We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Room was spacious and very clean with nice fittings and furniture. Bathroom was modern and well sized. Our room 602 had a beautiful view of Mt Wellington. Very well priced for RACV Club members. Location is central with shops just across the road and a short walk to Constitution Dock and Salamanca (10 mins).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank macrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel and for the price, it was great. I had an apartment with a microwave and washing machine and a small balcony. The bathroom was new and very tastefully done and the two TVs allowed me to watch TV in bed (a special traveling treat for me) as well as in the lounge area. The staff were very helpful and rearranged things so I could get a late check out. The Gym was well equipped with new exercise machines. The only problem was the noise from the work being done on the bathroom throughout the hotel, but once I got used to it, I was able to work. The free wifi was good too, unlike many hotels I have stayed in recently.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Foodie1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in apartment on 7th floor and included parking at day rate of $15. The location is very central. The appt was lovely with water views and a window that you could open. King size bed and a pillow menu. Bath and rain shower head. The lighting was not good but I think most RAC locations are like that. Very limited cooking utensils. The on site restaurant Charcoals was also lovely with good service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjoe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, once when it was still the Grand Mercure. This hotel offers great value for auto club members, offering discount room price and free parking.
There are 8 floors of accommodation and I have stayed in rooms on the 3rd, 4th, 6th and 7th floors. All rooms have been clean and well appointed. The room on the 3rd floor, which faced east, did not have a view, but had a small balcony and was extremely quiet. On higher floors rooms have a view either to the south or across the CBD and towards Mt Wellington. In my most recent stay the room faced the mountain directly and the view was delightful.
These rooms have opening windows, and are fitted with wooden shutters for those who wish to shut the world out. Even though the hotel is so central, the rooms are quiet, particularly if you keep the windows closed. Internal soundproofing is excellent - there was not a sound even in a room which backed on to the lifts.
Bathrooms are currently being refurbished, but I have always found them very clean and reasonably spacious. The last room stayed in had a large shower cubicle (no bath) with great water pressure. Beds have always been very comfortable. Rooms are spacious and have a good work desk, and comfortable chairs
Check in has always been efficient and fast, and staff are unfailingly pleasant.
Have never eaten in the restaurant, but had a room service meal on one occasion when I was working and the food was very good and of extremely generous proportions.
As some other reviewers have mentioned, the carpark does not have enough spaces for all rooms - it should be remembered that the hotel was not built by the motoring organisations - so in very busy periods this may be a problem - I have seen some extremely 'creative' parking which made extracting a car from its space a challenge.

Room Tip: A view of Mt Wellington is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your post, how wonderful to hear you have had so many great experiences with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, the team really appreciate such positive feedback from our members. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hobart on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This place is perfect, in the sense of ticks all the boxes for great accommodation; reasonable cost, central location, quiet environment, ease of parking, friendly and efficient service, and a high standard of room. It beats the other places we have stayed in Hobart, hands down!! We won't bother with anywhere else again. If this quality is across the board for RACT/RACV then they have set a very high bar for the hotel services in this part of Australia.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed twice on our recent trip to Tassie and like all RACV Resorts we have experienced, this was another home away from home for us. The service was excellent, the quality of the newly refurbished rooms are great, good carpark, great location, good facilities and everything we needed. We loved it and will definitely be back - except longer next time! Thank you!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bindi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, General Manager at RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are delighted that you have found your home away from home with us, it is very rewarding to receive such recognition it means a lot to our team who all work extremely hard to make sure our members and guests are well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon for those extended visits until then take care and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very friendly and professional staff at check in and check out. We had a corner king room with fantastic views of the mountain. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Blissfully comfortable bed. The room had everything we needed and the bathroom was very nice. We had breakfast delivered to our room in the morning, DELICIOUS and so much food! Free parking for members.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank haventbeenfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.5 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#13 of 47 in Hobart
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel

Address: 154 -156 Collins St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: £96 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hobart's cultural city centre, RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel is within easy walking distance of Constitution Dock, the shopping precinct and Hobart's iconic Salamanca Markets. Australia's smallest and most historic capital offers a mix of historic and contemporary art and culture, cafes, and restaurants, providing the ideal base for business or leisure. RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel offers a variety of accommodation options, a number of conference and wedding facilities, Charcoal our restaurant provides - modern Australian cuisine, a gym and undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing