We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Hobart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Hannover
113
Reviewed 6 February 2006

We stayed at the Zero Davey for two nights. I have to say: I was not happy at all. Actually, I was almost tempted to press the "terrible" button.
What I was most unhappy with was that our room faced a big and very much travelled road - it was as loud as being in a cheap motel room and just my good old, trusty earplugs helped me getting at least some night sleep. Don´t let the stunning harbourview rooms fool you - just an estimated 4-6 rooms face the waterfront (which will defintely have a great view), the rest of them (besides the Penthouse) are all facing this big road. The lady at the front desk was not very helpful or friendly. Our shampoo etc. wasn´t filled up and the internet didn´t work at all despite 2 days of hardest trying... Oh, and another huuuge dissapointment was the sauna - the size of a airplane toilet! Now you will think: "At least there was a sauna!" But imagine yourself, just wrapped in a towel or so, trodding through a subterranean garage, entering the sauna and starring through its glas door out at the parking places ... Not very wellness-ish, in my opinion.
The decoration was contemporary but a bit coldish - I knew this before we came so I can´t really complain. And my partner liked it. Our plasma screen would have been nice, but unfortunately, at most of the channels (and especially the movie channels) you had this feeling like watching a sudden snowstorm coming over Hobart...
To be fair, the location is very convenient and central. The cooking facilities could save you some dollars and were well stocked. Parking is included in the price (but beware that there are not even nearly enough parking spaces for all guests - first come, first serve! You can park in front of the hotel at the waterfront, but after 8am you need to pay; on Sundays it´s free for the whole day.)
So overall, I would say: good location, contemporary design, but wayyyyyyy to go for a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2006

When we first arrived at the hotel, there was a bit of confusion finding our room, but in the end we found a helpful staff member who took us up to it and apologized. We had a 2 bedroom room with a view of the harbour. Great kitchen - heaps of room. It was all decorated very modern (the doona covers were ugly). The beds were very comfortable, flat screen tv's were good and it was nice sitting out on the balcony. Our only complaint - each bedroom has an ensuite and one of them has a spa, one doesnt. But the bathroom with a spa doesnt have a door closing it off from the main bedroom, so it meant that only the couple (us) staying in that bedroom was able to use the spa. Overall its in a great location for the docks and walking through the city, parking was handy, staff - some helpful some not, and the room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teamsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
seattle, WA
218
Reviewed 2 November 2005

The Zero Davey's large modern building contains both "serviced apartments" (hotel rooms with a small kitchen that are cleaned daily) and real apartments were people live. While the building is right on the marina/wharf in Hobart, most of the hotel rooms do not have views. Desk staff was friendly, and there is secure parking. The hotel does not have staff to help with luggage, room service or a concierge. Basically, one person is on duty in the lobby, so the service is pretty minimal in that regard. We found the black/white/charcoal design scheme in the room kind of oppressive and unimaginative (contemparory doesn't have to be so color deprived). The hotel sits right on the street and there is no outdoor space or garden to hang out in on a nice day. After we got there, we asked ourselves, "why did we choose to stay in a cold, contemporary, charm-free hotel when so many obviously warm, charming and interesting B&B's and small hotels exist in this city which is famous for its history and many old buildings? This was a question we could not answer very satisfactorily, and we regretted our decision as we walked past several charming old buildings with lovely gardens and views which were B&Bs in the historic Battery Point neighborhood.
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, and the kitchen well stocked with utensils and dishes. The live video feed on the flat screen tv of the waterfront view which you won't have from your room (unless you pay more) was kind of a funny post-modern touch.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank gilestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ngsy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eine 4-spurige Autostrasse führt am Hotel vorbei. Die Zimmer zum Hafen dürften ruhiger sein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReisenEssenWein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez une vue sur le port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annylevanque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel

Address: 15 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Hobart
Price Range: £101 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero Davey is located on Sullivans Cove, on Hobart's picturesque waterfront.Perfectly designed for both business and pleasure, the 31 apartments are exquisitely furnished in cutting edge contemporary designer furniture, and equipped with every travellers needs.Relax and unwind by the waters edge, enjoy the cafe lifestyle and relish in Tasmania's gourmet experience at the many restaurants located right on your doorstep.Zero Davey is ideal for business or pleasure. Located harbourside, where the world famous Sydney to Hobart yacht race concludes, five minutes walk from the CBD, Government offices, Local theatres, Botanical Gardens, Salamanca Place, Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery and numerous local galleries and Craft Shops.Zero Davey offers a range of apartments, providing living and dining areas, washer/dryer, kitchenette facilities, including Ceramic Cooktop, microwave oven, exhaust fan/light, cable TV, Plasma Screens, mini bar, IPod Docking Stations, air conditioning, individually controlled heating, dedicated internet access ports, some with spa's, water/mountain views and balconies/courtyards. Security access carpark (subject to availability during peak periods, so please inform us in your notes when making a reservation.)Please Note : We do not service our Apartments on Sunday's or Public Holiday'sCar Parking is available but spaces are limited, please make note in your comments if carparking is required. Carparking is charged at $10.00 per day.Zero Davey also offers Two Deluxe Davey Studios which are very quite rooms away from the roads, and have there own small courtyard, which need to be requested. ****ZERO DAVEY HAS A NO PARTY POLICY**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zero Davey Hotel Hobart
Zero Davey Boutique Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing