We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury pad overlooking Hobart and the Derwent...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
The deck at night - Huon Pine bath too Huon pine craftsman's table for 10
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
The deck at night - Huon Pine bath too
Huon pine craftsman's table for 10
Custom made king size bed, ensuite bathroom
Hobart at night from Avalon City Retreat
Superbly appointed kitchen
Anyone for a little moon gazing?
Custom made outdoor setting and our luxurious Huon Pine bath under the stars
The perfect spot for an Al Fresco meal
Ensuites complete with Waterford crystal glasses
Walk in shower rooms in ensuites
An amazing place to celebrate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BobCotgro...
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Luxury pad overlooking Hobart and the Derwent estuary”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our daughter and son combined to give my wife and I an accommodation voucher for the Avalon City Retreat in Hobart. We decided that we should use the voucher to celebrate Gloria's 75th birthday on 30 March.
We invited a few of our friends to share the experience with us and could not have been more pleased with both the company and the superb environment of the "pod" on the rooftop of one of Hobart's high rise office blocks.
The welcome from Amanda was highly efficient and informative and helped make the occasion very special. The breathtaking views, the minimalist yet attractive artworks and furnishings and the luxuriously appointed bedrooms added to the enjoyment of the event. It helped also that Hobart produced a stunningly beautiful autumn afternoon, night and morning to complement the gorgeous apartment and environs.
We could not have hoped for a better facility to make the whole day more memorable, and we thank the management of Avalon City retreat for providing such a wonderful venue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views and interesting artworks
Liked least: Nothing on this occasion, although had we been on our own I would have liked to have had a CD player available.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Dear Bob, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely words about your experience at Avalon City Retreat. It was an absolute pleasure to work with you in the planning of Gloria's 75th birthday event and I'm so pleased that the City Retreat turned on the amazing autumn light to mark the occasion! It's always very special for me when I hear about the treasured family memories our guests create and share at Avalon City Retreat, so thank you and I wish you and Gloria all the very best. Warmest wishes, -Amanda, Avalon City Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarydHoba...
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional place to stay in Hobart.”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We booked the Avalon City Retreat penthouse as a special treat for our daughter's 40th birthday celebration. Right from the first booking, the service and communication was excellent.
The penthouse is wonderfully designed, with 2 luxury king bedrooms (each with well appointed bathroom). The views from every window are unique - looking out over Hobart waterfront, city and Mount Wellington. The living area is spacious and beautifully appointed with everything needed to host a party or dinner celebration. Management left some lovely surprise treats and went over and above in quality of breakfast provisions etc.
The BBQ/deck area is spacious, and has plenty of room for guests, and the balcony overlooking St. David's Park provides beautiful views of the Derwent River, Battery Point and beyond.
The decor is really great, with some fascinating artefacts which perfectly complement the modern furnishings. The beds are something akin to sleeping on a cloud, and the choice of pillows is amazing.
There is secure parking for two cars.
I could go on and on, but suggest that readers find out for themselves - they will not be disappointed.

Thank you SO much for the perfect venue, which resulted in a memory we and our daughter, family and friends will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - Chocolate pudding!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Dear Margaret, thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful words about your experience with us at Avalon City Retreat. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you, your family and of course the wonderful birthday girl! One of the best things about my role with Avalon Retreats is being able 'reveal' Avalon City Retreat as a surprise on special occasions! What a treat is was seeing your daughters face when she reached the top of the stairs! I'm so pleased that your family enjoyed the experience and that you have made such fond memories at Avalon City Retreat and I do hope to welcome you all back again one day. Warm wishes -Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, so wonderfully comfortable”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything promised on the website - and more. Every detail has been carefully thought through. We loved the well-equipped kitchen, the super-comfortable bed, the lovely huon pine table, the artwork; and the views are to die for. There are plenty of quirky features (the bath, the moon chair!) that really make it a fun place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Hi Lyn, thank you so much for your lovely review of Avalon City Retreat. I'm so pleased you had a truly wonderful stay and that you loved all the quirky details! It was a pleasure meeting you both and I hope to see you again one day soon! Best wishes -Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronSm...
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience from beginning to reluctant end!”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Unrivaled service from Peter in the booking office(via phone) and Amanda the welcoming host. The location, fixtures, fittings, generous complimentary extras - everything was exceptionally well thought out and appreciated by the lucky four of us. Without giving too much away... the cloud like bed with jersey sheets and the fabulous surprise for after dinner were personal highlights. Thank-you Brett for your vision to construct the Pod and for sharing it with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Cameron, Thank you for your kind words about your stay at Avalon City Retreat this week! It was such an absolute pleasure to meet you both and I'm so wrapped to hear that all the little details were perfect for your stay! I will pass on your lovely words of appreciation to Brett and do hope to see you again one day. Very best wishes to you both,
-Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feuta2
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying on Top of the Town - Hobart”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing experience to stay in the Omni Pod which has to be the coolest place in Hobart to stay. From the minute we walked in we knew we were staying in the perfect space for us. The views over the harbour and up to Mt Wellington were spectacular!! However it was the comfort and thought of the hosts that made the place such a memorable experience. from the basket of fresh goodies to the super comfy beds the retreat was a great get away from the hustle and bustle of Melbourne!! Of course there was the ultra special and unique outdoor bath, what a hoot! Can't wait to come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Dear Feuta2, Thanks so much for your kind words about Avalon City Retreat, it was such a pleasure to introduce you to the space. The City Retreat certainly does seem to have a knack for encouraging our guests to unwind and move at a slower pace during their Hobart holidays! We love making sure every detail is perfect and are so pleased you enjoyed the complimentary provisions, outdoor bath and famous Avalon City Retreat beds! I very much look forward to welcoming you both again next time you visit us in sunny Hobart! Best wishes
-Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“A perspective of Hobart I've never seen before”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I loved my stay at Avalon City Retreat. The penthouse apartment is beautiful and it was an amazing feeling to be right in the middle of the city yet secluded from the hustle and bustle. Every detail had been taken care of for us - there was nothing we needed that wasn't there. The views are amazing - almost 360 degree. And the bed really was the most comfortable bed I have slept in - ever! I would highly recommend Avalon to anyone looking for somewhere a bit different to stay while they explore Hobart. I've lived in Hobart all my life but this was seeing Hobart a way I never have before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views (and the bed!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely words about your stay at Avalon City Retreat! It's so great to hear that The City Retreat was able to offer you a new perspective of Hobart even though you're a born and bred Hobartian! We're so pleased that you love our custom made beds too, we put in a lot of thought and 'bed testing' hours to come up with the final result and it's music to our ears to hear that they really are the best beds you've ever slept in! It's lovely too when people notice our attention to detail because it's as important to us as it is to you, thank you. We hope you come to visit us and our 'Avalon' beds again very soon! Best wishes -P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieBr...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous but just missed the mark”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in November 2014

I have mixed reviews about this penthouse. I will start with the negatives and end with the positives.

It was situated on top of an old work building so we had to walk through offices/up stairs to get to the room. The old building was carpeted like an old pub and smelt musty which took away from the atmosphere. Once you got upstairs it was nice but I was not wowed. I expected more based on the photos on the website. It was no where near as nice in person. When we went to sleep, being in the bedrooms felt like we were in a portable. The couch was old and stained! I couldn't believe it .. in such a nice place to have such a yucky looking couch! The outside bath - we couldn't use it because it seemed like it was visible to others in buildings overlooking ours... we were too embarrassed to use it.

The view was stunning and the penthouse was spotless. The food provided was amazing and the lady who showed us the penthouse was very helpful and nice. We got lost and she waited around patiently for us. The bed was incredible and they have really thought of everything in this place. They did not forget anything.

Overall, I was a little disappointed, I expected it to be as gorgeous as the photos ... especially with the amount of money I paid for one night.

I would recommend this place to others if it wasn't so expensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: food provided
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review of Avalon City Retreat from your stay in November 2014. Responding immediately to guest feedback is super important to us and it would have been so helpful for us to get this feedback during your stay or some time during the ten months following so that we could address it quickly for you. The only reason we exist is to make guests happy - it's our number one priority and we're sorry there were some points which you felt could have used improvement. In regards to the carpet at the foyer to our lift, it is new and was laid at the same time and the carpet at the entrance to the City Retreat. It's a shame you didn't get to experience the bath because we designed it so that you can go through the sliding door from the lounge near the bath, put your robe and towel on the hook and have a lovely bath under the stars without anyone seeing you. (However of course if you were to walk out through the left hand door straight to the deck you probably would end up advertising more than you had intended to!) We're sorry you didn't like our beautiful white leather couch- it is cleaned for every new guest and we want it to be softened and wear in with time like a comfortable leather glove. Thank you for your kind words about how spotless the City Retreat is and how lovely and attentive our host is. We're also happy to hear that you really enjoyed the spectacular views of Hobart and the gourmet provisions while you stayed. We're sorry that you felt we had missed the mark slightly but we'd like to thank you for your helpful feedback, it is important to us. We wish you all the very best.
-P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;