We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was not an expensive place. We chose it as it was central and had a room for3.
Stayed two nights but only saw staff once. Breakfast was self cooked ,hence the price, but poor quality. Not as clean as we would have liked and quite noisy as it is set in a busy corner. Agree with one of the other reviews that this would be better named as a Hostel not a B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank binaduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

I do not disagree with many of the negative reviewers below.

I believe many of the negative reviews come from unfulfilled expecations and that if this place changed it's name from "Bed & Breakfast" to "Edinburgh Gallery Hostel" ~ Families welcome, that the place would appeal to the correct clientele (people like me) and people would be happier with lower expectations.

I have stayed in Tibetan refugee camps with an outhouse toilet in Nepal and North Korean hotels with a hard wooden bed and a thin sheet (no mattresses) with no complaint. I really am not fussed by very much (I can cope with overflowing toilets, broken elevators, hauling 30kg luggage up 4 flights of stairs and leaky bathtubs without batting an eyelid. I like places that have quirks and character, do not like sterile 5 star hotels) so if you are like me, you'll enjoy staying here. If not, then you shouldn't come.

My mum and I stayed in room 9 (twin room on the ground floor). There is a redundant door in the room and it appears to be a reconverted basement with a bunker feel - some may be put off by this but I LOVE feeling surrounded and hidden. There are non-opening windows which are at ground level.

No daily room service (which did not faze us) but asked the staff for rubbish bags and left rubbish outside our door which was collected.

It did take climbing 3 flights of stairs to the shared bathroom services. This is a CON, but mum and I talked and decided we much preferred the basement room as we were not as bothered by the creaky stairs with people walking and felt more cozy. If we had stayed on the higher floors it would be much noisier.

As mentioned by others, 'fresh local produce' is a misnomer on the website and should be removed as false advertising. Woolworths jams and margarines. Bread was ok though (Not the $1 cheap bags of toast, appeared to be Helgas). Dining room had a bottle opener, microwaves and other kitchen appliances so convenient.

The service was excellent. I rung ahead to let Frank know our flight is a late one, we were given instructions to unlock the night safe outside the door and there was a written welcome note with information and keys. Our return flight was also late, past checkout time. Frank was more than happy to store our luggage for free in the office (many lower end motels I have stayed in charge for this service) and even invited us for a cuppa when we came to pick up the luggage.

The hot water machines must be pretty decent here, no problems with the showers even after using them after other people. It was a very close walk to Salamanca, and all my favourite restaurants.

In closing, no this place is not a true B&B and the business should re-brand. But if your expectation is of a comfortable homey hostel with a fair amount of privacy, then you'll enjoy it. Mum and I were very happy with the money we saved, which we spent on eating ourselves silly. I would definitely return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachednarwhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great room and very spacious. Great location close to CBD. Professional and courteous staff. Flexible with booking. Will use them again when in Hobart next.
I chose the executive suite. The room was very spacious. My friends who were staying at another hotel were quite envious of the space that I had compared to the room they had booked.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nufe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. I was upgraded from shared facilities to own. Its old, Its cold but Frank did his best to make my stay comfy. Bed was very comfy, room heated up finally. Very noisy as on a main road but I was moved to a quieter and smaller room that was quieter without a hassle. Noisy as people come and go up and down wooden stairs. I slept poorly in the noisy room but it improved when I was moved. Clean and adequate not 3 star really but good for the price I paid.Breakfast very ordinary but again adequate. I bought fruit and some additives for the muesli to make it healthier. Its not a traditional B&B with a homely feel with owners who treat you like family its more like a hostel. Close to everything and I found a really beautiful French bistro 3 minutes away "Remi de Provence", so made my stay very enjoyable. Has unlimited wifi and digital TV. I love comfort and something quaint this would not be up there with what I really like but it was OK and I just accepted its downside.The website is a tad misleading but its worth a try if you are easy going and can go with the flow.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It was filthy, absolutely no service, noisy, breakfast was a joke (frozen bread), expensive for what you got. I stayed with a friend and we were aghast at such filthy conditions. Now I don't mind outdated furnishings etc but when it comes to cleanliness there is no room for error. This place does represent the beauty of Hobart, with its wonderful food, gorgeous landscpape and friendliness. I have been travelling to Hobart for over 10 years and have stayed in brilliant B&Bs all of which were booked out and never had such a terrible experience and have never been so disgusted by the dirty, dirty conditions.

I could not sleep because the family who owned the establishment were noisy and up all night. Cooking smells permeated the entire building which were unpleasant. The owners were not available when I was checking out in the morning. I had to call his mobile and was told to wait. Breakfast room was not set up for patrons and we had to wait at 30 minutes for him to arrive with bread which was frozen. Needless to say we did not eat there.

I did not want to touch any surfaces, especially the kitchen and the bathroom. Stains everywhere: on capets, on blinds. Dust and cobwebs galore. Yuck, Yuck Yuck. I'm glad I did not bring my young family on this trip.

Establishments like this give the city a bad reputation which is unfair.

I feel rather traumatised by this experience!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The building itself is lovely and has that old Hobart rustic charm creaky floorboards, stairs and all. The shared bathrooms were nice and clean, the bedroom had a comfy bed with an electric blanket which would come in handy for those cold Hobart nights. The TV didn't work (it was an old analogue TV and the area had obviously switched to digital). It is close to town, and just a 5min walk to the airport shuttle bus. The breakfast however, was a little disappointing, it did not start until 8am and as I was catching a shuttle, was told I had to help myself - which I was prepared to do. There was tea/coffee/cereal but no bread for toast, or pastries.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendiobByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I booked two nights based on their advertising on their website, which lists their breakfast as consisting of fresh local produce as we were heading off on a hiking trip and thought this would be a great way to prepare. However, breakfast consisted of cereal & toast (white bread only) and jam, marmalade or vegemite. Not even any local honey. You made everything yourself including the coffee in a single-serve coffee pot. Not exactly what is advertised on their website. Furthermore the staff were not welcoming or helpful. The building itself is nice, & the location good, however, it is very noisy and the rooms not very clean. All-in-all very overpirced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
1,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Astor Private Hotel
Astor Private Hotel
#1 of 28 in Hobart
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: £59 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast your "Home away from home", I'm John your host. Rated 3 1/2 star Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast offers moderately priced accommodation with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and free continental breakfast, right in the heart of Hobart easy walking distance from everything. My bed & Breakfast is in a grand Edwardian/Federation house built in 1908 and is full of retro furnishings. It has 9 spacious majestically proportioned rooms, five with ensuites and four with shared bathroom facilities. Throughout the building there are high ceilings, sweeping staircases and stacks of old world charm. Each room is individually decorated in a distinctive "hip-heritage" style and all rooms have a television, bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Since taking over the business in April 2014 I have provided new doonas and pillows, high standard professionally laundered linen as well as electric blankets all round and loads of spare blankets in the cupboard. Our breakfast room with adjoining cafe` is available throughout the day and night and is well stocked with a good range of cereals and breads (including gluten free), as well as fresh jams, honey and peanut butter from the local farmer's market. The breakfast room provides the opportunity to meet other guests and many a warm conversation has been had here in the relaxed "make yourself at home" atmosphere. Our guest lounge has television with DVD and a wide range of DVDs on hand. Free Wi-Fi is available. Paintings and interesting artifacts are on display throughout the house. There is free car parking behind the house so you can leave your car and explore the city on foot - the CBD and historic tourist precincts - SalamancaPlace and Market, Constitution Dock and Battery Point, the waterfront art and craft galleries and restaurants; the Museum and Art Gallery are all an easy walk. Its two minutes' walk to the Transit Centre and the Airport shuttle stops at the door. Edinburgh Galley B & B caters for couples, singles, families and is gay-friendly. Attractions Rated 3.5 star with 9 rooms, 10 minute walk from CBD, Salamanca Waterfront area, Museum, Art Gallery & Battery Point. Multiple restaurants nearby. Short drive to Mount Wellington, Cascade Brewery, Female Factory, Royal Botanical Gardens, Cadbury Chocolate Factory & MONA (Museum of Old & New Art). Central location makes it ideal to day trip to Port Arthur, Historic Richmond & Bruny Island Location From Airport proceed South towards Hobart along the Tasman Highway. On arrival in the town centre the highway becomes a one way street known as Davey Street. Macquarie St is the parallel one way street going the opposite direction. Proceed along Davey St till you see the Soho pub this is Molle St, turn right, cross over Macquarie which is the next street & take the first driveway to you right to enter the rear parking of the B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Gallery Hotel Hobart
Edinburgh Gallery b&b
Edinburgh Gallery Bed And Breakfast Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing