We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing apartment in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
The deck at night - Huon Pine bath too Huon pine craftsman's table for 10
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Sitting atop an 8 storey building
The deck at night - Huon Pine bath too
Huon pine craftsman's table for 10
Custom made king size bed, ensuite bathroom
Hobart at night from Avalon City Retreat
Superbly appointed kitchen
Anyone for a little moon gazing?
Custom made outdoor setting and our luxurious Huon Pine bath under the stars
The perfect spot for an Al Fresco meal
Ensuites complete with Waterford crystal glasses
Walk in shower rooms in ensuites
An amazing place to celebrate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This apartment is perched on top of building in the city. There are two outstanding bedrooms each with their own private on-suite.

It has the most incredible views.

The apartment has all the modern conveniences and a fully stocked kitchen. The host Amanda organised an early check in.

Highly recommended and great value for money particularly for two couples.

I can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginge57
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic for that all important event!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked here for our wedding and it was fantastic! The place is beautiful with lovely views, fully equipped for an event and the concierge, Amanda, is very friendly and helpful in both pre-viewing appointments and on-the-ground help. The bedrooms are well-designed and comfortable. Our guests were blown away by the space, light and convenience of the apartment and it made for a great venue. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a private but stylish location for that all important occasion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for your review and we hope that you may come back again to share an anniversary with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klipdrift...
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hobart Haven”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Our three night stay here was simply wonderful.....from the view, to THE best beds in the world, fab fitout , yummy breakfast provisions, while watching the Derwent as we awaited our yacht to finish the Sydney to Hobart.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed our very special retreat with magnificent views of the Derwent. Please do come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget S
2 reviews
“Beautiful and relaxing venue - great place to spend with special friends”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The booking process, arrival and departure were easy and hassle free. A very relaxing retreat with beautiful views. An awesome venue for a small party. Just don't expect your friends to leave early!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with very special friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the amazing Avalon City Retreat. It is a fabulous place to share with friends and I bet your friends love you for sharing! Maybe they will return the favour to you? Please come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freya L
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Thank you Avalon Retreat. My small party of people and I were totally wowed by the whole experience. This is not just a place for visitors to Hobart but also a wonderful experience for those of us that live in Hobart and just want a luxury treat. The views are totally spectacular and the room was supplied with so many delicious treats that you really don't need to leave. Can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2016
Thank you Freya! we are so pleased that we could share our very special Hobart luxe penthouse with you. It will be an absolute delight to have you and your friends come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect getaway in the sky”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Avalon City Retreat is a fabulous place to stay in the hobart sky! It allows you to experience a beautiful perspective of the hobart waterfront overlooking st davids path and the river derwent beyond. The pod is equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay. It hosts a fab sound system, deliciously comfortable bed and a practical kitchen for you to cook together. I would give this place my highest recommendations! Loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique location and also loved that it was a small space with big views
Liked least: no negatives
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review of our "pod in the sky". We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back to discover more our town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyssiant
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The definition of PENTHOUSE smack in the middle of Hobart City”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a hidden gem to stumble across along my travels to Hobart.

I really don't have much to say about the apartment in design other than if you go on the Avalon website and see all the professional photographs, the real thing is not far off! Refer to my photos as evidence but the place is just SUBLIME. It's spacious, premium in finishes and very very generous in it's offerings, from the huge dining table & oversized kitchen, to the outdoor jacuzzi & barbeque, to the art & sculptures, the hand-made vanities, to the huge hamper of food, most complimentary with a few luxury purchasable options for some added customisation. Oh.. did I mention the view & location? You are literally in the thick of hobart, right in the centre of the markets, waterside, and city centre. And that view.. check out my photos as they speak for themselves!

These guys have really thought hard about how to obtain that perfect balance so you can feel looked after every step of the way whilst still not being intruded so you can enjoy your personal space. For example, they have a special caterer (an actual restaurant) whom you can order meals from as room service and they will walk dinner over to your door.

Service is professional and personalised with a care which you would liken to someone welcoming you to their home. Whether it's Ellie in making your reservation, Amanda in helping you plan it all, or Courtney walking you through the room, there is always someone nearby genuinely wanting you to feel at home and comfortable in their space, which I might add they are EXTREMELY proud of :) (I would be too).

To the team at Avalon: thank you so much for taking my trip to that next level.. Upon reading your guestbook in the apartment, I know i'm not alone either and you are truly creating positive experiences for hungry travellers one visit at a time. Looking forward to seeing you again next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I couldn't discriminate against any one thing because it was all perfect.
Liked least: That I couldn't personally thank the lovely staff for their care as I had to leave early in the morning.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Dear Lyssiant,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such beautiful words about your experience at Avalon City Retreat. Attention to detail is what we're all about and it's so really rewarding to hear that these details contributed to making your luxury accommodation experience (and indeed your trip to Hobart) so exceptional! I will pass all your lovely words on to my team at the City Retreat and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in Hobart. Warm wishes
-Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing