We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ambience, well-priced food and good service”
Review of Kathmandu Cuisine

Kathmandu Cuisine
Ranked #54 of 600 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Kathmandu is relatively new to Hobart, offering a delicious range of Nepalese food, taking inspiration from our neighbours India, Tibet and China. Picture a quiet evening out with your loved one, tucked away in an intimate dining space, soft warm lighting and street views of heritage Battery Point. Or a lively get together with a bunch of friends out the back room. This place caters for all, providing excellent and attentive service. The menu is extensive, offering a range of dishes tailored for meat and vegetables. Selection of curries, covering, fish, chicken, lamb and goat. To accompany serves of garlic roti and rice, one infused with almonds, peas and currants. The flavours in these meals are delicately complex, where saffron, cumin and cardamon marry black pepper cinnamon and ginger. Beautifully presented, and prepared you will be hankering for more.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambience, well-priced food and good service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I dined here last week, for a birthday. We had two young children with us, which was no problem at all. We were given a complimentary starter (like bread), and ordered entrees and mains to share. Service was quick and friendly, and the food was good - particularly the scallop curry. The dessert was also very tasty - sort of like a frozen mango lassi. The restaurant was warm and tastefully decorated, and very pleasant to sit and dine in. We had an Entertainment Card, and the discounted price for all of our meal plus drinks was very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Solubisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    62
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Goat Curry - "Yum"”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A warm welcome was given to our group of five. We chose to have the banquet. Beautiful flavours in the beef and seafood curries, but the goat curry was spectacular! Terrific service and very good value for money. If you haven't been here, we recommend that you give it a go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennandMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Food with Good Service - for Australia”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was a happy find near our hotel and we were warmly welcomed. Nepalese cuisine was not new to us but this was far better than anything previously experienced. It is, essentially, another curry culture but we enjoyed the vegetarian banquet and were very satisfied with the quality., flavour, appearance and value of the food. The service was prompt and friendly, which was not always the case on our Australian five week vacation, recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good service and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Reasonably cheap and cheerful with excellent service. We were a party of four and had mixed reactions to our menu choices. The rotis, rice and other accompaniments were very good. The full curry plate which came as a package was pronounced excellent. The real disappointment was the "speciality of the house", the momo dumplings (veg, lamb or chicken). They had been prepared too far in advance and were dried out and quite unappetising.
Would return but choose with more care.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kateshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were out walking & just stumbled on this restaurant. We loved everything about it. Too bad it's so far away from us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathmandu Cuisine also viewed

 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Kathmandu Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing