We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating.. Feels like home..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Hobart B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The owner (John) was very friendly.. We stayed at room 1, close to the street but with a beautiful view of Mt. Wellington in the morning. Breakfast (breads, cereals, coffee, milk, choco drink, and lots of jams). Cookies and baked sweets are always available in the kitchen.. Out flight is late in the afternoon, John offered to keep our bags inside his office. Location is a big plus, 5-10 min walk to the cbd, salamanca and battery point. Highly recommended. We will be back!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lock_code2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

John makes you feel welcome. Cosy 1910 building with lots of character. Close walking distance to town. Warm comfortable beds with all the amenities at hand. Will stay again when visiting Hobart. Preferably in summer. Happy visitor.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remedialmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a lovely stay here with our 3yr old daughter. Very comfy, clean and thoughtfully laid out rooms with plenty of space. Great breakfast area, well equipped and yummy. John is a wonderful host, and made us feel welcome and relaxed, as well as letting us know things that were going on. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjayw37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I am shocked to see the poor rating for this place! It has just recently changed hands and these must be from before new management. My stay here was fantastic. Its a beautiful manour house, well furnished in the style and very clean - a perfect retreat to arrive at after a weeks outdoor camping. John the new owner clearly takes a lot of pride in the place, putting on a splendid breakfast with jams selected fresh from the local farmers market. He was very helpful during my stay, great for a chat and regularly spruced the common dining room with cookies for guests.Great location a walk away from Salamanca markets and downtown shops.Very reasonably priced, as well. I highly recommned!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jules28891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Unless the AUD takes another plunge, accommodation in Australian cities always is expensive. On the whole, the further out from the CBD you hike, the cheaper. An exception to this is the Edinburgh. It is a relatively inexpensive B & B and small at that. But a six block walk takes you to Salamanca Place (the restaurants & Saturday market), with about the same to main shops. There is a bus stop just a couple of metres from the front door. Lots of things don't work at the Edinburgh and other things don't work very well. The free wireless WiFi throughout is slow, but consistently works. The television/radio in one uses indoor antenna for the all digital reception and sometimes a couple of tunes are needed, if you want to catch up on the news. There is a "Hobart Mercury" that turns up every morning. Our bed was very comfortable, but do ask for an extra blanket: we Sydneysiders feel we are in the snowfields if the temperature drops below 20º C: Hobart folk are much hardier. The Edinburgh is an old house and in some rooms, the conversion shows more than in others. Room 4 (our room) was on the main road, but heavy traffic in the week perhaps lasts for half an hour or so, in the morning and afternoon. The quietest room probably is room 6, tucked away in the back. Next to our room was room 4 1/2(!). We never saw inside it, but we could hear sounds and, in the evenings, there was a light: perhaps a ghost or a joke? Whilst there, a couple who had been on the ground floor were moved to another room as there bed was infested with ants.
The breakfast bar has a pot of brewed coffee, instant coffee, Harris tea bags and Milo: you make your own. There are three jars of breakfast cereal and a couple of loaves of bread. In the fridge, there is milk (normal and soy), sometimes a jug of juice, peanut butter, margarine and two kinds of jam.
If you want a better or hot breakfast, you should go elsewhere.
But if you are after a cheap room with a comfortable bed (usually without ants!), close to town, the Edinburgh is your place. There are few rooms, so probably you should book.
If you don't mind shared accommodation, Hobart CBD is well stocked with backpacker hostels.
Oh, I should mention that the breakfast room has a microwave available all day, there are glasses, plates and cutlery and you can use that and the adjoining dining room any time of the day or night. The instant coffee and tea bags as well as the milk are always available so an extreme budget traveller could prepare their own warm up meals: the bridge is large enough for storage and every room has a bar fridge.
Australians will be pleased that there are two (shared) showers, one with a tub and the water is hot.
PS The "Gallery" part consists of some very odd paintings hung about the place. Over our bed was a hospital style Virgin Mary.

Room Tip: Room six probably is the quietest, but the traffic in Hobart never is very heavy. The decoration is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

There are still some nice people around!!! I've booked a room here for mum & I for 3 nigh through Asiatooms.com when we got here only find out there was no room booked for us. Apparently Asia rooms have never send through our booking. This nice guy Frank -receptionist on the day have helped us to find a hotel nearby on the internet and then personally drove us there. What a nice guy, he deserves a 5 star. Thank you Frank!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Luba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The bathroom was so small we undressed and dressed outside it. The floor boards under the toilet were rotten. There was a hole in the wall that was stuffed with toilet paper to stop the wind blowing through. The bathroom was on a lean as was the back "bedroom" floor. Even the bed had to be packed up to be level. There was absolutely nothing in the fridge, not even a glass of water. The "longlife" milk provided for a cuppa curdled as soon as the hot water hit it. This was never replenished in the four days we were there. The rooms were not serviced at all. The light in the bedhead just fell out onto the bed. And we were in the "EXECUTIVE" suite. The breakfast was very basic, and the same tea-towels were used during our entire stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.8 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astor Private Hotel
Astor Private Hotel
#1 of 28 in Hobart
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gattonside Heritage Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Gregory House
Gregory House
#13 of 28 in Hobart
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Macquarie St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hobart
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast your "Home away from home", I'm John your host. Rated 3 1/2 star Edinburgh Gallery Bed & Breakfast offers moderately priced accommodation with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and free continental breakfast, right in the heart of Hobart easy walking distance from everything. My bed & Breakfast is in a grand Edwardian/Federation house built in 1908 and is full of retro furnishings. It has 9 spacious majestically proportioned rooms, five with ensuites and four with shared bathroom facilities. Throughout the building there are high ceilings, sweeping staircases and stacks of old world charm. Each room is individually decorated in a distinctive "hip-heritage" style and all rooms have a television, bar fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Since taking over the business in April 2014 I have provided new doonas and pillows, high standard professionally laundered linen as well as electric blankets all round and loads of spare blankets in the cupboard. Our breakfast room with adjoining cafe` is available throughout the day and night and is well stocked with a good range of cereals and breads (including gluten free), as well as fresh jams, honey and peanut butter from the local farmer's market. The breakfast room provides the opportunity to meet other guests and many a warm conversation has been had here in the relaxed "make yourself at home" atmosphere. Our guest lounge has television with DVD and a wide range of DVDs on hand. Free Wi-Fi is available. Paintings and interesting artifacts are on display throughout the house. There is free car parking behind the house so you can leave your car and explore the city on foot - the CBD and historic tourist precincts - SalamancaPlace and Market, Constitution Dock and Battery Point, the waterfront art and craft galleries and restaurants; the Museum and Art Gallery are all an easy walk. Its two minutes' walk to the Transit Centre and the Airport shuttle stops at the door. Edinburgh Galley B & B caters for couples, singles, families and is gay-friendly. Attractions Rated 3.5 star with 9 rooms, 10 minute walk from CBD, Salamanca Waterfront area, Museum, Art Gallery & Battery Point. Multiple restaurants nearby. Short drive to Mount Wellington, Cascade Brewery, Female Factory, Royal Botanical Gardens, Cadbury Chocolate Factory & MONA (Museum of Old & New Art). Central location makes it ideal to day trip to Port Arthur, Historic Richmond & Bruny Island Location From Airport proceed South towards Hobart along the Tasman Highway. On arrival in the town centre the highway becomes a one way street known as Davey Street. Macquarie St is the parallel one way street going the opposite direction. Proceed along Davey St till you see the Soho pub this is Molle St, turn right, cross over Macquarie which is the next street & take the first driveway to you right to enter the rear parking of the B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Edinburgh Gallery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Gallery Hotel Hobart
Edinburgh Gallery b&b
Edinburgh Gallery Bed And Breakfast Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing