We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated spacious room with great mountain view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wrest Point Water Edge
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Renovated spacious room with great mountain view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

From the doorman to reception staff to the charming waitress in the Pier One restaurant, I could not fault the service. The room was great value for money and the bathroom fresh and clean. We are staying again on NYE and this time have booked a room overlooking the harbour. Will definitely return to the restaurant overlooking the water and boats.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samkerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
72
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I (no, I'm not the queen) stayed here over last weekend in September and we could not have been happier. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, our room, although one of the original casino rooms, had been recently painted and was clean and cheerful. The bed was new and comfy with crisp clean white sheets. The view over the bay, watching the ducks waddle about was a highlight. We could not fault anything during our stay. We will go again and recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Although the staff were friendly and helpful unfortunately the rooms are in desparate need of an upgrade. The bed sagged in the middle which was dissapointing but the room and bathroom was clean which is the most important for me. Staff from breakfast, housekeeping and Reservations were all pleasant and helpful.
There were 4 rooms travelling in our party and all rooms were the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I thought it was about time I updated my 2012 review of Waters Edge as it appears to be the most viewed of all my contributions. We stayed here earlier this year (2013) and I feel it's worth another review.
Although the room was basically clean and comfortable and fairly good value for where it is and the great views, the whole Waters Edge wing seems to be waiting for a desperately needed update. For instance and as another reviewer has noticed, the old CRT TV is quite bizarre in this level of accommodation (I even saw a nice flat screen in the fish shop up the road).
I don't quite understand what Federal Hotels is doing to the Casino - it just seems to be turning into a worn, tired facility, exploiting its position on the waterfront and its full gambling license. But hey! Guess what! the rest of Australia now has casinos too!! (and some pretty flashy ones at that).
I'm sorry to say I would probably look elsewhere if you can - most of the accommodation closer to town is newer or has been updated more recently. The free parking is an upside though...
Maybe things will change after Federal Hotels sale of their other resorts - this place quickly needs a large renovation and 'reinvention'. This style of Casino doesn't cut it these days (it was pretty snazzy in the early 1980s) - the tourists are more worldly and expect more.

Room Tip: All the Water's Edge rooms have lovely views across the Derwent river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onehitwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The concierge was rude, left us to find our own rooms no directions nothing. When the room was found it was not as expected. The bed linen was old and rough the carpet was filthy, looked below average.
The only thing we enjoyed us the view which we could have done cheaper somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangaroochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Hobart
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Room was very average, carpet dirty and not clean. Television was out of the Ark an old CRT screen not what you would expect from an international Hotel..
The location is excellent. Staff where friendly .










.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Was here only 1 night, but after all the negative reviews I read thought I would try it anyway. The Waters Edge section that I was in was clean and comfortable. The bed helped a good nights sleep too. I have to agree, it is in great need of tender care though. It was leaking badly in a few areas of the building. The reception entrance needs high lighting as it can make for a very long round about walk which isn't too encouraging if you have a saw back or legs and its pouring with rain and blowing a cold wind.

Room Tip: Try the Waters Edge section. They are a fair walk from reception though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#38 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#20 of 46 in Hobart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra One Sandy Bay Road
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#17 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point Water Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point Water Edge

Property: Wrest Point Water Edge
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd | Bldg A, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Water Edge Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing