We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired but....great view and comfortable...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wrest Point Water Edge
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A bit tired but....great view and comfortable...”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for a night on business and ended up in the Waters Edge wing. Plenty of other reviewers have commented on the fact that this accommodation is showing its's age. Well that's true enough and the walk from reception is a bit convoluted and long....and very '80's in decor. The room I found myself in was fine...a bit old school with a CRT TV..but comfortable enough. The bathroom is fine and the shower is actually brilliant. The view is sensational..right out over a sandy cove and I woke in the morning to ducks quacking on the beach...really nice. Staff were friendly. I arrived late and had a quick meal in the bistro...staff were great and the food was quick and more than adequate...just what I needed...it's not a venue for a romatic getaway tho'. Value was v. good at about $125/night....so overall....this is not the place to stay if you are looking for big hotel bling and sophistication..but it's fine if you're interested in a good value, short but comfortable stay. You will need a car to explore outside the complex tho'.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA_JA_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    64
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
74
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This property has been in operation for many years and it is starting to show its age. The staff are friendly and helpful but the decor and the anbience is like stepping back in time. Views from the Tower rooms are great but the old shower over the bath and the outdated furnishings didn't help and ageing building.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

On the plus side, the room itself has been painted within the past few months, the bathroom has been re-furbished, the furniture is relatively new and the view of the water was very nice. On the negative side, the corridors are dark, the carpeting in them is tired and the lift nearest the rooms was untidy, small, slow and hasn't been upgraded in many years.
By contrast the corridors and lifts nearer the main casino facility gave a better impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Well initially I thought I would be in the Tower, but I believe my own booking mistake put me in the Water Edge. That aside the room was very old school, very clean, bed was reasonably comfy and the high pressure water in the shower was relaxing, however it was like stepping back into a time warp with the decor, could def use a refresh!

Staff were great very knowledgable and friendly, casino was fun and only got to eat at the buffet once but I wouldnt say it is worth $27. I would walk up the road and try some nice restaurants especially in North Hobart.

Def get yourself a car too!

Overall very comfy and no serious complaints but not my type of place. Was here for a wedding and it was good for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: I think learn from my mistake and book in the Tower, might be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kegpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Central spot with amazing views of Sandy bay. Right on the beach front to the open bay. The room was clean, staff are very helpful and the entire hotel has the Art Deco era of the 1940's which I felt like I had stepped back in time. The venue has all the necessities you might night found right inside.

Room Tip: Ask the reception staff for a bathroom with an exhaust fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutiel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Look,The Waterfront part of the Wrest Point Casino Hotel is outdated even though the receptionist assured us all the rooms have been refurbished, this needn't be a problem if other details are looked after like they are at The Waterfront Wynyard. However there is nothing much at this motel to redeem it, stay elsewhere, that's our tip. The receptionist didn't even ask us if we enjoyed our stay, she probably knew how we would reply!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose the Waterfront or mountain side if you have difficulty walking. The tower is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie012StHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have stayed at Wrest Point Hotel for 3 nights over the festive season ( New Year's Eve ) and the only accommodation available was Water Edge rooms. To go straight to the point - Water Edge rooms are hugely overpriced as they do not meet the criteria of a good 4 star hotel. We have paid on average $349 per night inc. buffet breakfast which is an absolute rip off even for the high season. Our room was on level 1 and the first thing we saw as we walked into the room was dirty windows ( bird droppings ) and a "worn out" old furniture and orange painted walls. On the positive side, water view from the room was gorgeous, even that we were on the lowest floor. We got room with 1 queen and 1 single bed, even that we requested a king room when a booking was made. Bed mattress not of a good quality and could be a problem if you suffer from back pain or discomfort. Bathroom was tiny, not big enough for 2 people being in there at the same time. Bathroom accessories were limited, only a shampoo, conditioner and soap. Bathroom floor wasn't cleaned for the 3 days we've been there, as there was rubbish on the same spot left for all 3 nights. However, carpet in the room looked reasonably clean, bed linen were nice and "fresh" too. TV was very old as well. It's worth to mention that Water Edge rooms are located away from the tower in completely separate section on the hotel so there are more motel than hotel rooms. It is a long walk from the reception, especially if you have to carry lots of luggage. It's also quite confusing, all the left and the right turns so you'll need a bit of time to get used to the route. Would not recommend this rooms at such high price, they are not worth more than half of the nightly rate we've payed. So be aware of that before you make the decision.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the Tower instead, if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 48 in Hobart
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#21 of 48 in Hobart
274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.2 mi away
Motel 429
Motel 429
#20 of 48 in Hobart
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Del Mar
Maison Del Mar
#23 of 54 in Hobart
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point Water Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point Water Edge

Property: Wrest Point Water Edge
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd | Bldg A, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Water Edge Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing