We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Exceptional”
other travellers have booked this property
Otago Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Otago Cottage
Otago Bungalow Otago Bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
23 reviews
Otago Cottage
Otago Bungalow
Otago Bungalow
Otago Cottage
Otago Cottage
Otago Bungalow
Otago Cottage kitchen
Otago Cottage view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chris A
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Great setting - great house - great hosts. When you arrive there is fresh fruit in a bowl - eggs, bacon, juice, yoghurt in the fridge - fresh bread and assorted condiments in the cupboard. The house is well maintained, the beds are exceptionally comfortable and the gardens are a delight. The owners pay a lot of attention to detail to make sure of a relaxing stay. The only problem I had was that I was only there for a couple of days - didn't want to leave.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahkc
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb cottage not far from city and airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed there for four nights. Two bedrooms and twin beds upstairs, and a bath room with a jacuzzi and shower downstairs. The kitchen is fully equipped. The dining room and living room are also on the ground floor and are connected to a smaller self-contained unit via a door. We had the whole house by ourselves. A very cozy place, clean and tidy, with flowers around the cottage and a beautiful meadow leading up to the river bank. You can look over the river and the mountains on the other side. Owners live in a house next door and are very helpful. We wish we could stay there longer and would definitely recommend it to anyone unless you don't like birds singing to wake you up.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downing3
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great escape that's not too far from Hobart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much - wish we had booked our remaining 3 nights there.

The cottage is tucked away in a quiet spot, with a great frontage and views over the river. Upon arrival we found a homemade quiche in the fridge, ready to cook at our leisure (along with fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, cereal, juice, milk, tea/coffee, etc). Delicious! And made the place feel very homely.

The fancy bath was nice (I'm over 6ft tall and could actually fit in it!). The separated bedroom was nice too given that I'm normally awake long before my partner. Good selection of DVDs too.

Fantastic value. I have no hesitation in strongly recommending this accommodation.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doreenhyk
Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb cottage accomodation in Otago Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We recently had a wonderful 4 night stay at Otago Cottages. The cottage we stayed in was superb and truly the best cottage I have ever stayed in! All the rooms were beautifully decorated and I really admired the lovely touches to make the cottage homely. The kitchen was very well equipped so we enjoyed eating dinner at the cottage on 3 of the 4 nights we stayed there. The scenery was truly outstanding and it was such a pleasure to return to the cosy cottage after a day of sight seeing. I was also very glad to be able to admire the scenic view of the Derwent river from the dining room during breakfast .Thank you Karen for a most wonderful stay at Otago Cottages and for the very delicious cheesy bacon and egg slice which we all enjoyed very much! My husband and I sincerely hope we will be able to stay here again when we visit Tasmania again with our children in the future!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The beauty and serenity of the place
Liked least: Can't think of anything I did not like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing