We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Hobart!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Medina, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Hobart!!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We travel internationally each year and must rave about our stay at the Zero Davey Hotel in Hobart. It is on the water and the rooms and staff are THE BEST! Tom Drake and his staff will do anything to make your stay comfortable and afford you all the amenities. Their cafe has sumptuous breakfasts and the best muffins ever! It is rare when a hotel will provide the little extras and not charge you!! Enjoy your stay there and do visit MONA!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    226
    69
    24
    7
See reviews for
73
242
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarraville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were told we had a courtyard room. Turns out there were no windows let alone a courtyard. The room had a strange little balcony that was totally closed in with mirrors. no pleasant place to sit. Great location on the waterfront though. Pleasant helpful staff too. GG

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity for us to address your concerns.

We are sorry to hear your room was not what you had expected.

With regards to our deluxe davey courtyard studios, these apartments are located on the ground level of the building; this is with exception of 2x courtyard studios on the second level. All of these apartments are equipped with sliding glass doors to allow natural light to enter the rooms, which open out to a small enclosed courtyard. The second level courtyards have mirrors around the walls; whereas half of the ground level courtyards have either a Marilyn Monroe tiled feature, or they open out to a free space.

It is disappointing to hear that your room was missing the small table and chairs, as all of our courtyard studios should have these seating facilities.

Our team at Zero Davey do try to represent the differences between our ‘deluxe davey studios’, and our ‘deluxe davey courtyard studios’ as best as possible. We try to establish this through our website, and when guests are enquiring about our room types over the phone or via email.

We pass on our sincere apologies if you feel you have been mislead in anyway. This was certainly not our intention and it will be something we will have to look into improving these differences to our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback as it is important to us to hear our guests concerns.

Kind regards

Zaeidha Caley
Zero Davey Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a Deluxe Davey Studio, 2nd floor on the street side (across from the Hotel Grand Chancellor). Room was great, we had all we needed, including a kitchenette and a washer/dryer combo. One of the main roads into Hobart ran right outside our window, but due to the extremely well-insulating windows (I'm assuming, here) we could not hear a thing from outside, great! We truly noticed the difference when I opened the balcony door on the last morning!
We had to make a separate booking to park our car in the parking garage, but that was OK. Staff were friendly and helpful.
I am a bit surprised about the previous reviews of this property, as our experiences are just great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We booked this online - and bought 2 nights in a "boutique" studio. From the pictures it looked lovely and certainly The location is excellent. But when we arrived we were given the keys to a "first floor" apartment. Well no. It was ground floor out the back and below the footpath. Sliding doors opened onto a "courtyard" that was in reality a back alley facing a concrete wall just 1.2 meters away. When I complained the staff basically said suck it up. This boutique studio had no lounge or table, just a cramped eating bench next to the bathroom. There was one armchair. No bath. Our neighbors smoked (a non smoking hotel) and since reception was unattended after 6 or 7 no one to complain to. For over $550 for two nights this was really poor. Our room was not serviced because we only stayed 2 nights.


  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyWendywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This was our first place to stay in Hobart. The staff was courteous. The room had a little kitchenette with all amenities. We were able to have breakfast in the room. Just perfect for three women traveling together. The location was excellent, off the freeway, walking distance to downtown. It's right by industrial area, which made it a little noisy with trucks going back and forth on the side street. Otherwise, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, maybe other floors had view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Brilliant location, very professional reception staff and a gorgeous, clean, comfortable, nicely appointed and spacious room with iPod player (I'm always thrilled by this modern touch). Stayed 3 nights, and can not fault the place (which believe me is saying something, as I can be quite fussy and vocal with that). My flight was late landing, so the office was closed by the time I arrived at the airport, late on a Monday night, but there was the most pleasant and clear message on my phone explaining exactly how to access my room pass, so it was smooth as can be. A tip - If you're needing dinner at 10pm the only place still serving dinner at Constitution Dock - if you ask nicely - is T42 on the Pier. And their pinot noir from Baghdad is to die for - delicious. Loved my stay at Zero Davey - Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I did not choose the most basic one. Always opt up if you can. I think there cheaper ones are might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissDebonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We went down to Hobart for a 3 day "company paid" relaxing holiday. Zero Davey was in a great location with or without hired car. Since its right next to Constitution Dock and Salamander Square, great seafood restaurants and tourist places were on your finger tips. We hired a car and drove around town - including Richmond & Port Arthur.

Back to the hotel - the following were the negative points:
- The apartments did not have a restaurant but good news, they are building a cafe/restaurant right up the front of the building next to the main road. If you got rooms 5 to 7 or 8, this means it was right in front of your room... request rooms on level 2.
- A small incident (or mix up on our first morning) and the cleaning person missed our room despite hanging the "Please make room" outside. Maybe they had limited time and once it was missed, the would have gone for the day.
- The bed was relatively soft. But then again, we loved our beds semi-hard to supportive. This may be a lot of people's cup of tea.

Alright, here are the positive points:
- GREAT LOCATION!!!
- Great service, both the receptionists we met were friendly and tried to accommodate everything we asked. They nearly even gave us a room upstairs after asking for something with a view (we were lazy to move :)).
- Quiet rooms, we didn't hear our neighbours at all!
- Clean and spacious rooms with a great TV for watching in bed.
- GREAT LOCATION!!! - oh sorry, we mentioned this already. :)

A tip for those who wants to hire a car. After you book the hotel online, call them up a day or two before arriving and advise them that you need a carpark. It costs an extra $10 a night. This never came up on HotelClub.com. So dont think its free. On weekdays, the street beside where the carpark entrance is, has free street parking after 5pm. Its free every weekend on that same street. (Salamanca Square is expensive to park on the street!)

Anyway, we had a good time overall and cooked our breakfasts there every morning. Enjoy your stay!!!

Room Tip: Ground level with rooms 1 to 7 or 8 are on street level and people can see in. Rooms 5 to 7 or 8 wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAsiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel

Property: Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Address: 15 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero Davey is located on Sullivans Cove, on Hobart's picturesque waterfront.Perfectly designed for both business and pleasure, the 31 apartments are exquisitely furnished in cutting edge contemporary designer furniture, and equipped with every travellers needs.Relax and unwind by the waters edge, enjoy the cafe lifestyle and relish in Tasmania's gourmet experience at the many restaurants located right on your doorstep.Zero Davey is ideal for business or pleasure. Located harbourside, where the world famous Sydney to Hobart yacht race concludes, five minutes walk from the CBD, Government offices, Local theatres, Botanical Gardens, Salamanca Place, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and numerous local galleries and Craft Shops.Zero Davey offers a range of apartments, providing living and dining areas, washer/dryer, kitchenette facilities, including Ceramic Cooktop, microwave oven, exhaust fan/light, cable TV, Plasma Screens, mini bar, IPod Docking Stations, air conditioning, individually controlled heating, dedicated internet access ports, some with spa's, water/mountain views and balconies/courtyards. Security access carpark (subject to availability during peak periods, so please inform us in your notes when making a reservation.)Please Note : We do not service our Apartments on Sunday's or Public Holiday'sCar Parking is available but spaces are limited, please make note in your comments if carparking is required. Carparking is charged at $10.00 per day.Zero Davey also offers Two Deluxe Davey Studios which are very quite rooms away from the roads, and have there own small courtyard, which need to be requested. ****ZERO DAVEY HAS A NO PARTY POLICY**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zero Davey Hotel Hobart
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing