodation are great!
Liked least: leaving :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2015
thank you for this amazing review! We think the Pod is a very special experience and are pleased you found that too. I hope you enjoyed some of the lovely shopping and secrets as well as the wonderful food of Tasmania.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Avalon City Retreat, or one of the other wonderful spots - Avalon Coastal Retreat and Rocky Hills Retreat near Swansea on the East Coast. Very best wishes, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall Brilliant
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Hello Nicholas, thank you for your kind words about your experience with us at Avalon City Retreat! It was such a pleasure hosting you, I'm so pleased that the Retreat met your expectations in every way. Looking forward to seeing you next time; hopefully for an even longer, more indulgent holiday! Warm wishes -Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you Amy - your celebration was just the right size to enjoy the beauty of this precious and sparkling property. We appreciate your kind words and enthusiasm and very much look forward to having you return to stay with us another time at the Omnipod, or Avalon Coastal Retreat or Rocky Hills Retreat at Swansea.

Warm regards, Peta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most amazing view.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted your stay with your family was a good time for you all and we loved having you there. We love being part of special gatherings and celebrations!

We look forward to your next stay - perhaps you'll try one of our other properties another time, though it's hard not to return to the magic of Avalon City Retreat,

Warm wishes from the Avalon Retreats team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JackieHaj...
2 reviews
“5 star luxury in the heart of hobart!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome, help with our luggage and given a mini tour of our stunning pod in the sky. It really does feel like your sitting on top of hobart, with gorgeous views right round the entire penthouse. The place is filled with alot of charm and we felt so cosy throughout our entire stay, we did not want to leave the pod. Delightful features included a fridge packed with complimentary breakfast, dessert and sparkling wine. A breakfast basket was left on the kitchen bench filled with jams, cereals, freshly baked bread, a wide range of tea and a selection of flavoured nespresso coffe pods. A fruit basket and a delicious chocolate pudding with strawberries and fresh tasmanian whipped cream were also left to us, all complimentary! The beds were incredibly comfortable, so good in fact, that they've added it to the mini bar menu for purchase. We also had a pillow menu to choose from which is fab, as my husband and I are super fussy about our pillows. The bathrooms have all the ammenities you need, hairdryer plus a ghd for the ladies (talk about spoilt), heated floors, and an oversized shower. Balconies surround each side of the penthouse, giving you both views of the city and the mountains. I could go on and on about so much more...I really couldn't fault anything! We had a beautiful stay and can't wait to try out all of the avalon retreats when we return to Tassie! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Somehow I managed not to write to say a huge 'thank you' for your lovely review - and I apologise for that oversight. We would love to welcome you back to Tasmania at any of our three lovely retreats - they have elements in common, but each so different that we hope you will be enticed back before long.

Warm best wishes and thanks, Peta Avalon Retreats Booking Office
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing