We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hobart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wrest Point Water Edge
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Aireys Inlet, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I decided to spend way over my budget to have 2 nights of luxury at this hotel. What a disappointment! The smell of cigarette smoke hit us as soon as we walked in. Our disappointment continued as we entered our room, which had dirty, stained coffee cups; long hair in the bathroom; quality of the TV was poor. Such a shock to us as we had come from a fabulous apartment that was $100 per night cheaper. Never again. Definitely not worth the money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Janhegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    64
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
74
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lyndoch, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were only booked for 4 nights but wanted to stay 2 extra nights, the hotel was very booked but they made an effort and got us the extra nights & in the same room.
The hotel has great places to eat & is close to Hobart, only 15-20mins drive.
The rooms were clean and had great views.
The only neg would be the light that came through at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent a week and it was absolutely wonderful, cold weather and all. We had a lovely suite overlooking the water which was very spacious and clean. The chocolate lady needs special mention as she spoilt me every afternoon with extra chocolate if we happened to be in the room and did not require the bed to be turned down, thank you. Every staff member we met was very friendly and helpful and always had a smile and ready to assist with even the most trivial things. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone needing to relax or for business.

Room Tip: The water side has the most attractive view and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for 4N during our first visit to Hobart. We booked the Water Edge room. Initially was quite confused with the location of the room from the Main Lobby, but finally managed to locate it and most convenient to access from the car park.

Room was cosy, nice view of the beachside and we enjoyed the cooling breeze at night.
Location was moderate and parking was easy.

Finding restaurants nearby was easy and relatively near.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexchoong78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I am sorry to comment on this here but the Wifi Internet at Water Edge was pretty slow, maybe its because too many people were using it at the same time. I struggled to upload photos to facebook. Thinking that this is a hotel with casino, I was expecting the breakfast to be extraordinary. However, I only got bacon, eggs, sausages, etc (was expecting for salmon, oysters, or steak since its in Tasmania.

The room itself is quite good (tea, coffee, wine glasses, soap, shampoo provided, and the housekeepers had done a great job. Special thanks to a receptionist for helping me to print some notes when it was an urgency I couldn't find a printer else where. That's just simple hospitable. :D Laundry is also available.

For Casino, they provide free drinks which is awesome!

Location wise, it's pretty convenient provided there is a bus stop at the front (you will have to walk a bit) and you can bus to city or Battery Point.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Teh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Professional courteous reception staff and valets. Rooms very neat and comfy. Views a million. But do yourself a favour and dont include the breakfast buffet in your stay. What looks great and smells great is tasteless or over cooked. Toast and Juice were great but i dont know how much effort it took to make bland tasteless chewy and sour foods but they excel at it here.
Having said that we grabbed a coffee and cake at the Snacks bar the night before and it was excellent. Might need to swap the chefs around.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

From the doorman to reception staff to the charming waitress in the Pier One restaurant, I could not fault the service. The room was great value for money and the bathroom fresh and clean. We are staying again on NYE and this time have booked a room overlooking the harbour. Will definitely return to the restaurant overlooking the water and boats.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samkerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.0 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 48 in Hobart
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clydesdale Manor
Clydesdale Manor
#21 of 48 in Hobart
274 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
0.2 mi away
Motel 429
Motel 429
#20 of 48 in Hobart
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Del Mar
Maison Del Mar
#22 of 54 in Hobart
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point Water Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point Water Edge

Property: Wrest Point Water Edge
Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd | Bldg A, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Hobart
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Water Edge Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing